Common menu bar links

Park news

Note: Closures and restrictions may happen at any time, in any location and without prior notice. See the Important Bulletins page for a current listing.

Contract awarded for new Waterton Lakes National Park Visitor Centre

August, 2016 

Parks Canada is announcing that, following a competitive process, a contract has been awarded to FWBA Architects for the design of the new Waterton Lakes National Park Visitor Centre, located at Block 39 within the townsite. FWBA Architects, a Lethbridge architecture firm, will be the primary consultant for the architectural design of this project.

The design options will present the look and function of the building, both inside and out, and its relationship to the adjacent areas and the townsite, in addition to how the visitor centre will be integrated into broader parking and way-finding projects for the community.

Parks Canada thanks all those who attended the recent public engagement session on the new visitor centre to present information and share a range of views on the new location. Parks Canada will be moving forward with the new facility in the townsite because it meets the evolving needs of visitors and the community. The decision to locate the visitor centre within the community of Waterton is founded in the Waterton Community Plan and the Waterton Lakes National Park Management Plan. This location will allow Parks Canada to achieve key management plan and community plan objectives, and provide a better level of service and enhanced experiences to all visitors.

Parks Canada is committed to working collaboratively with all interested Canadians in the planning of this essential facility to welcome visitors. Opportunities for public input on the design of the new visitor centre will be provided as the project moves forward. Additional details about the project and future public engagement will be forthcoming.

For more information, visit New Waterton Lakes National Park Visitor Centre

Nouvelles du parc

Note : Les fermetures et les restrictions peuvent survenir à tout moment, à n’importe quel endroit et sans préavis. Consultez la page des Bulletins importants pour obtenir une liste à jour.

Octroi du contrat de conception du nouveau Centre d’accueil des visiteurs du parc national des Lacs Waterton

Août 2016

L’Agence Parcs Canada, à la suite d’un processus concurrentiel, a octroyé un contrat à FWBA Architects en vue de la conception du nouveau Centre d’accueil des visiteurs du parc national des Lacs-Waterton situé au bloc 39, dans le village. FWBA Architects agira à titre d’expert-conseil principal pour la conception de ce projet.

Les options de conception mettront l’accent sur l’apparence et la fonction du bâtiment, interne et externe, et sur les liens qui existent avec les aires adjacentes et le village, y compris la manière dont le centre d’accueil sera intégré aux projets de stationnement et aux consignes d'orientation de la localité.

Parcs Canada remercie toutes les personnes qui ont participé aux récentes séances publiques de discussion portant sur le nouveau centre d’accueil et qui ont soumis des informations et partagé leur opinion concernant le nouvel emplacement. Parcs Canada ira de l’avant avec la décision de placer le centre d’accueil dans le village, car cela répond aux besoins changeants des visiteurs et de la collectivité. La décision consistant à placer le centre d’accueil dans le village de Waterton est fondée sur le Plan communautaire de Waterton et le Plan directeur du parc national des Lacs-Waterton. Cet emplacement permettra à Parcs Canada d’atteindre les principaux objectifs du plan directeur et du plan communautaire, en plus de fournir de meilleurs services et une expérience améliorée aux visiteurs.

Parcs Canada s’engage à travailler en collaboration avec tous les Canadiens intéressés par la planification de cette installation essentielle à l’accueil des visiteurs. Lorsque le projet ira de l’avant, le public aura la possibilité de donner son avis en matière de conception du projet. D’autres détails sur le projet et sur la façon dont les gens peuvent y contribuer seront annoncés plus tard.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, rendez-vous à nouveau Centre d’accueil des visiteurs du parc national des Lacs Waterton