Kootenay National Park

Quick Facts

A Protected Area

  • Kootenay National Park is one of five national parks that represent the Rocky Mountains Natural Region of Canada. Of these five parks, Kootenay and Yoho lie on the western side of the Continental Divide, while Banff, Jasper and Waterton Lakes lie on the eastern side.
  • As one of seven national and provincial parks that comprise the 26,583 sq. km Canadian Rocky Mountain Parks World Heritage Site, Kootenay National Park (1,406 sq. km) is part of a vast protected area of global significance.
  • Kootenay National Park also forms part of the core area of the Central Rockies Ecosystem. This greater regional ecosystem is larger than the areas protected by the national parks alone.
  • For thousands of years the area which is now Kootenay National Park was part of the traditional lands of the Ktunaxa (Kootenay) and Shuswap First Nations people. Archaeological evidence suggests the mountains were used primarily as seasonal hunting grounds. Groups also travelled across the mountains periodically to hunt bison on the plains east of the Rockies. Some sites have spiritual significance.
  • Kootenay National Park was established in 1920 as part of an agreement between the provincial and federal governments to build the Banff-Windermere Highway - the first motor road to cross the Canadian Rockies. A strip of land 8 km wide on each side of the 94 km highway was set aside as a national park. This resulted in the long, narrow shape of the park. The completion of the highway in 1922 expanded the new age of motor tourism in the Canadian Rockies. Today, the highway is known as the Kootenay Parkway.
  • From dry, southwest-facing slopes of the Rocky Mountain Trench in the south to lofty glacier-clad peaks of the Continental Divide in the north, Kootenay National Park represents a diversity of landscapes, elevation, climate and ecology. This diversity is captured in the park's interpretive theme statement: "From Cactus to Glacier" .
  • Kootenay National Park contains unique and representative examples of the natural features characteristic of the Rocky Mountains: sedimentary rocks and thrust-faulted mountains; landscapes sculptured by glaciers and water; and plants and animals typical of alpine, subalpine and montane ecological zones.

The Mountain Landscape

  • The Rocky Mountains were formed by forces originating in the moving plates of the earth's crust. The forces, which came from the west, resulted in the compression of massive layers of sedimentary rock which were folded, broken and thrust skyward in a series of mountain ranges. Subsequent erosion of the mountains by ice and water have sculpted the mountains and created valleys, canyons, lakes and rivers.
  • Kootenay is the only national park that represents the Western Ranges of the Rocky Mountains - the western edge of the Rockies. Characterised by overturned folds of sedimentary rock, serrated ridges and rounded crests, the Western Ranges are geologically complex structures found in the south-western section of the park. The Eastern and Western Main Ranges are represented in the northern sections of the park.
  • Kootenay is also the only national park that represents the Rocky Mountain Trench. The trench, visible from space as a long linear valley stretching from the U.S. border to the BC/Yukon border, is a major break in the earth's crust. In this region the trench separates the Rocky Mountains from the much older Columbia Mountains to the west.
  • The soothing waters of Radium Hot Springs, in a spectacular canyon setting, have long been a natural draw - from the first pool scooped out of the gravel by Aboriginal people to today's extensively developed pools facility. The hot springs, and their associated features of Sinclair Canyon and the Redwall Fault, are significant geological features. The Redwall Fault - visible as towering cliffs of iron-rich rock - is the best example of fault breccia (shattered and reconsolidated rock) in the Rocky Mountain parks.
  • The cold, iron-rich mineral springs of the Paint Pots are a point of unique geological interest and a site of cultural and spiritual significance to First Nations peoples. In earlier centuries, Aboriginal groups would travel here from the plains and foothills in the east, and from the Columbia and Kootenay valleys in the west, to gather the "red earth" for paint. Later, at the beginning of the 20th Century, Europeans mined the ochre commercially.
  • Marble Canyon is an excellent example of a landscape feature resulting from the powerful erosive forces of moving glaciers and rivers in a dynamic mountain environment. The rock that forms the canyon is limestone and dolomite, some of which is white in colour, resembling Marble.

Plants, Animals and Special Ecological Areas

  • The range in elevation (900m to 3,400m) and associated range in climate within Kootenay National Park results in a variety of ecological zones, each characterised by flora and fauna typical of the western Rocky Mountains. These zones include rock and ice, where little life is found; harsh alpine tundra above treeline; cool, wet subalpine meadows and forests below treeline; and relatively warmer and drier montane valley bottoms. Montane valleys are rich in biodiversity and provide critical wildlife habitat. They are also where most human activity is concentrated and where the greatest conflicts with the goals of protection occur.
  • The south-western corner of the park contains the only example of dry Douglas-fir/ponderosa pine/wheatgrass vegetation in Canada's national parks. This semi-arid area, where prickly pear cactus also grows, provides important winter range for wildlife, especially Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep.
  • Wildlife are a highlight of the Rocky Mountains. Characteristic species found within Kootenay National Park include: grizzly and black bear, wolf, coyote, cougar, lynx, wolverine, marten, marmot, white-tailed and mule deer, elk, moose, mountain goat and Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep.
  • The mountain goat is the park's wildlife symbol. A large population of goats inhabit the slopes of Mount Wardle year-round. This area is one of four "Special Preservation" management zones within Kootenay National Park, which provide the highest degree of park protection.
  • The Vermilion Pass Burn of 1968 is one of the most accessible and studied natural burn sites in the Rockies. It provides an excellent example of the ecological values of forest fires and the important role that fire management now plays in maintaining the park's ecological integrity.
  • The Rockwall Trail provides access to one of the most spectacular backcountry areas in the Canadian Rockies. Special regulations exist to control the levels of use and to protect the fragile high mountain environment and the quality of the wilderness experience.

Parc national Kootenay

Faits en bref

Une aire protégée

  • Le parc national Kootenay est l'un des cinq parcs nationaux qui représentent la région naturelle des Montagnes Rocheuses du Canada. De ce nombre, Kootenay et Yoho sont les deux seuls à se trouver du côté ouest de la ligne de partage des eaux, les parcs nationaux Banff, Jasper et des Lacs-Waterton se trouvant du côté est.
  • Kootenay figure parmi les sept parcs nationaux et provinciaux qui forment ensemble le site du patrimoine mondial des parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes, d'une superficie de 26 583 km2. Le parc (1 406 km2) fait donc partie d'une vaste aire protégée d'importance mondiale.
  • Le parc national Kootenay se trouve au coeur de l'écosystème du centre des Rocheuses. Cet écosystème régional est plus vaste que les superficies protégées par les seuls parcs nationaux.
  • Pendant des milliers d'années, le secteur qu'est aujourd'hui le parc national Kootenay faisait partie du territoire traditionnel des Ktunaxa (Kootenay) et des Shuswap. Des vestiges archéologiques révèlent que ces Premières nations fréquentaient les montagnes de façon saisonnière pour la chasse. Divers groupes autochtones les franchissaient périodiquement pour chasser le bison sur les plaines de l'est. Certains sites revêtent une importance spirituelle.
  • Le parc national Kootenay a été créé en 1920 dans le sillage d'une entente conclue par le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement provincial en vue de la construction de la route Banff-Windermere – la première route à traverser les Rocheuses. Une bande de terrain de 8 km de largeur de chaque côté de cette route de 94 km a été cédée pour la création du parc national. C'est ce qui explique la forme étroite et longue du parc. En 1922, l'achèvement des travaux de construction a permis l'avènement du tourisme automobile dans les Rocheuses canadiennes. Aujourd'hui, la route est appelée « promenade de Kootenay ».
  • Depuis les pentes sèches du sud-ouest du sillon des Rocheuses, au sud, jusqu'aux imposants pics couverts de glace de la ligne de partage des eaux, au nord, le parc national Kootenay représente une diversité de paysages, d'altitudes, de climats et de caractéristiques écologiques. Cette diversité se reflète bien dans l'énoncé du thème d'interprétation du parc : Du cactus au glacier .
  • Le parc national Kootenay contient des exemples uniques et représentatifs des caractéristiques naturelles des Rocheuses : roches sédimentaires et montagnes formées par des failles de poussée; paysages sculptés par les glaciers et l'eau; plantes et animaux typiques des zones de végétation alpine, subalpine et montagnarde.

Paysage de montagne

  • Les Rocheuses ont été formées par les plaques tectoniques de la croûte terrestre. Ces forces, qui venaient de l'ouest, ont comprimé d'épaisses couches de roche sédimentaire, puis les ont pliées, fragmentées et soulevées en une série de cordillères. La glace et l'eau ont ensuite érodé ces montagnes et créé des vallées, des canyons, des lacs et des cours d'eau.
  • Kootenay est le seul parc national qui représente les chaînons de l'ouest. Caractérisés par des roches sédimentaires aux plis renversés, des crêtes dentelées et des sommets arrondis, ces chaînons, qui marquent l'extrémité ouest des Rocheuses, sont des formations géologiques complexes. Elle sont visibles dans la partie sud-ouest du parc. Les chaînons principaux de l'est et de l'ouest sont représentés dans la partie nord du parc.
  • Kootenay est le seul parc national qui représente le sillon des Rocheuses. Importante faille dans la croûte terrestre, ce fossé est visible de l'espace et consiste en une longue vallée linéaire qui s'étend de la frontière américaine à la frontière de la Colombie-Britannique et du Yukon. Dans cette région, le sillon sépare les Rocheuses de la chaîne Columbia, cordillère beaucoup plus vieille qui s'est formée à l'ouest.
  • Sises dans un canyon spectaculaire, les eaux apaisantes des sources thermales Radium Hot Springs constituent une attraction naturelle de longue date – depuis la première source creusée dans le gravier par les Autochtones jusqu'au vaste complexe de piscines d'aujourd'hui. Tout comme le canyon Sinclair et la faille Redwall, les sources thermales représentent d'importantes caractéristiques géologiques. La faille Redwall – de grands pics riches en fer – est le meilleur exemple de brèche de faille (roches fragmentées et à nouveau amalgamées) de tous les parcs des Rocheuses.
  • Les « Paint Pots », sources froides à forte teneur en fer, sont une caractéristique géologique unique qui revêt une grande importance culturelle et spirituelle pour les Premières nations. Jadis, les groupes autochtones s'y rendaient de l'est, depuis les plaines et les contreforts, et de l'ouest, depuis les vallées du Columbia et de la Kootenay, pour y recueillir la « terre rouge » qui servait à la confection de la peinture. Au début du XXe siècle, les Européens ont fait l'exploitation commerciale de ces sources minérales pour en extraire l'ocre.
  • Le canyon Marble est un excellent exemple d'une formation résultant des puissantes forces érosives des glaciers et des cours d'eau en mouvement dans un environnement de montagne dynamique. Le canyon est fait de calcaire et de dolomite, roches qui prennent parfois des tons de blanc ressemblant à du marbre.

Plantes, animaux et sites écologiques spéciaux

  • Les variations d'altitude (de 900 m à 3 400 m) et de climat sont attribuables à la présence d'une gamme variée de zones écologiques, chacune caractérisée par une flore et une faune typiques de l'ouest des Rocheuses. Ces zones sont les suivantes : zone de roche et de glace, d'où la vie est presque totalement absente; zone de toundra alpine hostile, située au-delà de la limite forestière; zone de forêts et de prés subalpins frais et humides, située sous la limite forestière; zone de vallées montagnardes relativement plus chaudes et plus sèches. Les vallées montagnardes sont riches en biodiversité et procurent un habitat de toute première importance à la faune. C'est également dans cette zone que sont concentrées la plupart des activités humaines et où surviennent les plus grands conflits entourant la protection.
  • L'angle sud-ouest du parc abrite l'unique exemple de communauté végétale de Douglas taxifolié, de pin ponderosa et de chiendent de tous les parcs nationaux du Canada. Cette zone semi-aride, qui sert aussi d'habitat à la raquette le Rafinesque, est fréquentée en hiver par divers animaux sauvages, notamment le mouflon d'Amérique.
  • Les animaux sont le fleuron des Rocheuses. Le parc national Kootenay abrite plusieurs espèces, dont le grizzli, l'ours noir, le loup, le coyote, le couguar, le lynx du Canada, le carcajou, la martre, la marmotte, le cerf de Virginie, le cerf mulet, le wapiti, l'orignal, la chèvre de montagne et le mouflon d'Amérique.
  • La chèvre de montagne est l'emblème animal du parc. Les pentes du mont Wardle sont habitées à l'année par une importante population de chèvres. Ce secteur figure au nombre des quatre zones de « Préservation spéciale » du parc national Kootenay. Ces zones de gestion sont celles qui offrent le plus haut degré de protection.
  • Le col Vermilion, qui a été ravagé par le feu en 1968, est l'un des brûlis naturels les plus accessibles et les plus étudiés des Rocheuses. Il témoigne de la valeur écologique des feux de forêt et de l'important rôle que joue aujourd'hui la gestion du feu dans le maintien de l'intégrité écologique du parc.
  • Le sentier de la Paroi-Rocheuse mène à l'un des secteurs d'arrière-pays les plus spectaculaires des Rocheuses canadiennes. Des règlements spéciaux ont été instaurés pour contrôler le niveau de fréquentation et pour protéger le fragile environnement des hauts sommets ainsi que la qualité de l'expérience offerte aux randonneurs.