Haida Cultural Sites

SGang Gwaay (Anthony Island)

 
SGang Gwaay Llnagaay © Parks Canada / J. Brown

SGang Gwaay (Anthony Island) is located in the exposed southwest corner of Gwaii Haanas. The Haida name means Wailing Island, based on a sound created at certain tides when air is pushed through a hole in a rock on the island. This sound is thought to resemble the keening of a woman. SGang Gwaay consists of a larger island and 27 small islets.

The village, SGang Gwaay Llnagaay, is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and is located in a sheltered bay on the east side of the island. Visitors can explore upright and fallen poles, house pits, and standing posts and beams of longhouses.

Respect the site

The Haida consider this place more than a village site, since the remains of so many ancestors and their spirits reside there. The Haida population was decimated by epidemics in the 19th century. Stay on the paths and as you walk around the site remember you are walking among these spirits.

Access

Boats and kayaks are not permitted in the bay in front of the village. This preserves the experience for visitors who are already in the village site. Refer to the map for access and trail information and check in with the Watchmen at the cabin before proceeding to the site.

Sites culturels Haïdas

SGang Gwaay (île Anthony)


SGang Gwaay Llnagaay © Parcs Canada / Judson Brown

SGang Gwaay (l’île Anthony) se trouve sur la côte sud-ouest exposée de Gwaii Haanas. Le nom haïda, qui signifie « l’île qui gémit », évoque un son créé pendant certaines marées, lorsque l’air est repoussé dans la cavité d’un rocher de l’île. Ce bruit ressemble à la complainte d’une femme. SGang Gwaay est composée d’une grande île et de 27 petits îlots.

L’ancien village, SGang Gwaay Llnagaay, est un site du patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Il est niché dans le creux d’une baie abritée, du côté est de l’île. Les visiteurs peuvent y explorer des mâts encore debout et des mâts tombés ainsi que des fosses, des poutres et des montants indiquant l’emplacement des longues maisons.

Respectez ce lieu

Pour les Haïdas, cet endroit est bien plus qu’un simple village, car les dépouilles et les esprits de bon nombre de leurs ancêtres y sont toujours. La population haïda fut décimée par des épidémies au XIXe siècle. Restez sur les sentiers et, tout en errant dans cet ancien village, rappelez-vous que vous marchez en présence de ces esprits.

ACCÈS

À SGang Gwaay, les bateaux et les kayaks ne sont pas autorisés dans la baie qui fait face au village. Cette restriction vise à préserver la qualité de l’expérience offerte aux visiteurs qui se trouvent déjà dans l’ancien village. Consultez la carte de SGang Gwaay pour obtenir des renseignements sur l’accès et les sentiers et demandez aux gardiens la permission de vous rendre au village.