Images From Waterton's Remote Cameras

Champion Winter Survivors

A deer in the snow Surviving winter in Waterton can be challenging
© Parks Canada

Surviving the long, cold winters in Waterton can be a world-class challenge. In the spirit of the 2014 Winter Olympics, we thought we would spotlight some of the champion winter survivors amongst our wildlife inhabitants:

Champion Migrators  

Some animals avoid the winter challenges altogether by heading for warmer climes. This includes many bird species, but also many of our bats. This may sound like taking the easy way out, but some species travel distances that would impress any Olympian!

A sandhill crane The sandhill crane is a tourist in Waterton
© Parks Canada
Bats Bats
© Parks Canada
Champion Adaptors

Many animals remain in Waterton and are active throughout the winter. These animals adapt to the changing weather, undergoing morphological, physiological and behavioural changes to survive. To keep warm, many animals grow thicker winter coats or pelage. In some species, the new fur is white, also providing camouflage in the snow (e.g. weasels and snowshoe hare). Because food can be scarce in the winter, some animals cache food during the summer and fall to help get them through the winter (e.g. squirrels, mice, pikas and beavers). Because of scarcity, many animals must change their diet as the seasons change. For example, during the spring, summer and fall the red fox supplements its diet with fruit and insects, but during the winter it must survive on small mammals.

A red fox During winter a red fox must survive on a diet of small mammals
© Parks Canada
Snowshoe hare Can you spot the snowshoe hare?
© Parks Canada
Champion Snowshoers

Some species are physically well equipped for winter survival. Lynx, snowshoe hare and wolverine have large feet that act like snowshoes. This allows them to travel much more easily in deep snow, allowing them to access resources out of reach for other species.

A wolverine The wolverine is an enduring symbol of deep wilderness
© Parks Canada
A lynx Lynx easily tolerate extreme cold and deep snows
© Parks Canada
Champion Sleepers

Another winter survival strategy is dormancy (hibernation and torpor). In these animals, the body temperature drops and both heartbeat and breathing slow down. Through a controlled reduction in body metabolism they survive the winter by conserving energy.

A grizzly bear A grizzly bear is met by a blizzard after emerging from hibernation
© Parks Canada
A Columbian ground squirrel Columbian ground squirrels hibernate for up to seven months
© Parks Canada

Images provenant d'appareils-photos avec détecteur de mouvement à Waterton

Champions de la faune qui survivent aux éléments

Un cerf dans la neige À Waterton, ce n’est pas toujours facile de survivre à l’hiver
© Parcs Canada

À Waterton, survivre au froid des longs hivers peut constituer un défi de calibre mondial. Dans la lancée des Jeux olympiques de cet hiver, nous avons cru bon mettre en vedette certains de nos champions de la faune qui survivent aux éléments.

Nos champions en migration

Certaines espèces s’échappent des rigueurs de l’hiver en visant des climats plus chauds. Cela comprend plusieurs espèces d’oiseaux, mais aussi un grand nombre de nos chauves-souris. Même si cela semble trop facile, il est important de savoir que certaines espèces parcourent des distances qui impressionneraient n’importe quel olympien!

La grue du Canada La grue du Canada est un touriste à Waterton
© Parcs Canada
Les Chauves-souris Les Chauves-souris
© Parcs Canada
Nos champions en adaptation

De nombreux animaux restent à Waterton et mènent une vie active pendant tout l’hiver. Ces animaux s’adaptent aux fluctuations météorologiques et ce faisant, subissent des changements morphologiques, physiologiques et comportementaux pour survivre. Pour se garder au chaud, de nombreuses espèces se développent des poils d’hiver ou un pelage hivernal. Chez certaines espèces, la nouvelle fourrure est blanche, ce qui leur procure également du camouflage dans la neige (comme la belette et le lièvre d’Amérique). Étant donné que la nourriture se fait rare l’hiver, certains animaux cachent de la nourriture pendant l’été et l’automne pour mieux passer l’hiver (comme les écureuils, les souris, les picas et les castors). La pénurie de nourriture oblige de nombreux animaux à modifier leur alimentation au fil des saisons. Par exemple, le printemps, l’été et l’automne, le renard roux mange des fruits et des insectes, mais l’hiver, il doit se nourrir de petits mammifères pour survivre.

Le renard roux L’hiver, le renard roux se nourrit de petits mammifères pour survivre
© Parcs Canada
Le lièvre Voyez-vous le lièvre?
© Parcs Canada
Nos champions en raquette

Physiquement, certaines espèces sont bien équipées pour survivre à l’hiver. Le lynx, le lièvre d’Amérique et le carcajou sont dotés de gros pieds qui font office de raquettes. Cela leur permet de se déplacer beaucoup plus facilement dans la neige épaisse et d’avoir accès à des ressources qui sont hors de la portée des autres espèces.

Le carcajou Depuis longtemps, le carcajou constitue un symbole de nature sauvage
© Parcs Canada
Le lynx Le lynx peut facilement tolérer des températures extrêmement froides
© Parcs Canada
Nos champions du sommeil

Une autre stratégie qui permet de survivre à l’hiver prend la forme de la dormance (l’hibernation ou la léthargie). Ces animaux perdent de leur chaleur animale, puis leur rythme cardiaque et leur respiration ralentissent. Grâce à la réduction régularisée du métabolisme du corps, ils survivent à l’hiver en conservant leur énergie.

Ours grizzli La tempête fait rage pendant qu’un grizzli sort de son hibernation
© Parcs Canada
Le spermophile du Columbia L’hibernation du spermophile du Columbia peut durer jusqu’à sept mois
© Parcs Canada