Common menu bar links


A sailboat

Natural and supernatural in equal turns, Gwaii Haanas is an ecological treasure off Canada’s West Coast with an aboriginal history stretching back 12 millennia. Kayak along shorelines teeming with sea stars, walk amid towering, century-old totem poles and soak up the moss-shrouded magic of 1,884 islands and islets you’ll have nearly to yourself. Activities range from one-day guided boat trips to extended boating or kayaking adventures.

Featured Activities

Explore ancient Haida village sites
Weathered, carved poles, longhouse ruins and traditional Haida culture are brought to life at five island village archeological sites by knowledgeable resident Haida Gwaii Watchmen.
Cruise through an ocean teeming with wildlife 
Sailing or powerboating in waters rich with wildlife offers the most freedom for exploring Gwaii Haanas’ maze of islands with their returning hot springs and ancient village sites brought to life by resident Haida Gwaii Watchman.
Kayak up-close to wildlife and Haida culture
Kayaking encourages slower-paced and more intimate experiences with the ocean and its creatures as well as the primordial wilderness and ancient culture of Gwaii Haanas’ network of islands.

All Activities

For many, a visit to Gwaii Haanas is the trip of a lifetime. This is a unique place where travellers encounter rich environments that are abundant with life, culture and history unlike any other. Every day and every place offers incredible diversity, so take the time to move into the rhythm of this unique place.

Related Links

Activités

Un voilier

À Gwaii Haanas, découvrez un trésor écologique situé au large des côtes de l’Ouest canadien. Son paysage a des accents à la fois naturels et surnaturels, sans compter une histoire autochtone qui remonte à 12 000 ans. Faites du kayak le long de rivages peuplés d’étoiles de mer, marchez parmi les mâts totémiques centenaires et imprégnez-vous de la magie des quelque 1900 îles et îlots luxuriants que vous pourrez apprécier dans une tranquillité sans pareille. Faites une visite guidée d’une journée en bateau ou osez une plus longue excursion, en bateau ou en kayak.


Activités en vedette

Explorez les anciens villages haïdas
Ouvrez grands les yeux pour voir les mâts sculptés érodés, les vestiges de maisons longues et la culture traditionnelle haïda reprennent vie dans les cinq sites archéologiques des villages de la réserve de parc national Gwaii Haanas grâce aux gardiens résidents des lieux et experts en la matière.
Naviguez dans un océan foisonnant de vie
Naviguez ou faites du motonautisme sur les eaux regorgeant de faune et explorez le chapelet d’îles de Gwaii Hanaan, leurs sources chaudes et les sites d’anciens villages ramenés à la vie par les gardiens résidents de Haïda Gwaii.
Découvrez en kayak la faune sauvage 
Prenez un kayak pour une découverte plus lente et plus intime de l’océan et de ses créatures, sans compter la nature sauvage et la culture ancestrale au cœur des îles de Gwaii Haanas.

Toutes les activités

Pour de nombreux visiteurs, un voyage à Gwaii Haanas est une expérience incomparable. Ce joyau vous offre la possibilité de découvrir des milieux riches qui foisonnent de vie, de culture et d’histoire comme nul autre. Chaque lieu recèle une étonnante diversité. Prenez votre temps et adoptez le rythme de cet endroit exceptionnel.

Liens connexes