Common menu bar links

Scuba Diving in Gwaii Haanas

Diving in kelp forests of Gwaii Haanas Diving in kelp forests of Gwaii Haanas
© Parks Canada / Mark Hiebert

Gwaii Haanas offers spectacular diving opportunities in one of the most pristine and sacred destinations in the world. The ocean is teeming with life, as sea creatures forage for food in wildly abundant, intact ecosystems.

Spring is peak season for diving in Gwaii Haanas. Underwater visibility is excellent, with the benefit of northern sunlight, until 11 pm.

Where to Dive
  • Burnaby Narrows

    During high tides you have a perfect opportunity to drift dive through Burnaby Narrows, one of the highest and most amazing concentrations of intertidal life recorded anywhere in the world. Tidal action pushes seawater through a winding channel that is just 50 metres (164 feet) wide. This provides a nearly constant stream of plankton and nutrients to the organisms living there. A kaleidoscope of bat stars, turban snails, sunflower stars, clams, and many other creatures comprise this colourful slice of marine life. Floating through the Narrows allows you to appreciate and experience these creatures without endangering them.

  • Murchison Faraday

    A beautiful dive destination near Hotspring Island, the Murchison-Faraday Passage harbours a high current habitat on numerous underwater reefs and rocky outcrops.
    Reefs are covered in meadows of turkish-towels, kelp forests and sea lettuce. Invertebrate life is rich with orange cup corals, blue top snails, red anemones, sea cucumbers, striped surfperch and sculpins in abundance.

  • Houston Stewart Channel

    A sheltered, high-current area, Houston Stewart Channel is home to a variety of marine invertebrates, such as lobed and stalked tunicates, orange-peel nudibranches, plumose anemones, along with numerous blue and black rockfish - but it's the topography of this site that makes it such a dramatic dive!

Safety

Diving in many places in Gwaii Haanas is suitable for experienced divers only. Watch out for high tidal exchanges and high current areas. Large swells are concentrated in shallow areas, surge channels, and narrow passages.

All divers should be familiar with west-coast ocean and weather conditions. Due to potentially hazardous conditions and unfamiliarity with the area, it is suggested that you dive with Gwaii Haanas licensed dive charter companies, who know the sites well and are in the field frequently enough to be up-to-date on conditions, visibility and the seasonal distribution of marine life.

"See giant kelp forests, stellar sea lions, giant pacific octopus, wolf-eels, crazy beautiful invertebrate life. We call this cold-water adventure and diving at its best."

Nautilus Swell, Tour Operator

Plongée sous-marine à Gwaii Haanas

Plongeur dans les forêts de varech à Gwaii Haanas Plongeur dans les forêts de varech à Gwaii Haanas
© Parcs Canada / Mark Hiebert

Gwaii Haanas offre des possibilités extraordinaires de plongée sous-marine dans l’un des endroits les mieux préservés et les plus sacrés au monde. La vie marine abonde dans l’océan, où des créatures marines viennent se nourrir dans des écosystèmes intacts des plus féconds.

Le printemps est la meilleure saison pour faire de la plongée à Gwaii Haanas. La visibilité sous l’eau est excellente et profite de l’ensoleillement du Nord jusqu’à 23 h.

Sites de plongée
  • Passage Burnaby

    À marée haute, vous avez une occasion idéale de faire de la plongée à la dérive dans le passage Burnaby, où se trouvent les concentrations les plus fortes et les plus étonnantes de créatures intertidales répertoriées au monde. L’action des marées canalise l’eau de mer dans un chenal sinueux qui ne fait que 50 m de largeur. Il en résulte un flux presque constant de plancton et de nutriments qui servent à nourrir les résidents de ces eaux. Un kaléidoscope de patirias vermillon, de sabots, de solasters géants, de myes et de nombreuses autres créatures compose cet échantillon de vie marine colorée. En flottant ainsi dans le passage, vous pourrez découvrir et mieux apprécier ces créatures sans mettre leur vie en péril.

  • Passage Murchison-Faraday

    Magnifique site de plongée situé près de l’île Hotspring, le passage Murchison-Faraday abrite un habitat où le courant est fort, le long de nombreux récifs sous-marins et affleurements rocheux. Les récifs sont recouverts de tapis de gigartine bosselée, d’herbiers de zostère et de laitues de mer. Les créatures invertébrées y sont abondantes : madréporaires orange, escargots géants bleus, anémones rouges, concombres de mer, ditrèmes rayés et chabots.

  • Chenal Houston Stewart

    Zone abritée au courant fort, le chenal Houston Stewart abrite toutes sortes d’invertébrés marins, notamment des tuniciers lobés, des patates de mer, des nudibranches orange, des anémones plumeuses de même que de nombreux sébastes bleus et noirs, mais c’est la topographie de l’endroit qui fait de ce chenal un site de plongée si incroyable!

Sécurité

À de nombreux endroits à Gwaii Haanas, la plongée est réservée aux plongeurs chevronnés. Faites attention aux échanges par marée haute et aux zones où le courant est fort. De fortes houles se concentrent dans des secteurs peu profonds, des chenaux de refoulement et des passages étroits.

Les plongeurs doivent tous bien connaître l’océan et les conditions météorologiques de la côte ouest. En raison des conditions potentiellement dangereuses et de la méconnaissance des lieux, nous vous suggérons de faire appel à l’une des entreprises de plongée autorisées de Gwaii Haanas; elles connaissent bien les sites de plongée et sont en mer assez souvent pour être au courant des conditions, de la visibilité et de la répartition saisonnière des animaux marins.

« Voyez de géants herbiers de zostère, des otaries de Steller, des poulpes géants du Pacifique Nord, des loups ocellés, de merveilleux invertébrés. C’est ce que nous appelons une aventure en eau froide et de plongée à son meilleur. »

- Nautilus Swell, Voyagiste