Common menu bar links

Glacier National Park

Mountaineering and Climbing

Mountaineer on Mount Sir Donald Mountaineer on Mount Sir Donald
© Joey Vosburgh
The American Alpine Club Climber's Guide to the Columbia Mountains of Canada Central (1992) states, "This famed district is one of the the great classic areas of North American alpinism. It offers fine climbs on rock, snow, and ice at all standards of difficulty, with a great deal, in particular, for the intermediate mountaineer." (p.213)

Peaks of the Hermit Range, the Bonney and Bostock Groups, the Van Horne Range, Purity Range, Dawson Range, and the especially challenging Sir Donald Range all lie wholly or in part within Glacier National Park. Parks Canada provides a Climber's Descent Guide to Mount Sir Donald.

Glacier National Park is the acknowledged birthplace of mountaineering in North America. In 1888, two British mountaineers, Rev. William Spotswood Green and Rev. Henry Swanzy, completed the first recreational technical climbs in the Selkirks. Eleven years later, the services of Swiss guides were provided for guests at the Glacier House hotel in Rogers Pass. Those guides created the network of trails, providing access to local peaks, that has remained to this day.

Mountaineers on Mount Tupper's West Ridge Mountaineers on Mount Tupper's West Ridge
© Parks Canada / Jordy Shepherd
Prior to the completion of the Trans-Canada Highway through Rogers Pass in 1962, climbers accessed Glacier National Park by train. Tied to the railway as it was, mountaineering became an integral part of the history of the park, and continues to be a major attraction for backcountry recreationists, whose numbers have quadrupled in the past ten years.

Climbing requires special skills and equipment. For additional advice on routes, conditions and applicable fees, contact the Rogers Pass Discovery Centre. Voluntary registration services also are available at the Centre.

See also:

Trail Conditions Report

Download the Hiking in Glacier National Park brochure (PDF, 4 MB)

Download the Climber's Descent Guide to Mount Sir Donald (PDF, 2 MB)

Backcountry Camping

Day hikes


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parc national des Glaciers

Alpinisme

Alpiniste sur Mont Sir Donald Alpiniste sur Mont Sir Donald
© Joey Vosburgh
Selon le guide de l'alpiniste dans la Chaîne Columbia du centre du Canada (1992), publié par l'Américain Alpine Club : "Ce district a la réputation d'être l'une des meilleures régions pour pratiquer l'alpinisme en Amérique du Nord. Il offre divers niveaux de difficulté d'escalade de rochers, des sections enneigées et glacées, mais surtout énormément de choix pour l'alpiniste de niveau intermédiaire" (p. 213).

Les pics du chaînon Hermit, les groupes Bostock et Bonney, les chaînons Van Horne, Purity et Dawson, ainsi que le redoutable chaînon Sir Donald sont situés entièrement ou partiellement dans le parc national des Glaciers. Il y a un Guide de l'alpinist pour la  Descente du mont Sir Donald (PDF, 4 Mo)

Le parc national des Glaciers est le lieu de naissance reconnu de l'alpinisme en Amérique du Nord. En 1888, deux alpinistes britanniques, les rév. William Spotswood Green et Henry Swanzy, ont effectué les premières ascensions techniques récréatives dans la chaîne Selkirk. Onze ans plus tard, les clients de l'hôtel Glacier House, au col Rogers, ont pu bénéficier des services de guides suisses. Ces derniers ont créé le réseau de sentiers - permettant d'accéder aux pics de l'endroit - qui subsiste encore de nos jours.

Alpinistes sur l'arête de l'ouest, Mont Tupper Alpinistes sur l'arête de l'ouest, Mont Tupper
© Parcs Canada / Jordy Shepherd
Avant que la Transcanadienne franchisse le col Rogers en 1962, les alpinistes se rendaient par train au parc national des Glaciers. Lié comme il l'était au chemin de fer, lalpinisme est devenu un élément intégrant de l'histoire du parc et continue d'être une attraction dun grand intérêt pour les amateurs de la nature dans l'arrière-pays, dont le nombre a quadruplé au cours des dix dernières années.

L'alpinisme exige du savoir-faire et du matériel spécial. Pour obtenir des conseils supplémentaires sur ces dernières, les conditions et les droits applicables, appelez au Centre du Col-Rogers. Il est également possible d'obtenir au Centre du Col-Rogers des services d'inscription volontaire. 

Rapport sur l'état des sentiers

Guide de l'alpinist - Descente du mont Sir Donald (PDF, 4 Mo)

Brochure: La randonnée dans le parc national des Glaciers (PDF, 3.8 Mo)

Camping dans l'arrière-pays

Randonnée d'un jour


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).