Glacier National Park

Art in the Park

Clouds Hugging Mountains by Leanne Spanza
Mount Fidelity by Leanne Spanza
© Leanne Spanza

Art in the Park is about creating that sense of place and sharing an emotional response to that place through art.
— Jackie Pendergast
Revelstoke Visual Arts Society and Art in the Park artist

Since 2008, the Art in the Park program based in Revelstoke B.C. provides visual artists with special access to explore one of Canada's national parks and then share the experience through art. Artwork is created to inspire an emotional connection and deeper understanding of Canada's national parks. Parks Canada has proudly partnered with the Revelstoke Visual Arts Society (RVAS) to present the Art in the Park program.

Artists are chosen through a rigorous selection process designed to encourage a balance of artistic mediums and experience. Participants work closely over a period of days sharing vision and techniques while creating unique pieces of art. The finished artwork is then shared with the public at various venues in the province and on-line.

Parks Canada's goal is to build a broader awareness among Canadians of Canada's national parks. By creating artwork from their experiences in the park, artists reveal meanings and relationships that complement the scientific and educational perspectives presented by park staff. Through artists' participation, Parks Canada hopes to expand the way the park is seen by local residents, staff, visitors and audiences beyond park boundaries.

2012 - 2014

Art in the Park is scheduled for Mount Revelstoke National Park.

2011 Program

2011 artists
Art in the Park 2011 artists at the Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre Gala event
© Parks Canada

The location is amazing... knowing that you are painting where no one else has painted.
— Glenn Clark
Glacier Art in the Park artist, 2011

For 2011, the Art in the Park program celebrated Glacier and Yoho national parks' 125th anniversaries. "We had an excellent response to the call for entry which made it difficult to select artists this year," said coordinator Jackie Pendergast of the Revelstoke Visual Arts Society, "There were 57 high-calibre applicants from across the province and it was very challenging to select only a few."

Successful artists spent several days in a remote setting in Glacier National Park in late July. An additional group of Art in the Park alumni artists from previous programs visited neighbouring Yoho National Park for several days in late August.

The artists spent time out-of-doors, taking in the incredible landscapes of these national parks. From the sub-alpine meadows on Glacier's Mount Fidelity to Yoho's thunderous Takkaka Falls, they engaged with the landscape, drafting sketches, taking notes and photos and sharing art techniques. When the week was over, they returned to their studios to complete their work. Here, artistic visions become reality and the final art exhibited at various venues (see schedule below).

While the program has regularly been based out of Glacier National Park, over the past few years former Art in the Park participants have explored other national parks including Pacific Rim and Yoho national parks with Mount Revelstoke and Waterton Lakes national parks being considered for future. Each national park offers new landscapes and opportunities for creative artistic expression.

2011-2012 Art Shows

  • The Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre – November 12 to December 3, 2011

  • The Art Gallery of Golden (partial exhibit) – Dec 9 to January 12, 2012

  • Field Visitor Centre (partial exhibit ) – Dec 9 to January 12, 2012

  • Toast to the Mountains event, Friends of Mount Revelstoke and Glacier, Revelstoke BC - January 20, 2012

  • Modern Bakeshop and Cafe, Revelstoke BC – March - May 2012

  • State of the ART show at the Telus World Ski & Snowboard Festival, Whistler BC – April 13-22, 2012

  • Rotary Centre for the Arts, Kelowna BC – October 2012

More information on the Art in the Park program and artists is available from the Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre.

More Art in the Park...

Parc national des Glaciers

L'art dans le parc

'Clouds Hugging Mountains' par Leanne Spanza
Mont Fidelity par Leanne Spanza
© Leanne Spanza

« Le programme L'art dans le parc aide les artistes à saisir l'essence d'un lieu et à exprimer par leur art ce qu'ils ressentent face à ce lieu. »
— Jackie Pendergast
Membre de la Revelstoke Visual Arts Society, et participante au programme L'art dans le parc

Depuis 2008, le programme L'art dans le parc, exécuté depuis Revelstoke, en Colombie-Britannique, offre aux artistes visuels un moyen privilégié d'explorer un parc national du Canada et de faire connaître leur expérience par l'art. Ces artistes créent des œuvres qui font naître un sentiment d'attachement et qui aident la population à mieux comprendre toute la valeur des parcs nationaux du pays. Parcs Canada est fière de compter l'organisme Revelstoke Visual Arts Society (RVAS) parmis ses partenaires dans la présentation de la programme L'art dans le parc.

Les artistes sont choisis à l'issue d'un processus de sélection rigoureux qui vise à créer un équilibre entre les moyens d'expression et l'expérience. Dans le cadre d'un travail de collaboration étroite qui dure plusieurs jours, les participants discutent de leur vision et de leurs techniques avant de s'atteler à la création d'œuvres d'art uniques. Les produits finis sont ensuite mis en exposition à divers endroits de la province et en ligne.

Parcs Canada cherche ainsi à mieux faire connaître les parcs nationaux à la population canadienne. En créant des œuvres d'art inspirées de leurs expériences dans un parc, les artistes révèlent des significations et des liens qui viennent compléter le contenu scientifique et éducatif que présente le personnel du parc. En conviant les artistes à cette aventure, Parcs Canada espère amener les résidents locaux, le personnel, les visiteurs et les publics éloignés à voir le parc sous de nouveaux angles.

2012 - 2014

Pour 2012-2014, L'art dans le parc sera prévu dans le Parc national du Mont-Revelstoke.

Programme pour 2011

Artistes ayant participé au programme L'art dans le parc en 2011
Artistes ayant participé au programme L'art dans le parc en 2011
© Parcs Canada

« L'endroit est magnifique… L'immense privilège de peindre dans un lieu où personne n'a encore jamais peint. »
— Glenn Clark
Artiste du programme L'art dans le parc, Parc national des Glaciers, 2011

En 2011, le programme L'art dans le parc était axé sur le 125e anniversaire du parc national Yoho et du parc national des Glaciers. « De nombreux artistes ont répondu à l'appel, et nous avons eu bien de la difficulté à faire notre sélection », a déclaré Jackie Pendergast, coordonnatrice du programme et membre de la Revelstoke Visual Arts Society. « Nous avons reçu 57 demandes d'artistes très talentueux des quatre coins de la province; il n'a pas été facile de n'en retenir que quelques-unes. »

Les artistes sélectionnés ont passé plusieurs jours dans un secteur reculé du parc national des Glaciers à la fin de juillet, tandis qu'un autre groupe d'artistes des éditions antérieures du programme ont séjourné dans une aire protégée voisine, le parc national Yoho, pendant plusieurs jours à la fin d'août.

Les artistes ont passé du temps à l'extérieur pour s'imprégner des panoramas spectaculaires des deux parcs. Depuis les prés subalpins du mont Fidelity, dans le parc national des Glaciers, jusqu'aux bruyantes chutes Takakkaw, dans le parc national Yoho, ils ont pris le temps de saisir l'essence du paysage, par des croquis, des notes, des photos et des discussions sur leurs techniques artistiques. À la fin de la période d'exploration, ils ont regagné leur studio pour achever leur travail. C'est à cette étape que les visions artistiques ont pris forme. Les œuvres créées ont été exposées à divers endroits (voir le calendrier ci-dessous).

Le programme L'art dans le parc est régulièrement exécuté dans le parc national des Glaciers, mais, ces dernières années, certains participants ont eu l'occasion d'explorer d'autres parcs nationaux, dont la réserve de parc Pacific Rim et le parc Yoho. Parcs Canada envisage d'intégrer les parcs nationaux du Mont Revelstoke et des Lacs Waterton au programme dans l'avenir. Chaque aire protégée offre de nouveaux paysages et de nouvelles possibilités de création et d'expression artistique.

Expositions d'art 2011-2012

  • Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre – du 12 novembre au 3 décembre 201

  • The Art Gallery of Golden (exposition partielle) – du 9 décembre 2011 au 12 janvier 2012

  • Centre d'accueil de Field (exposition partielle) – du 9 décembre 2011 au 12 janvier 2012

  • Réception Toast to the Mountains, organisée par les Amis des parcs nationaux du Mont-Revelstoke et des Glaciers, Revelstoke (C.-B.) – Le 20 janvier 2012

  • Modern Bakeshop and Cafe, Revelstoke (C.-B.) – de mars à mai 2012

  • Le show « State of the Art » au Festival international de ski et de snowboard Telus, Whistler (C.-B.) – du 13 au 22 avril 2012

  • Le Centre Rotary pour les arts, Kelowna (C.-B.) – octobre 2012

Pour en savoir davantage sur le programme L'art dans le parc et sur les artistes participants, prière de consulter le site Web de Revelstoke Visual Arts Centre (en anglais seulement).

Plus de L'Art dans le parc...