Common menu bar links

Partnering with Parks Canada

By working in collaboration with respected organisations that share our values, Parks Canada is able to better deliver its promise to Canadians by continuing to be a world leader in the protection and presentation of Canada’s natural and cultural heritage. We believe in sharing leadership and working with our partners to offer unique, inspiring opportunities for Canadians to discover our treasured places and to achieve extraordinary results.

We are proud to be formally collaborating with the following local partners:

Local Partners

Revelstoke Bear Aware Society

Revelstoke Bear Aware’s mission is to reduce human-bear conflict through education, cooperation and active management initiatives in the community of Revelstoke and surrounding area. Over the years, Parks Canada and Revelstoke Bear Aware have worked collaboratively on Bear Smart Initiatives such as the development of a Bear Hazard Assessment and Management Plan, Bear Hazard Maps and a Garbage Bear Map. Parks Canada and Revelstoke Bear Aware also worked together with School District #19 to supply bear-proof garbage cans for each elementary school. In addition, Parks Canada and Revelstoke Bear Aware developed a Google Earth Map, an interactive tool for users to view reported bear sightings and associated bear attractants, on the Revelstoke Bear Aware website. Parks Canada staff participate on the Revelstoke Bear Aware Society Committee to provide expertise and advice.



Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre

The Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre is managed by the Revelstoke Visual Arts Society as a not-for-profit community facility dedicated to the creation, exhibition and promotion of the visual arts. The Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre works with Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks on the Art in the Park program. This program provides visual artists with special access to explore one of Canada’s national parks and then to share the experience through art. Artwork is created to inspire an emotional connection and deeper understanding of Canada’s national parks. To learn more about the Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre and the Art in the Park program please visit www.revelstokevisualarts.com



Revelstoke Museum and Archives

Revelstoke Museum & Archives celebrates the history and heritage of Revelstoke and district by collecting, preserving, documenting and interpreting the artifacts, records and stories of the region in a public community museum. The Revelstoke Museum and Archives and Parks Canada collaborate to tell the stories that shaped Rogers Pass National Historic Site and Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks. Parks Canada and the Revelstoke Museum and Archives bring the past to life and work to increase the awareness, understanding and appreciation of our protected places in the Columbia mountains region. Throughout 2014 the Revelstoke Museum and Archives and Parks Canada are collaborating on the anniversary of Mount Revelstoke National Parks' centennial through events, a new exhibit and the sharing of images, artifacts and historic records. To learn more about the Revelstoke Museum and Archives visit them online at www.revelstokemuseum.ca



Revelstoke Caribou Rearing in the Wild

Revelstoke Caribou Rearing in the Wild Society (RCRW) is committed to the conservation and recovery of mountain caribou in the Columbia Mountains region. It is a community based partnership, consisting of a cross representation of individuals and organizations, including Parks Canada in the Revelstoke area. The goal of RCRW is to fundraise, plan and conduct captive rearing, also known as maternity penning of the North Columbia herd of southern mountain caribou in order to increase caribou calf survival in the Columbia Mountains over a three to five-year period. Parks Canada is proud to be supporting this project through in-kind and financial contributions. To learn more about the Revelstoke Caribou Rearing in the Wild Society and the maternity penning project please visit their website at www.rcrw.ca

Partenaires de Parcs Canada

La collaboration d’organisations respectées qui partagent ses valeurs permet à l’Agence Parcs Canada de mieux remplir sa promesse faite aux Canadiens tout en demeurant un chef de file mondial dans le domaine de la protection et de la mise en valeur du patrimoine naturel et culturel du Canada. L’Agence croit au partage du leadership et à la collaboration avec ses partenaires dans le but d’offrir aux Canadiens des occasions uniques et inspirantes de découvrir nos trésors et d’atteindre des résultats extraordinaires.

L’Agence Parcs Canada est fière de s’associer officiellement avec les partenaires suivants :

Partenaires locaux

Revelstoke Bear Aware Society

La mission de la Revelstoke Bear Aware Society (Gare aux ours) est de réduire le nombre de conflits entre les humains et les ours grâce à des initiatives en matière d’éducation, de coopération et de gestion active au sein de la collectivité de Revelstoke et de ses environs. Au fil des ans, Parcs Canada et Revelstoke Bear Aware ont travaillé de concert à des initiatives de prévention à l’égard des ours, notamment en effectuant une évaluation des risques et en préparant un plan de gestion des ours, une carte des secteurs à risque et une carte des emplacements des poubelles à l’épreuve des ours. Parcs Canada et Revelstoke Bear Aware collaborent aussi avec le district scolaire n° 19 afin d’offrir à chaque école primaire des poubelles anti-ours. De plus, les deux partenaires ont généré une carte sur Google Earth, un outil interactif dont les usagers peuvent se servir pour prendre connaissance des comptes rendus d’observation d’ours ainsi que des éléments qui les attirent (sur le site Web de Revelstoke Bear Aware). Des employés de Parcs Canada prennent également part au comité de la Revelstoke Bear Aware Society afin d’offrir leurs conseils et leur expertise.



Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre

Les installations communautaires sans but lucratif Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre, géré par la Revelstoke Visual Arts Society, sont consacrées à la création, à l’exposition et à la mise en valeur des arts visuels. Le Centre, en partenariat avec les Amis des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers, collabore avec les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers au programme « L’art dans le parc ». Ce programme offre aux artistes visuels un accès spécial leur permettant d’explorer l’un des parcs nationaux du Canada. Ils transmettent ensuite leur expérience en produisant une œuvre artistique visant à inspirer la création de liens affectifs avec le parc national, et à en approfondir la compréhension. Pour en savoir davantage sur le Centre des arts visuels de Revelstoke et le programme « L’art dans le parc », consultez le site Web www.revelstokevisualarts.com (en anglais seulement).



Le Musée et centre d’archives de Revelstoke

Le Musée et centre d’archives de Revelstoke célèbre l’histoire et le patrimoine de Revelstoke et de son district en recueillant, en préservant, en documentant et en interprétant les artéfacts, les documents d’archive et les récits de la région dans un musée communautaire public. Le Musée et centre d’archives de Revelstoke et Parcs Canada travaillent de concert afin de faire connaître les récits qui ont forgé le lieu historique national du Col-Rogers et les parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Parcs Canada et le Musée et centre d’archives de Revelstoke font revivre le passé et visent à mieux faire connaître, comprendre et apprécier les endroits protégés de la région de la chaîne Columbia. Tout au long de l’année 2014, le Musée et centre d’archives de Revelstoke et Parcs Canada travaillent ensemble pour souligner le centenaire du parc national du Mont-Revelstoke en organisant diverses activités, en présentant une nouvelle exposition et en faisant connaître divers artéfacts, images et documents d’archive. Pour en apprendre davantage sur le Musée et centre d’archives de Revelstoke, consultez le site Web www.revelstokemuseum.ca (en anglais seulement)



Revelstoke Caribou Rearing in the Wild Society

La Revelstoke Caribou Rearing in the Wild Society (RCRW) est un organisme voué à la conservation et au rétablissement du caribou de montagne dans la région de la chaîne Columbia. Cet organisme communautaire rassemble un groupe de particuliers et d’organismes, y compris Parcs Canada, dans la région de Revelstoke. La RCRW finance, planifie et exécute des projets d’élevage en captivité (par la mise en enclos de femelles gestantes) de caribous des montagnes du Sud de la harde des montagnes du Nord de la chaîne Columbia. L’organisme entend ainsi accroître le taux de survie des faons dans la chaîne Columbia sur une période de trois à cinq ans. Parcs Canada est fier d’appuyer ce projet par l’intermédiaire de contributions financières et en nature. Pour en apprendre davantage sur la Revelstoke Caribou Rearing in the Wild Society et sur le projet de mise en enclos des femelles gestantes, consultez le site Web de la RCRW : www.rcrw.ca (en anglais seulement).