Common menu bar links

Gulf Islands National Park Reserve of Canada

What's New

Camping History in the Making!

Shingle Bay Shingle Bay
© Parks Canada

Opening in 2015, Shingle Bay is Gulf Islands National Park Reserve’s brand new camping destination! Situated just a few minutes south of the Otter Bay BC Ferry terminal on North Pender Island, this spectacular waterfront location includes ten backcountry campsites with breathtaking views of Captain Passage and nearby islets. The sheltered bay along with its fine gravel beach is ideal for accessing the site by kayak. A small parking area is available from Shingle Bay Road with a short .24 km trail access to the campsites. Visitors can also easily enjoy the picturesque Roe Lake loop trail, a mere 10 minute jaunt from the parking area.

Shingle Bay was also once the site of a fish reduction plant that operated intermittently between 1927 and 1959. The Pender Island Fish Products Company built and operated the plant, which was an important part of the local economy and employed up to 20 people. Fish remains from neighbouring canneries were barged here to be rendered into oil, fish meal, and fertilizer. A fire destroyed the plant in 1940, temporarily forcing it to close. Although rebuilt in 1947, another fire in 1959 closed the plant for good. The fish plant was supported by the store and gas service at nearby Roesland.

Parks Canada Xplorers

Parks Canada Xplorers Logo

Are you planning a family vacation and wondering how to keep the kids busy and happy? Become an Xplorer, experience and have fun!

What is it about?

Are your children curious, bright, and active? Do they like challenges? Are they budding artists, dreamers or promising journalists? Then they are a perfect candidate to become a Parks Canada Xplorer.

When you arrive at Gulf Islands National Park Reserve, your children will receive an Xplorers booklet filled with fun activities that will guide your discovery at the park reserve.

When the kids have completed the requested number of activities they will be recognized as an official Xplorer with a certificate and a special collectible souvenir! More information on this exciting new activity coming later this spring!

Nature Calling! Explora Trail Apps

Explora trail application © Parks Canada

We are adding new trails at various locations throughout the park reserve on our Explora App experience this summer! Stay tuned for details later this spring. Not familiar with Explora? Check-out this great outdoor activity for your gadget-addicted family here.

Hike a peaceful lakeside trail

Roe Lake Roe Lake
© Parks Canada

Enjoy the new trail extension at Roe Lake on North Pender Island – coming this season. You will be able to hike around the entire lake and take in the spectacular views! Learn More!

Réserve de parc national du Canada des Îles-Gulf

Quoi de neuf

La baie Shingle - Une nouvelle page dans l’histoire du camping!

La baie Shingle La baie Shingle
© Parks Canada

La baie Shingle, qui s’ouvre aux visiteurs en 2015, est la toute nouvelle destination de camping de la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf! Situé à seulement quelques minutes au sud de la gare maritime d’Otter Bay sur l’île Pender Nord, cet impressionnant secteur riverain comprend dix emplacements de camping en arrière-pays qui offrent des vues saisissantes sur le passage Captain et les îlots avoisinants. La baie protégée, avec sa splendide plage de gravier, est idéale pour accéder au site en kayak. Un court sentier de 0,24 km vous permettra d’accéder à une petite aire de stationnement donnant sur la route Shingle Bay. Les visiteurs peuvent aussi facilement profiter du sentier pittoresque du lac Roe, à seulement dix minutes de l’aire de stationnement.

Autrefois, la baie Shingle était également le site d’une usine de transformation du poisson qui a été exploitée par intermittence entre 1927 et 1959. La Pender Island Fish Products Company a construit et exploité cette usine, qui jouait un rôle majeur dans l’économie de la région et qui comptait jusqu’à 20 employés. Les conserveries avoisinantes y acheminaient des restes de poisson par barge afin qu’on les transforme en huile, en farine de poisson et en engrais. En 1940, un incendie a détruit l’usine, la forçant à fermer temporairement. Même si elle été reconstruite en 1947, un autre incendie a causé sa fermeture définitive en 1959. L’usine était soutenue par le magasin et la station-service de Roesland, non loin de là. Clickez-ici pour de plus amples renseignements sur le camping dans la réserve de parc des Îles-Gulf.

les Xploratuers de Parcs Canada

Xplorateurs Parcs Canada

Nouveau programme d'activités de découverte pour les enfants de 6 à 11 ans à faire en famille. C'est le temps plus que jamais d'Xplorer les sites de Parcs Canada

Qu'en est-il?

Vos enfants sont curieux, vifs et actifs? Ils aiment les défis? Ils sont artistes en herbe, rêveurs ou futurs journalistes? Ils sont alors de parfaits candidats pour devenir des Xplorateurs de Parcs Canada.

Lorsque vous arrivez à la réserve de parc national des Îles-Gulf, vos enfants recevront un livret Xplorateurs rempli d'activités amusantes qui vous guideront dans votre découverte de la réserve de parc.

Lorsque les enfants auront complété le nombre requis d'activités, ils recevront alors un souvenir spécial ainsi qu'un certificat les reconnaissant comme Xplorateurs officiels de Parcs Canada! Plus de renseignements sur cette nouvelle activité ici!

L’appel de la nature : application Explora

application Explora
© Parcs Canada

Cet été, nous ajoutons à l’expérience de notre application Explora de nouveaux sentiers à différents endroits dans la réserve de parc national! De plus amples renseignements suivront ce printemps. Vous ne connaissez pas Explora? Rendez-vous ici pour en apprendre davantage sur cette superbe activité de plein air pour votre famille branchée.

Un sentier paisible en bordure d’un lac!

Lac Roe Lac Roe
© Parcs Canada

Profitez de la nouvelle extension du sentier au lac Roe sur l'île Pender Nord - à venir cette saison. Vous pourrez faire de la randonnée tout autour du lac et profiter de la vue spectaculaire! En savoir plus.