Waterton Lakes National Park

Waterton History

  • On May 30, 1895, a 140 sq. km (54 sq. miles) area was protected by the federal government as a Dominion Forest Park. Its status, boundary and name have varied over the years, and it is now known as Waterton Lakes National Park of Canada. Waterton was Canada's 4th national park and is the smallest in the Canadian Rockies 505 sq.km (195 sq. miles).
    Kootenai Brown Kootenai Brown © Parks Canada
  • The first major step toward preservation of Waterton was taken by a Pincher Creek rancher, F.W. Godsal, who sent a proposal to Ottawa in 1893 recommending that the Waterton Lakes area be set aside as a protected area.
  • The park's name derives from the Waterton Lakes. This chain of lakes, named by Lieutenant Blakiston (a member of the Palliser Expedition), honours a British naturalist, Squire Charles Waterton (1782-1865).
  • John George Kootenai Brown was the first settler in the park area, the first game guardian and fisheries inspector, and became the first park superintendent in 1911.
  • In 1902, the first oil strike occurs, producing a flow of 300 barrels/day of high grade oil at "Original Discovery No.1" well site in Cameron Valley. In 1904, the Western Coal and Oil Company from Vancouver drills for oil near Cameron Falls, striking a flow of one barrel/day. They were responsible for the first settlement in the present village of Waterton Park, constructing a cookhouse, bunkhouse, blacksmith shop, office, stable and engine room.
  • In 1910, the first town lots were surveyed in the village. One hundred and fifty lots were offered for leaseholds at $15/annum rental for waterfront lots and $10/annum for back lots. The Hazzard Hotel (site of the present Bayshore Inn) and livery stable were two of the first town businesses.
    First Oil Well in Western Canada National Historic Site First Oil Well in Western Canada, circa 1902 © Glenbow NA-1585-3
  • In 1927 the Prince of Wales Hotel was opened and bus service to Glacier National Park (USA) began. The same year, a 250-passenger launch, the "M.V. International", is built and a year later begins operating on the upper lake. Visitors can still experience a boat tour of the Upper Waterton Lake on this historic vessel.
  • By 1931 the townsite had most modern facilities of the day, including a garage, golf course, tennis courts, campgrounds, post office, hotels, dance hall, a drugstore, 2 butcher shops, 5 restaurants, 2 churches, RCMP barracks, swimming pool, school, playground, telephone service and many summer cottages.
  • In 1932, the Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park was created to commemorate the peace, goodwill and cooperation between Canada and the U.S.A. The Peace Park is now both a symbol and a working example of positive cooperation in heritage management across boundaries.
  • In 1979, Waterton became Canada's second biosphere reserve and the first Canadian national park to take part in this UNESCO program. Biosphere Reserves are created to achieve a better understanding of the relationship between humans and the natural environment. Major goals are to support information exchange, research, education, training and improved land management; largely through cooperation and shared projects with local private landowners and other government agencies.
    Prince of Wales Hotel construction Prince of Wales Hotel construction, circa 1926 © Parks Canada
  • In 1995, the Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park was designated as a world heritage site.
  • The park has two National Historic Sites located within its boundaries: the First Oil Well in Western Canada NHS (designated in 1968) and the Prince of Wales Hotel NHS (designated in 1995).
  • The Prince of Wales Hotel opened its doors in Waterton Lakes National Park on July 25, 1927. The hotel stands isolated on a bluff overlooking a spectacular vista of mountains, lakes, town and prairie. Its striking design and dramatic setting make it Waterton's most recognized landmark.
  • In 1910, James Hill, president of the Great Northern Railway of the United States had a vision. He wanted to make Glacier and Waterton Lakes National Parks "the playground of the Northwest." With help from his son Louis, he designed and built a chain of hotels, camps, chalets, several boats, roads and trails to attract tourists to the area. To reach the parks they would ride the Great Northern. Louis Hill first visited Waterton in 1913 and selected the knoll overlooking the townsite and Upper Waterton Lake as the spot for the new hotel. The park's administration granted the newly formed Canadian Rockies Hotel Co. Ltd. a 42-year lease on February 1, 1926.
  • Early amping in Waterton Early camping in Waterton
    © Parks Canada
    Constructed in 1926-27, the hotel became the sole Canadian link in this U.S. chain of resort hotels. Its soaring roofs, gables and balconies convey the appearance of a giant alpine chalet and enclose a magnificent timber-framed interior that continues to evoke the rustic atmosphere of mountain lodges built in that period.
  • Beginning in 1927, after arriving by train at either East or West Glacier, Montana, travellers began an exciting vacation using a variety of hotels, lodges and tent camps. They ended their trip with a ride aboard the MV International on Upper Waterton Lake from Goat Haunt, USA to Waterton Lakes National Park of Canada. They would spend an evening at the Prince of Wales Hotel before bussing back to Glacier National Park. This was one of many routes through the park supplied by the Great Northern, which were designed for the "affluent tourist," as one week's travel and accommodation could cost more than $1000-an enormous sum in the 1920s and 1930s.
  • Today, the Prince of Wales Hotel is a grand survivor from the golden age of railway resort development in Canada and the United States.

Parc national des Lacs-Waterton

L'histoire de Waterton

  • Le 30 mai, 1895, le governement fédéral désignait parc forestier du Dominion une aire de 140 km2. Après une série de changements de statut, de périmètre et de nom, ce territoire est devenu le parc national du Canada des Lacs-Waterton. Il s'agit du quatrième parc national du pays et il est le plus petit des Rocheuses canadiennes : 505 km2 (195 miles2).
  • C'est un éleveur de Pincher Creek, F.W. Godsal, qui a fait les premiers pas en vue de la préservation de Waterton. En 1893, il soumet une proposition à Ottawa pour recommander que la région des lacs Waterton soit constituée en aime protégéé.
    Kootenai Brown Kootenai Brown © Parcs Canada
  • Le parc doit son nom aux lacs Waterton, châine de bassins d'eau qui ont été baptisés par le lieutenant Blakiston, membre de l'expédition Palliser, en l'honneur d'un naturaliste et gentilhomme britannique, Charles Waterton (1782-1865).
  • John George Kootenai Brown etait le premier colon de la région du parc, le premier garde-chasse et l'agent des pêches, et le premier directeur du parc en 1911.
  • En 1902, le premier gisement est découvert, produisant 300 barils par jour de pétrole de haute qualité, au chantier baptisé Original Discovery No. 1, dans la vallée Cameron. En 1904, la Western Coal and Oil Company de Vancouver creuse près des chutes Cameron et trouve un gisement qui donne un baril par jour. Elle est responsable de l'arrivée des premiers habitants de la ville actuelle de Waterton, où elle construit une cuisine de chantier, une baraque, une forge, des bureaux administratifs, une étable et une salle des machines.
  • On arpente les premières parcelles dans le village en 1910 et on offre 150 lots en tenure à bail. Le loyer est de 15 $ par année au bord de l'eau et 10 $ par année ailleurs. Le Hazzard Hotel (emplacement du Bayshore Inn actuel) et l'écurie de louage sont deux des premiers commerces de la petite ville.
    Premier Puits de Pétrole de l'Ouest Canadien Premier Puits de Pétrole de l'Ouest Canadien © Glenbow NA-1585-3
  • En 1927, on ouvre l'hôtel Prince of Wales et on commence le service de transport par autobus vers le parc national Glacier (É-U). La même année, on construit un bateau pouvant accueillir 250 passagers, le M.V. International, qui commence, un an plus tard, à circuler sur le lac Upper Waterton. Les visiteurs peuvent encore faire un tour sur le lac Waterton Supérieur sur ce navire historiquel.
  • En 1931, le lotissement urbain possède la plupart des installations modernes de l'époque, notamment un garage, un terrain de golf, un terrain de tennis, un terrain de camping, un bureau de poste, des hôtels, une salle de danse, une pharmacie, deux boucheries, cinq restaurants, deux églises, un poste de la GRC, une piscine, une école, un terrain de jeux, service téléphonique et plusieurs chalets d'été.
  • Le parc international de la paix Waterton-Glacier est créé en 1932 pour commémorer la paix, la bonne volonté et la coopération entre le Canada et les É.-U. Le parc est maintenant à la fois un symbole et un exemple concret de la collaboration positive sur le plan de la gestion du patrimoine au-delà des frontières.
  • En 1979, Waterton devenait la deuxième réserve de la biosphère du Canada et le premier parc national canadien à participer à ce programme de l'UNESCO. Les réserves de la biosphère sont créées pour aider les gens à mieux comprendre les rapports qui unissent l'être humain au milieu naturel. Ses principaux objectifs sont les suivants : appuyer l'échange d'information, la recherche, l'éducation, la formation et la gestion améliorée des terres, principalement par la coopération et le lancement de projets communs avec des propriétaires fonciers privés de la région et des autres organismes gouvernementaux. Waterton Biosphere Reserve (anglais seulement).
    L’hôtel Prince of Wales L’hôtel Prince of Wales
    © Parcs Canada
  • En 1995, le parc international de la paix Waterton-Glacier a été classé site du patrimone mondial.
  • Le parc possède deux lieux historiques nationaux : le lieu historique national du Premier-Puits-de-Pétrole-de-l'Ouest-Canadien (désigné en 1965) et le lieu historique national Prince of Wales Hotel (désigné en 1995).
  • L'hôtel Prince of Wales ouvre ses portes dans le parc national des Lacs-Waterton en 25 juillet 1927. Juché sur une falaise, il offre une vue imprenable sur les montagnes, les lacs, la ville et les prairies. Son style particulier et son emplacement exceptionnel en font le symbole visuel le mieux connu de Waterton.
  • En 1910, le président de la Great Northern Railway of the United States, James Hill, a une vision : faire des parcs nationaux des Lacs-Waterton et Glacier le « terrain de jeu du Nord-Ouest ». Aidé de son fils Louis, il conçoit et construit une chaîne d'hôtels, des camps, des chalets, des embarcations, des routes et des sentiers destinés à attirer les touristes dans la région. Pour se rendre dans ces parcs, ceux-ci doivent emprunter la Great Northern . Louis Hill visite Waterton pour la première fois en 1913 et choisit le promontoire qui domine la ville et le lac Upper Waterton pour y bâtir le nouvel hôtel. Le 1er février 1926, la toute nouvelle Canadian Rockies Hotel Co. Ltd . obtient un bail de 42 ans de l'administration du parc.
  • Construit en 1926-1927, l'hôtel sera le seul maillon canadien de cette chaîne américaine d'hôtels de villégiature. Ses toits pentus, ses pignons et ses balcons lui donnent l'air d'un immense chalet alpin et son magnifique intérieur en bois évoque encore l'atmosphère rustique des chalets montagnards de l'époque.
    Camping à Waterton Camping à Waterton © Parcs Canada
  • À partir de 1927, après être arrivés par train à East ou à West Glacier, au Montana, les voyageurs entament des vacances excitantes dans des hôtels, des chalets et sous la tente. À la fin du voyage, ils prennent place à bord du MV International sur le lac Upper Waterton, pour aller de Goat Haunt, aux États-Unis, jusqu'au parc national des Lacs-Waterton, au Canada. Ils passent la soirée à l'hôtel Prince of Wales avant de retourner au parc national Glacier en autocar. C'est là un des nombreux itinéraires offerts dans le parc par la Great Northern aux visiteurs " bien nantis " : en effet, une semaine de vacances - déplacements et repas inclus - peut coûter plus de mille dollars, une fortune dans les années 1920 et 1930.
  • Situé dans le parc national du Canada des Lacs-Waterton, l'hôtel Prince of Wales est un des grands survivants de l'âge d'or des établissements de villégiature associés au développement du réseau ferroviaire au Canada et aux États-Unis.