Common menu bar links

Government of Canada and Haida Nation Successfully Restore Sea Bird Habitat

Night birds can now return to remote islands

April 15, 2015 Skidegate, Haida Gwaii Parks Canada

Once a highly productive seabird colony and important cultural resource, Arichika Island was devastated for years by introduced rats.

Today, Parks Canada and kil tlaats ’gaa Peter Lantin, President of the Haida Nation, announced this important ecosystem has been declared rat-free. Arichika Island is recovering thanks to a restoration project implemented by the Government of Canada and the Haida Nation in collaboration with international partners experienced in island restoration and invasive species removal.

Invasive species are the number one threat to ecological and cultural heritage in Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site. According to traditional knowledge, the Ancient Murrelet (SGin Xaana or “night bird” in the Haida language) was once abundant on Arichika Island and a seasonal food source for the Haida. Approximately half of the world’s population of Ancient Murrelets, a species at risk in Canada, breeds on remote islands in Haida Gwaii.

Since the completion of rat eradication work in 2011, signs of ecological recovery have become evident, including increased numbers of nests and successful chick-rearing by black oystercatchers, a species that acts as a sentinel for changes in coastal ecosystem health. Another native species, the Dusky shrew has dramatically increased in numbers since invasive rats were removed. Their populations are now similar to those on other rat-free islands.

Parks Canada and the Haida Nation have been working with regional partners in Canada such as Coastal Conservation, Simon Fraser University and Laskeek Bay Conservation Society, as well as United States-based partners Island Conservation, Bell Laboratories, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation and the Luckenbach Council and Mexico’s Conservacion de Islas.

Quick Facts

  • The west coast archipelago of Haida Gwaii is home to 1.5 million nesting seabirds, many of which nest on remote islands in Gwaii Haanas.
  • The Ancient Murrelet or SGin Xaana is listed under Canada’s Species at Risk Act.
  • Invasive rats were introduced to Haida Gwaii as early as the late 1700s during the advent of maritime shipping.
  • Located in the southern part of Haida Gwaii, approximately 130 km off the British Columbia coast and 640 km north of Vancouver, Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve, National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site encompasses more than 5,000 km2 from mountaintop to seafloor. Gwaii Haanas is equally renowned for its spectacular wilderness and its vibrant cultural resources as well as for the intimate connections between land, sea and people.

Quotes

"The introduction of rats to many of the forested islands of Haida Gwaii has meant the demise of several historic seabird nesting colonies. Of particular concern are the impacts that invasive rats have had on the Ancient Murrelet. This seabird was once an important food source for our people."

kil tlaats ‘gaa Peter Lantin President of the Haida Nation

"The protection of species at risk is a high priority for Parks Canada. Through initiatives like this, Parks Canada is achieving real conservation results in support of the National Conservation Plan. The restoration of Arichika Island enabling the return of the night birds is a shining example of concerted actions undertaken in a cooperative manner by the Haida Nation, the Government of Canada and partners."

Ernie Gladstone, Superintendent, Gwaii Haanas Field Unit

"Removal of invasive species, such as rats, from islands is a permanent solution, and once completed, will allow ecosystems to recover naturally. The benefits of restoring the islands of Haida Gwaii will pay dividends for both wildlife and people that both rely on the islands for their livelihoods, and for the visitors that come to this world-class archipelago."

Gregg Howald, Director of the North America Region, Island Conservation

Contacts

Terrie Dionne
Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve,
National Marine Conservation Area Reserve, and Haida Heritage Site
250-559-6345
terrie.dionne@pc.gc.ca

Heath Packard
Island Conservation
360-584-3051 (USA)
Heath.packard@islandconservation.org

Simon Davies
Haida Nation – communications
250-637-1130
simon.davies@haidanation.com

Associated Links

Le gouvernement du Canada et la Nation haïda restaurent avec succès l’habitat d’oiseaux de mer

Les oiseaux nocturnes peuvent maintenant retourner sur les îles reculées

Le 15 avril 2015, Skidegate (Haida Gwaii) Parcs Canada

Autrefois une colonie d’oiseaux de mer très productive et une importante ressource culturelle, l’île Arichika a connu des années de dévastation causée par l’introduction du rat.

Aujourd’hui, Parcs Canada et kil tlaats ‘gaa Peter Lantin, président de la nation Haïda, ont annoncé que cet important écosystème est maintenant exempt de rats. L’île Arichika se remet grâce à un projet lancé par la Nation haïda et le gouvernement du Canada en collaboration avec des partenaires d’autres pays ayant l’expérience de la remise en état d’îles et de l’éradication d’espèces envahissantes.

Les espèces envahissantes constituent la principale menace pour le patrimoine écologique et culturel de la réserve de parc national, réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas. D’après le savoir traditionnel, l’île Arichika abritait autrefois une population importante de guillemots à cou blanc (SGin Xaana ou « oiseau nocturne » dans la langue des Haïdas), une importante source saisonnière de nourriture pour la Première Nation. Près de la moitié de la population mondiale de guillemots à cou blanc, une espèce en péril au Canada, se reproduit sur des îles reculées de Haida Gwaii.

Depuis la fin des travaux d’éradication du rat en 2011, les signes du rétablissement de l’environnement sont devenus évidents. On constate notamment une hausse du nombre de nids et la survie des petits de l’huîtrier de Bachman, une espèce indicatrice de l’état de santé des écosystèmes côtiers.

La population d’une autre espèce indigène, la musaraigne sombre, a également connu une hausse drastique depuis l’élimination du rat. Elle est maintenant semblable à celle que l’on voit sur d’autres îles que le rongeur n’a jamais colonisées.

Parcs Canada et la Nation haïda collaborent avec des partenaires canadiens régionaux (Coastal Conservation, Université Simon Fraser et Laskeek Bay Conservation Society), américains (Island Conservation, Bell Laboratories, National Fish and Wildlife Foundation et Luckenbach Council) et mexicains (Conservacion de Islas).

Les faits en bref

  • Environ 1,5 million d’oiseaux de mer nichent dans l’archipel Haida Gwaii, sur la côte Ouest, dont beaucoup sur les îles reculées de Gwaii Haanas.
  • Le guillemot à cou blanc, ou SGin Xaana, est inscrit à la liste des espèces en péril de la Loi sur les espèces en péril du Canada.
  • Le rat, espèce envahissante, a été introduit à Haida Gwaii dès la fin des années 1700, à l’arrivée du transport maritime.
  • Situés dans la partie sud de l’archipel Haida Gwaii, à environ 130 km au large de la côte de la Colombie-Britannique et 640 km au nord de Vancouver, la réserve de parc national, réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas protègent plus de 5 000 km2 de terres, du sommet des montagnes au fond de l’océan. Gwaii Haanas est renommé pour les splendeurs de son milieu sauvage et ses ressources culturelles vivantes de même que pour les liens qui y unissent la terre, la mer et les gens.

Citations

« L’introduction du rat dans un grand nombre des îles boisées de Haida Gwaii a entraîné la disparition de plusieurs colonies d’oiseaux de mer qui y nichaient auparavant. Son incidence sur le guillemot à cou blanc était particulièrement préoccupante. Cet oiseau de mer était à une époque une source de nourriture importante pour notre peuple. »

kil tlaats ‘gaa Peter Lantin, président de la Nation haïda

« La protection des espèces en péril est une grande priorité pour Parcs Canada. Grâce à des initiatives comme celle-ci, nous obtenons des résultats mesurables sur le plan de la conservation qui appuient le Plan de conservation national. La restauration de l’île Arichika, qui a permis le retour d’oiseaux nocturnes, est un excellent exemple d’action concertée entreprise en collaboration par la Nation haïda, le gouvernement du Canada et nos autres partenaires. »

Ernie Gladstone, directeur de l’unité de gestion de Gwaii Haanas

« L’élimination sur ces îles d’espèces envahissantes comme le rat constitue une solution permanente; après, les écosystèmes se remettent naturellement. La remise en état des îles de Haida Gwaii aura des retombées positives sur la faune et la flore comme sur les gens qui dépendent de ces îles pour leur subsistance, et sur les visiteurs qui viennent admirer cet archipel sans pareil. »

Gregg Howald, directeur de la Région de l’Amérique du Nord, Island Conservation

Renseignements

Terrie Dionne
Réserve de parc national, réserve d’aire marine nationale de conservation et site du patrimoine haïda Gwaii Haanas
250-559-6345 
terrie.dionne@pc.gc.ca

Heath Packard
Island Conservation
360-584-3051 (États-Unis) 
Heath.packard@islandconservation.org

Simon Davies
Nation haïda - communications
250-637-1130
simon.davies@haidanation.com

Liens connexes