Waterton Lakes National Park

Fire, Flood and Avalanche [Natural Landscape Processes]

Natural processes greatly influence Waterton and the greater Crown of the Continent ecosystem . They shape the land and, although they appear destructive, they are important for renewing and producing variety in the park's living landscapes. In Waterton, the three most critical natural processes are fire, flood and avalanches.

A view of the Sofa Mountain Fire Sofa Mountain Fire
© Parks Canada

Fire is as important as water, sun and wind. Fires don't just destroy; they create. When fire moves through a forest or over grasslands, many important things happen.

Dead plant material which has accumulated is burned, and nutrients tied up in that material are recycled for new growth. This regrowth provides new sources of food and shelter to wildlife. Fire also creates a mosaic of plant communities that provides a greater variety of habitats for animals.

Fires also eat up dangerous buildups of fuel in forests and grasslands created by dead wood, branches and other debris. This reduces the risk of more intense, difficult to control fires which may threaten people and property.

In the past, fires were totally suppressed, and their benefits lost. One way of reintroducing fire to the landscape is by prescribed burning. Small experimental prescribed fires have been lit, under very strict conditions, on various grassland areas in the park since 1989.

High waters on the mainstreet of Waterton park during the 1995 flood 1995 Flood in Waterton
© Parks Canada

They lessen the intensity of wildfires by reducing the amount of dead grass and trees in a given area. They also create a mosaic of habitat types, opening up areas and creating habitat preferred by edge dwelling animals such as Lewis Woodpeckers and Northern Toads. In the spring of 2006 Waterton's largest prescribed fire to date occurred on the grasslands beside the Entrance and Red Rock Parkways.

The Sofa Mountain Fire (1998) was the last major wildfire in the park. It has provided an invaluable opportunity to study the ongoing affects of a large-scale natural fire.

Floods are important natural processes that contribute to building and shaping the landscape. For example, the alluvial fans created by Blakiston and Cameron creeks grow and are replenished with nutrients following both small and large floods. Over the last century, large floods have occurred in 1908, 1923, 1937, 1953, 1964, 1975 and 1995.

Photo of an avalanche slide path Avalanche © Parks Canada

The Cameron fan has provided a prime lakeside location for the townsite. Although floods benefit natural habitats, they can be destructive to human habitats.

Parks Canada has tried to reduce the threat of floods to the townsite by straightening and reinforcing the banks of Cameron Creek where it flows through town. In contrast, floods are not inhibited from doing their natural ecosystem renovations on the Blakistan fan, which provides important habitat for ungulates.

The story of the alluvial fans of Blakiston and Cameron creeks touches on a number of park management and ecological issues. Check out this Tale of Two Fans.

Avalanches too are mainly considered destructive. While avalanches can, in a matter of seconds, hurtle down a mountainside, breaking large trees, releasing massive rocks and damming streams, they also clear the way for new vegetative growth and create prime habitat for grizzlies and other wildlife.

Dictionary | Table of Contents

Parc national des Lacs-Waterton

Incendies, inondations et avalanches [Processus naturels de formation du paysage]

Les processus naturels influent énormément sur l'écosystème du parc Waterton et sur celui, plus vaste, du Crown of the Continent. Ils modèlent le paysage et, malgré leur caractère apparemment destructeur, jouent un rôle important dans le renouvellement et la variété des paysages du parc. À Waterton, les trois phénomènes naturels les plus critiques sont les incendies, les inondations et les avalanches.

Vue de l'incendie du mont Sofa L'incendie sur la montagne Sofa © Parcs Canada

Les incendies sont aussi importants que l'eau, le soleil et le vent. En effet, ils ne font pas que détruire, ils créent également. Lorsqu'un incendie se déplace dans une forêt ou une prairie, de nombreux phénomènes importants se produisent.

Les matières végétales mortes qui s'y sont accumulées sont brûlées, et les éléments nutritifs liés dans ces matières sont recyclés en vue d'une nouvelle croissance.

Cette régénération fournit de nouvelles sources d'aliments et de nouveaux abris aux espèces sauvages. Le feu crée aussi une mosaïque de communautés végétales qui offre aux animaux un plus grand choix d'habitats.

Le feu détruit en outre les concentrations dangereuses de combustibles que constituent le bois, les branches mortes et les autres débris qui s'accumulent dans les forêts et les prairies, ce qui réduit les risques d'incendies plus intenses et plus difficiles à maîtriser qui pourraient mettre en danger les gens et les biens.

La rue principale de Waterton lors de l'inondation de 1995 Le grande inondation en 1995
© Parcs Canada

Autrefois, on éteignait complètement les incendies et on en perdait ainsi les retombées positives. Les brûlages dirigés sont une façon de réintroduire le feu dans le paysage. On allume de petits feux dirigés dans des conditions très strictes et dans diverses parties de la prairie dans le parc depuis 1989.

Ces feux réduisent l'intensité des feux irréprimés en diminuant la quantité des herbes et des arbres morts dans une zone donnée. Ils créent également une mosaïque de types d'habitat et un habitat que préfèrent les animaux qui vivent en bordure comme le pic de Lewis et le crapaud du Nord. Au printemps 2006, le plus grand brûlage dirigé de Waterton a eu lieu dans la prairie à côté de la route de l'entrée et de la promenade Red Rock.

Dernier feu irréprimé dans parc, l'incendie du mont Sofa (1998) a permis de recueillir d'inestimables informations sur les effets permanents des gros incendies naturels.

Les inondations sont d'importants phénomènes naturels qui contribuent à former et à modeler le paysage. Par exemple, après chaque inondation, petite ou grande, les cônes alluviaux créés par les ruisseaux Blakiston et Cameron grandissent et refont le plein d'éléments nutritifs. Les grandes inondations du siècle dernier siècle ont eu lieu en 1908, 1923, 1937, 1953, 1964, 1975 et 1995.

Photo d'une avalanche après avoir dévalé d'un montagne Avalanche © Parcs Canada

Le cône alluvial du ruisseau Cameron constituait un emplacement idéal pour le lotissement urbain au bord du lac. Mais, bien qu'elles profitent aux habitats naturels, les inondations peuvent s'avérer destructrices pour les habitats humains.

Parcs Canada s'efforce donc de réduire les risques d'inondation dans le lotissement urbain en redressant et en renforçant les berges du ruisseau Cameron à l'endroit où il s'écoule dans le village. Par contre, il n'empêche pas les inondations de procéder à la régénération naturelle des écosystèmes naturels sur le cône du ruisseau Blakiston, un important habitat pour les ongulés.

L'histoire des cônes alluviaux des ruisseaux Blakiston et Cameron soulève plusieurs enjeux administratifs et écologiques dans le parc. On lira à ce sujet la Le Récit de Deux Cônes.

Les avalanches aussi sont habituellement considérées comme des phénomènes destructeurs. En dévalant les montagnes, elles peuvent effectivement, en quelques secondes, briser de gros arbres, déplacer d'énormes pierres et boucher les cours d'eau, mais d'un autre côté elles préparent aussi le terrain pour de nouvelles poussées végétales et créent un habitat de qualité pour les grizzlis et d'autres espèces sauvages.

Dictionnaire | Table des matières