Glacier National Park

Studying Glacial Recession

Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks are home to 147 glaciers. Current research shows that our glaciers are shrinking. In 2011 8.3% of the parks were glaciated—down from 9.5% in 2000. Between 2000 and 2011, the surface area of glaciers in the two parks decreased by 12.7%, or 19.4 km2.

North America’s First Glaciologists

black and white photo of man photographing glacier William Vaux photographing the Illecillewaet glacier in 1898
© Parks Canada

The study of glacial recession in Glacier National Park was started by the Vaux family over 125 years ago—North America’s first glaciologists! Siblings Mary, George and William Vaux of Philadelphia first travelled here as tourists in 1887. They photographed the Illecillewaet Glacier on their first visit and again on their second visit in 1904. They were struck by how much the glacier had receded in those seven years. For another decade, the Vaux family returned each year to monitor and photograph the glacial recession from a number of fixed locations—the earliest known glacier research in North America. Their photographs and notes continue to be invaluable to the study of glaciology and climate change today.

 

photo with text overlay showing the recession of the Illecillewaet Glacier from 1898 to 1931 The recession of the Illecillewaet Glacier, 1898 - 1931
© Parks Canada / Dan McCarthy, Brock University

The above image shows the recession of the toe, or terminus, of the Illecillewaet Glacier over time. The image was created using photographs taken by the Vaux family at the turn of the century.

Repeat Photography

In 2011, repeat photography was conducted in partnership with the Mountain Legacy Project to compare glacial changes over time. This repeat photography project involved comparing photos taken in 2011 to those taken in the past from the exact same location. In addition to photographs the Vaux family took, glass photo plates were also taken by early surveyors working for the railway in the late 1800s. By comparing new images to old ones, we can get a clear picture of glacial recession.

two photos of the toe of Illecillewaet Glacier, 1887 and 2011 Views of the toe of the Illecillewaet Glacier in 1887 (left) and 2011 (right)
© McCord Museum (left) / Mountain Legacy Project (right)


In the above image, repeat photography compares a view of the toe of the Illecillewaet Glacier in 1887, at left, to the bare rock face after glacier retreat in 2011, at right.

In the image below, taken below Abbott Ridge, significant glacier recession is observed.


two photos of Illecillewaet Glacier, 1902 and 1911 Illecillewaet Glacier in 1902 (left) and 2011 (right)
© Detroit Photographic Co. (left) / Mountain Legacy Project (right)

Measuring Glacial Meltwater

In 2009, Mount Revelstoke and Glacier national parks supported a glacier mass-balance research project by Master’s student Jocelyn Hirose. This study looked at the net gain or loss of glaciers on the Illecillewaet glacier in Glacier national park. Jocelyn was able to measure and model glacier run-off during the summer months to determine how much of the run-off was from snow and how much was from glacial ice. Water chemistry was also analyzed to help determine the sources of run-off.

The study found that over the course of three years, glacier run-off during summers was on average 112,300,000 m3 of water—that’s approximately 44,920 Olympic sized swimming pools! Glacier melt-modelling and water chemistry showed that 34% of the melt water came from glacial ice and 66% from snow.

This indicates that if our glaciers disappeared, water volumes in the creeks and streams of this area could decrease by at least one third. It is likely that water volumes would actually decrease by more than this, because the loss of glaciers would also lead to a loss of snowpack, since glaciers act like fridges, helping to preserve the snowpack. A decrease in water volume would be accompanied by both an increase in water temperature and lower oxygen levels, affecting our fish, amphibians and invertebrates.

Read Jocelyn's findings here.

map of the glaciers of Glacier National Park The glaciers of Glacier National Park
© Jocelyn Hirose

Measuring Changes in Surface Area

Using satellite images, scientists measure the surface area of glaciers in our two parks. Approximately every 10 years, they compare images to get an idea of the growth or recession of our glaciers. This information was most recently recorded in the 2011 Glacier Inventory Report. The report found that surface area of glaciers in our two parks decreased by 19.4 km2 between 2000 and 2011 – this is a decrease of 12.7%.

image of Inverness Glacier with text overlay showing glacial retreat from 2000 to 2011
Inverness Glacier, Mount Revelstoke National Park, 2000-2011
© Parks Canada / 2011 Glacier Inventory Report

The image above shows that the toe of Inverness Glacier, in Mount Revelstoke National Park, retreated 119 meters between 2000 and 2011.

Larger glaciers (those 1 km2 or larger) were found to be losing more ice when compared to smaller glaciers (see the bar graph below).

More information on the 2011 Glacier Inventory Report. 

Glacier terminus retreat (2000-2011)

The table below shows the average distance of glacier terminus retreat from 2000 to 2011, for 11 glaciers in Mount Revelstoke and Glacier National Parks.

Glacier Name Average Retreat
at Toe (m) 
Black Glacier 39
Deville Glacier 41
Geikie Glacier 48
Grand Glacier 54
Hermit Glacier 101
Illecillewaet Glacier 31
Inverness Glacier 119
Purity Glacier 35
Rogers Glacier 20
Van Horne Glacier 51
Woolsey Glacier 99

Absolute glacier loss by size class (2000-2011)

The chart and bar graph below show that larger glaciers (more than 1 km2) are shrinking in area faster than smaller glaciers.

Size Class
(km2)
0.01 - 0.10.1 - 0.50.5 - 1.01.0 - 5.05.0 +
Total Area Loss
(km2)
-0.689 -3.451 -1.980 -7.367 -5.916

bar graph showing absolute glacier loss by size class
Absolute glacier area loss (km2) by size class between 2000 - 2011
for Glacier National Park and Mount Revelstoke National Park

© Parks Canada / 2011 Glacier Inventory Report 

Measuring Surface Mass Balance

Mass balance measures the changes between annual ice accumulation and melt (ablation). A negative mass balance means a glacier is retreating while a positive mass balance means a glacier is growing. Winter and summer mass balances are measured on the Illecillewaet Glacier each year, long-term mass balance monitoring started in 2009 and results will be reported through Natural Resources Canada and to the World Glacier Monitoring Service.

Long-term glacier mass balance trends have been studied using the science of dendroclimatology. Dendroclimatology uses tree rings from old-growth trees to study long-term weather patterns. Changes in tree ring thickness were correlated with changes in weather patterns dating back to 1780. Research conducted by Lisa Wood and Dr. Dan Smith of University of British Columbia was published in 2012. Results indicated that of the 250 year time period studied, mass balance decline in the Columbia Mountains has been at its highest in the last 30 years.

Measuring Glacier Volume

In the coming years, ground penetrating radar will be used to determine the thickness of the Illecillewaet Glacier, giving rise to a 3-D digital image of the glacier.

With the image below, we can get a sense of the loss in thickness of the Illecillewaet Glacier since 1898.

photo with text overlay showing loss of thickness of the Illecillewaet Glacier Image showing loss of thickness of the Illecillewaet Glacier in 1898-99 and 1931-37
© Dan McCarthy / Brock University

References

  • Wood, L. & Smith, D. (2012, Sept). "Climate and glacier mass balance trends from AD 1780 to present in the Columbia Mountains, British Columbia, Canada." The Holocene 0 (0). Sage Journals, UK.
  • Svendsen, Jamie D. & Roger Wheate. 2011 Glacier Inventory. Glacier National Park & Mount Revelstoke National Park. Technical Report. Final report: October 2012.

Parc national des Glaciers

Étude du retrait glaciaire

On trouve 147 glaciers dans les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers. Les recherches actuelles montrent que nos glaciers rapetissent. En 2011, 8,3 % de la superficie des deux parcs était englacée, ce qui représente une diminution de 9,5 % par rapport à l’an 2000. De 2000 à 2011, la superficie totale des glaciers des deux parcs a diminué de 12,7 %, ou 19,4 km2.

Les premiers glaciologues d’Amérique du Nord

photo noir et blanc d'un homme photographiant un glacier WilliamVaux photographiant le glacier Illecillewaet en 1898
© Parcs Canada

L’étude du retrait glaciaire dans le parc national des Glaciers a commencé il y a plus de 125 ans, avec les observations de la famille Vaux. En fait, leurs travaux dans le parc marquent les débuts de la glaciologie en Amérique du Nord. Une sœur et ses deux frères, Mary, George et William Vaux, de Philadelphie, visitèrent la région pour la première fois en tant que touristes en 1887. Ils photographièrent le glacier Illecillewaet au cours de cette première visite, et de nouveau lors de leur deuxième visite en 1904. Ils furent impressionnés par l’importance du recul du glacier pendant ces sept années. Pendant une autre décennie, la famille retourna chaque année dans le parc pour surveiller et photographier le recul du glacier depuis plusieurs lieux fixes. Il s’agit de la première recherche glaciologique connue en Amérique du Nord. Encore aujourd’hui, leurs photos et leurs notes demeurent des ressources précieuses pour l’étude de la glace et du changement climatique.

photo qui montre le recul du glacier Illecillewaet Glacier entre 1898 et 1931 Le recul du glacier Illecillewaet, 1898 - 1931
© Parcs Canada / Dan McCarthy, Université Brock

Cette image montre le recul du front (de l’avant) du glacier Illecillewaet au fil des ans. L’image a été élaborée à l’aide de photos prises par la famille Vaux au tournant du XXe siècle.

Photographie répétée

En 2011, la photographie répétée a été réalisée en partenariat avec le projet Legs des montagnes afin de suivre l’évolution glaciaire au fil du temps. Dans le cadre de ce projet de photographie répétée, des photos prises en 2011 ont été comparées avec des photos prises précédemment depuis le même endroit. En plus des photos prises par la famille Vaux, des photos sur plaque de verre avaient été prises par des arpenteurs qui travaillaient pour la compagnie ferroviaire à la fin des années 1800. En comparant les nouvelles images aux anciennes, nous obtenons une image précise du retrait glaciaire.

deux photos du front du glacier Illecillewaet, 1887 et 2011 Le front du glacier Illecillewaet en 1887 (à gauche) et 2011 (à droite)
© Musée McCord (à gauche) / Projet Legs des montagnes (à droite)


Ci-dessus, photographie répétée comparant le front du glacier en 1887, à gauche, à la roche nue laissée après le retrait du glacier en 2011, à droite.

Dans l'image ci-dessous, photographié sous la crête Abbott, on observe un retrait important du glacier.


deux photos du glacier Illecillewaet, 1902 et 1911 Le glacier Illecillewaet en 1902 (à gauche) et en 2011 (à droite)
© Detroit Photographic Company (à gauche) / Projet Legs des montagnes (à droite)

Mesure de l’eau de fonte glaciaire

En 2009, les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers ont appuyé le projet de recherche sur le bilan de masse glaciaire réalisé par une étudiante à la maîtrise, Jocelyn Hirose. L’étude portait sur le gain net ou la perte nette du glacier Illecillewaet dans le parc national des Glaciers. Mme Hirose a mesuré et modélisé l’eau de ruissellement pendant les mois d’été dans le but de déterminer la quantité qui provenait de la fonte de la neige et celle qui provenait de la glace de glacier. Une analyse des propriétés chimiques de l’eau a aussi été effectuée pour aider à déterminer les sources de l’eau de ruissellement.

Au cours des trois années de l’étude, le volume moyen de l’eau de ruissellement estival du glacier était de 112 300 000 m3, volume qui permettrait de remplir environ 44 920 piscines olympiques! D’après la modélisation de la fonte du glacier et l’analyse des propriétés chimiques de l’eau, 34 % de l’eau de fonte provenait de la glace de glacier, tandis que
66 % provenait de la neige.

Cela signifie que si nos glaciers disparaissaient, le volume d’eau dans les ruisseaux et les rivières de ce secteur pourrait diminuer au moins du tiers. En fait, la diminution serait probablement plus importante que cela, parce que la disparition des glaciers entraînerait aussi une diminution du manteau neigeux étant donné que les glaciers agissent comme des réfrigérateurs, qui aident à conserver le manteau neigeux. Une diminution du volume d’eau serait accompagnée à la fois d’une augmentation de la température de l’eau et d’une réduction de sa teneur en oxygène, ce qui aurait des répercussions sur les poissons, les amphibiens et les invertébrés.

Les résultats de Jocelyn (en anglais seulement).

carte, Les glaciers du Parc national des Glaciers Les glaciers du Parc national des Glaciers
© Jocelyn Hirose

Mesure des changements de superficie

À partir d’images satellites, les scientifiques mesurent la superficie des glaciers de nos deux parcs. Tous les dix ans environ, ils comparent les images pour avoir une idée de la croissance ou du recul de nos glaciers. Ces données ont été publiées récemment dans le Rapport d’inventaire des glaciers de 2011. Selon le rapport, la superficie des glaciers des deux parcs a diminué de 19,4 km2 entre 2000 et 2011 – ce qui représente une diminution de 12,7 %.

image du glacier Inverness qui montre le retrait glaciaire entre 2000 et 2011
Glacier Inverness, Parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers, 2000-2011
© Parcs Canada / Rapport d’inventaire des glaciers de 2011

Cette image du glacier Inverness dans le parc national du Mont Revelstoke montre que le front du glacier a reculé de 119 mètres de 2000 à 2011.

Les résultats montrent également que les grands glaciers (ceux dont la superficie fait au moins 1 km2) ont perdu plus de glace que les petits (voir le graphique ci après.)

De plus amples renseignements sur le Rapport d’inventaire des glaciers de 2011.

Recul de front des glaciers (2000 à 2011)

Tableau (ci-dessous) montrant la distance moyenne de recul du front de onze glaciers des parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Glaciers entre 2000 et 2011.

Nom du glacier Recul moyen
du front (m)
Glacier Black 39
Glacier Deville 41
Glacier Geikie 48
Glacier Grand 54
Glacier Hermit 101
Glacier Illecillewaet 31
Glacier Inverness 119
Glacier Purity 35
Glacier Rogers 20
Glacier Van Horne 51
Glacier Woolsey 99

Perte de supeficie absolue pour chaque classe de taille de glaciers (2000 à 2011)

Le tableau et le graphique ci-dessous montrent que la superficie des grands glaciers (d’une superficie d’au moins 1 km2) diminue plus vite que celle des petits.

Classe de taille
(km2)
0,01 - 0,10,1 - 0,50,5 - 1,01,0 - 5,05,0 +
Perte de superficie
totale (km2)
-0,689 -3,451 -1,980 -7,367 -5,916

graphique qui montre la perte de superficie absolue pour chaque classe de taille
Perte de supeficie absolue (km2) entre 2000 et 2011 pour chaque classe de taille de glaciers dans les parcs nationaux des Glaciers et du Mont Revelstoke

© Parcs Canada / Rapport d’inventaire des glaciers de 2011

Mesure du bilan de masse

Le bilan de masse mesure la différence entre l’accumulation annuelle de glace et la fonte (ablation). Un bilan de masse négatif signifie le retrait du glacier, tandis qu’un bilan de masse positif indique sa croissance. Les bilans de masse hivernaux et estivaux du glacier Illecillewaet sont mesurés chaque année; la surveillance à long terme du bilan de masse a commencé en 2009, et les résultats sont rapportés par l’entremise de Ressources naturelles Canada et transmis au Service de surveillance mondial des glaciers (en anglais seulement).

Les tendances à long terme du bilan de masse des glaciers ont fait l’objet d’une étude dendroclimatologique : la dendroclimatologie utilise les anneaux de croissance des arbres anciens pour étudier les fluctuations à long terme du climat. Les changements d’épaisseur des anneaux de croissance ont été mis en corrélation avec les fluctuations du climat en remontant jusqu’en 1780. Les travaux de recherche menés par Lisa Wood et Dan Smith de l’Université de la Colombie Britannique ont été publiés en 2012 . Les résultats montrent que pendant la période de 250 ans qui a été étudiée, la diminution du bilan de masse la plus élevée dans la chaîne Columbia se produit depuis 30 ans.

Mesure du volume du glacier

Au cours des prochaines années, un géoradar sera utilisé afin de déterminer l’épaisseur du glacier Illecillewaet, ce qui produira une image numérique 3D du glacier.

L'image ci-dessous nous donne une idée de la diminution de l’épaisseur du glacier Illecillewaet depuis 1898.

image qui montre la diminution de l’épaisseur du glacier Illecillewaet Image qui montre la diminution de l’épaisseur du glacier Illecillewaet entre 1898 et 1899, et encore entre 1931 et 1937
© Dan McCarthy / Université Brock

Références