Common menu bar links

Action on the Ground - Ecosystem Restoration in Gwaii Haanas

SGin Xaana Sdiihltl’lxa: Night Birds Returning

Ancient Murrelets on the water
Ancient Murrelets on the water
© Parks Canada / C. Bergman

Seabirds at risk

Ancient Murrelets (or “night bird” as translated from the Haida language), a species at risk in Canada, are being devastated by invasive rats. A significant proportion of the world population of these seabirds breed on remote islands in Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site.

View the Action on the Ground photo galleries: 

Ancient Murrelet chick
Ancient Murrelet chick
© Laskeek Bay Conservation Society / Jake Pattison

Ancient murrelets come and go from small islands by night during breeding season and spend the rest of their time on the water. Burrowed under the forest floor, the tiny chicks hatch and within days scuttle through the night-shaded undergrowth as their parents call to them from the sea. These seabirds also once played an important role in the diet of the Haida people and the colonies were once prime food gathering places.

Devastated by Rats

Black rats trapped in Gwaii Haanas during the population assessment phase of project
Black rats, like this one, were abundant on islands
© Parks Canada / Carita Bergman

The birds have long since abandoned many rat-infested islands. Rats, first introduced to Haida Gwaii with the advent of maritime shipping in the late 1700s, are known to occur on at least 18 islands throughout the archipelago and have had a devastating effect on several seabird colonies.

Island Conservation, Coastal Conservation and Parks Canada are working together
Island Conservation, Coastal Conservation and Parks Canada are working together
© Parks Canada / Andrew Wright

Restoring habitat

Phase One: 2011

In 2011, Parks Canada, the Haida Nation, Island Conservation and Coastal Conservation implemented a ground-based eradication of invasive Norway rats from Arichika and Bischof Islands, once home to significant ancient murrelet colonies. This work was supported by Parks Canada’s Action-on-the-Ground program which funds ecological restoration across Canada’s national parks and by the US Coast Guard’s Oil Spill Liability Trust Fund – a fund set up to offset the damage done to seabirds by a sunken oil tanker, the S.S. Jacob Lukenbach, which went down in 1953 off the coast of California.

The Bischof Islands with Lyell Island in the background
The Bischof Islands with Lyell Island in the background
© Parks Canada / Andrew Wright

Results

  • In 2011, field crews implemented a three month eradication effort. This operation involved using a rodenticide in the specialized stations, daily monitoring and the manual removal of rat carcasses on Bischof and Arichika Islands.

  • No evidence of rats was found at the end of the field season in November 2011 or at start-up Spring 2012, but monitoring must continue until September 2014 before the islands can be declared rat-free.

  • Scientists managed for the possibility that other species could have been affected by the eradication, and reported very few impacts on other species and no population-level impacts.

Ongoing monitoring activities continue
Ongoing monitoring activities continue
© Parks Canada / Andrew Wright

Phase Two: 2013

In September 2013, an aerial eradication took place on Murchison and Faraday Islands (two larger islands within the park reserve). The work is a collaboration between Parks Canada and the Haida Nation, and its partners Coastal Conservation and Island Conservation. In addition, Parks Canada draws on technical expertise from international experts in New Zealand and Mexico and has received a $400,000(US) contribution from the US National Fish and Wildlife Foundation – a non-governmental, charitable body established by the US Congress.

Murchison and Faraday Islands are located within the Juan Perez Sound, an area that includes islands which are recognized internationally for their globally outstanding seabird populations (Ancient Murrelets, Cassin’s auklets) and other seabird (Leach’s storm-petrels, Fork-tailed storm-petrels) and shorebird species.

Murchison and Faraday Islands are close to Ramsay Island, which is currently rat-free, and hence removal of rats here is necessary to reduce risk of rat invasion to these nearby intact seabird colonies.

Aerial Eradication

The eradication of invasive rats from Murchison and Faraday Islands involves an aerial broadcast of bait containing a rodenticide dispensed by helicopter, very similar to aerial seeding applications used in forest management or agricultural applications. This is a proven conservation management technique to remove invasive rats from islands that has been used extensively in New Zealand, Mexico, the United States and the Galapagos.

Continued Monitoring

Automated acoustic listening devices have been deployed on these islands and on unaffected islands to measure seabird response to the eradication. Scientists will study the frequency and distribution of the birds’ calls to gauge project success, as well as monitor a number of other ecosystem responses. In coming years, restoration techniques including the construction of artificial nesting burrows may be employed to encourage the birds to re-colonize.

Agir sur le terrain – Restauration d’écosystèmes à Gwaii Haanas

SGin Xaana Sdiihltl’lxa : Retour des oiseaux nocturnes

Guillemots à cou blanc sur l'eau
Guillemots à cou blanc sur l’eau
© Parcs Canada / C. Bergman

Oiseaux marins en péril

Le guillemot à cou blanc (ou « oiseau nocturne », tel qu’il est connu dans la langue haïda) est une espèce en péril au Canada. La population a été décimée par les rats. Une proportion importante de la population mondiale de ces oiseaux marins niche dans des îles reculées de la réserve de parc national, de la réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et du site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas.

Regardez les galeries d'images « Agir sur le terrain » :

Oisillon de guillemot à cou blanc
Oisillon de guillemot à cou blanc
© Laskeek Bay Conservation Society / Jake Pattison

Pendant la saison de nidification, les guillemots à cou blanc vont et viennent sur de petites îles pendant la nuit et passent le reste de leur temps sur l’eau. À l’abri dans des terriers cachés sous le tapis forestier, les minuscules oisillons éclosent et, après quelques jours, traversent précipitamment le sous-bois dans l’obscurité pour rejoindre leurs parents qui les appellent depuis la mer. Ces oiseaux marins faisaient autrefois partie intégrante du régime alimentaire des Haïdas. Les colonies étaient alors des lieux de récolte de nourriture de premier choix.

Décimés par les rats

un rat noir 
Les rats noirs, comme celui ci, étaient autrefois abondants sur les îles
© Parcs Canada / Carita Bergman

Les oiseaux ont depuis longtemps abandonné un grand nombre d'îles infestées par les rats. Introduits à Haida Gwaii par l’avènement de la navigation marchande à la fin du XVIIIe siècle, ces rongeurs ont envahi au moins18 îles de l’archipel et ont eu un effet dévastateur sur plusieurs colonies d’oiseaux marins.

Les organismes Island Conservation et Coastal Conservation, ainsi que Parcs Canada, travaillent en collaboration
Les organismes Island Conservation et Coastal Conservation, ainsi que Parcs Canada, travaillent en collaboration
© Parcs Canada / Andrew Wright

Restauration de l’habitat

Première étape : 2011

En 2011, Parcs Canada, la Nation haïda ainsi que les organismes Island Conservation et Coastal Conservation ont exécuté ensemble un programme terrestre d’éradication du rat surmulot, une espèce envahissante, dans les îles Arichika et Bischof, qui abritaient autrefois d’importantes colonies de guillemots à cou blanc. Ils ont reçu un appui financier du programme Agir sur le terrain de Parcs Canada, lequel finance des mesures de remise en état écologique dans les parcs nationaux du Canada, et de l'Oil Spill Liability Trust Fund de la Garde côtière américaine, fonds établi pour compenser les dommages causés aux oiseaux marins par un pétrolier naufragé, le S.S. Jacob Lukenbach, qui a sombré en 1953 au large de la Californie.

Les îles Bischof, avec l’île Lyell visible en arrière-plan 
Les îles Bischof, avec l’île Lyell visible en arrière-plan
© Parcs Canada / Andrew Wright

Résultats

  • En 2011, des équipes de terrain ont mené des travaux d’éradication pendant trois mois. Ils ont pour cela déployé un raticide dans des stations spécialisées, assuré une surveillance quotidienne et retiré manuellement les carcasses de rats trouvées aux îles Bischof et Arichika.

  • Les équipes n’ont trouvé aucun signe de la présence de rats à la fin de la campagne sur le terrain, en novembre 2011, ou au début de la campagne suivante, au printemps 2012. Malgré tout, les travaux de surveillance devront se poursuivre jusqu’en septembre 2014 pour que les îles puissent être déclarées exemptes de rats.

  • Les chercheurs ont également tenu compte de la possibilité que le programme d’éradication nuise à d’autres espèces. Cependant, ils ont observé très peu d’impacts sur les autres animaux et n’ont constaté aucune incidence sur le plan démographique.


Les activités de surveillance
Les activités de surveillance se poursuivent
© Parcs Canada / Andrew Wright


Deuxième étape : 2013

En septembre 2013, on a entrepris des travaux d’éradication aérienne aux îles Murchison et Faraday (deux des plus grandes îles de la réserve de parc national). Ces travaux ont été menés en collaboration par Parcs Canada, par la Nation haïda et par les organismes Coastal Conservation et Island Conservation. De plus, Parcs Canada peut miser sur les conseils techniques d’experts de la Nouvelle-Zélande et du Mexique, ainsi que sur une contribution de 400 000 $ US de la US National Fish and Wildlife Foundation, organisme caritatif non gouvernemental créé par le Congrès américain.

Les îles Murchison et Faraday sont situées dans la baie Juan Perez, et le secteur inclut des îles qui jouissent d’une renommée mondiale en raison des oiseaux qu’elles abritent, soit des populations d’oiseaux de mer très importantes à l’échelle internationale (guillemot à cou blanc, starique de Cassin), d’autres oiseaux de mer (océanite cul-blanc, océanite à queue fourchue) et des oiseaux de rivage.

Les îles Murchison et Faraday se trouvent à proximité de l’île Ramsay, actuellement exempte de rats, et leur dératisation est donc nécessaire afin de réduire les risques que le rongeur envahisse les colonies d’oiseaux de mer intactes des environs.

Éradication aérienne

L’éradication des rats ayant envahi les îles Murchison et Faraday s'est fait par l’épandage aérien, par hélicoptère, d’appâts contenant un raticide, technique très semblable à l’ensemencement aérien effectué en foresterie ou en agriculture. Il s’agit d’une technique éprouvée de gestion de la conservation qui a permis de dératiser de nombreuses îles en Nouvelle-Zélande, au Mexique, aux États-Unis et dans les Galápagos.


Surveillance continue

Les scientifiques ont placé des dispositifs d’écoute automatisés dans ces îles et dans des îles non touchées pour mesurer la réaction des oiseaux marins à l’éradication. Ils étudieront la fréquence et la répartition géographique des cris d’oiseaux afin d’évaluer l’efficacité du projet, et ils en profiteront pour surveiller plusieurs autres réactions de l’écosystème. Dans les années à venir, les chercheurs pourraient avoir recours à diverses techniques de remise en état, dont la construction de terriers de nidification artificiels, pour encourager les oiseaux à coloniser à nouveau les îles.