Common menu bar links

Park Interpretation

Interpretive Theatre Programs, Guided Hikes & Activities

How long are you staying in Waterton Lakes National Park? A few hours? A whole day? How about overnight or a couple of days? Parks Canada's team of interpreters offer a variety of visitor programs during July and August. Theatre programs, guided hikes and family activities - they are all free with your park entrance fee. Check the schedule below for days, times and locations of the programs.

What is Interpretation?

Freeman Tilden, the "grand-daddy" of interpretation, said, "The chief aim of interpretation is not instruction, but provocation."

So what does that mean?

Whether you're on a guided walk or at an evening theatre program, interpretation should engage you. And all interpretation programs contain information, so if you want to learn something, great! But the best interpretation not only entertains and teaches, it ultimately provokes thought ... gives you something to chew on ... so you can decide what you think. That's Interpretation.

Happy chewing - your Waterton interpretive team!

Tips From Our Team

Waterton Lakes National Park interpreters 2014
2014 interpreters (left to right): Ashley, Ardelle, Sharon, David, Kayla, Rachelle. © Parks Canada
Ashley

Ashley 
Waterton has something for everyone! Looking for an evening activity with your family or friends - the park interpreters have prepared delightful programs that are sure to entertain, from butterflies to bears, felines to fire, wolves to wildflowers, grasslands to mountains. During the day, discover Waterton’s secrets through a guided hike, or "Be a Butterfly Superhero" and help park staff protect a species at risk. If you want cultural experience, listen to Blackfoot storytellers on Monday evening, or take the kids to the Blackfoot Crafts and Stories program!

Ardelle Ardelle
One of my favourite trails in Waterton is Lineham. It's a steady climb through a wide range of habitats, and a great opportunity to spot wildlife. Near the beginning is a pine forest, which yields to open, grassy slopes. Look up to see views of Lineham and Alderson Peak! The trail continues its steady climb through spruce and alpine fir forest, eventually rewarding your efforts as it emerges into Lineham Basin. Discover a view of a 250m high waterfall spilling down a sheer cliff face from a hanging valley! Mount Blakiston, the highest peak in Waterton, towers above to the north, and Lineham Peak (an easy summit when hiking from the Rowe Lakes side) forms the southern wall of the basin. It’s a gem within the park!
David David
Haven’t much time? Don’t forget the Linnet Lake trail, only a kilometre long, looping around Linnet Lake in a hollow beside the Entrance Parkway. Even in that short distance you can get a taste of the essential flavour of Waterton Lakes National Park: prairie grasses, aspen parkland, a view of the mountains beyond. Easy walking, paved and nearly level (can’t say that about many of our trails!), the Linnet Lake trail is wheelchair accessible. And - bonus - this little gem is usually well sheltered from Waterton’s famous winds. Enjoy!
Sharon Sharon
Hike up high and enjoy the magnificent views Waterton has to offer. You can find great lookouts at the top of Bear's Hump trail, along the ridge on the Carthew-Alderson trail, or even from your car on the Akamina Parkway. If you’re feeling prepared and energetic, then get yourself to the top of a peak in Waterton. Just ask at the Visitor Center for some advice on the best trails to get you there and back safely.
Rachelle Rachelle
Take time to smell the flowers! Waterton is home to many stunning and rare wildflowers. In the spring, grab your camera and head out to the prairies to find some beautiful blossoms, easily accessible from the Red Rock Parkway. As the season progresses you can find flowers blooming at higher elevations, so be sure to stroll around Cameron Lake. For the adventurous budding botanist, take a walk up the Bertha Falls trail, or hike into Upper Rowe Lakes to view some brilliant alpine meadows. If you are seeking some unique flora, explore the Blakiston Valley trail for some exceptional views of beargrass!
Kayla

Kayla
Why not explore Waterton by bicycle? There are cycling options for everyone. Ride the Red Rock Parkway to experience open grasslands, scenic mountains and good wildlife viewing opportunities. Or leave traffic behind on the paved Kootenai Brown Trail, paralleling the Entrance Parkway. If mountain biking is more your speed, there’s the beginner-friendly Snowshoe Trail. Or bike right into B.C. on the steep approach to Wall Lake via Akamina Pass. No matter the route, be prepared for fresh air, beautiful views, and possibly a good strong headwind!

Evening Theatre Programs

Waterton's 2014 team of interpreters outside  Falls Theatre
Join us for evening theatre programs © Parks Canada

Join us at the Falls Theatre (near Cameron Falls and the Townsite Campground) or the Crandell Theatre (in Crandell Mountain Campground) at 8pm every night for a 45-minute program. From bats to bears, felines to fire, wolverines to wildflowers, we share the latest research and fun stories to kids and adults alike.

Guided Hikes

Cameron Lakeshore Stroll
  • Easy 3 km (1.9 miles) return, family friendly 
  • Look for a roving interpreter at Cameron Lake
  • A refreshing walk along the west shore of this subalpine lake provides scenic views of Mount Custer and Mount Forum. Be serenaded by Steller's jays, gray jays, thrushes and various woodpeckers
Blakiston Falls Walk
  • Easy 2 km (1.2 miles) return, family friendly 
  • Look for a roving interpreter at Red Rock Canyon
  • Join us for a walk in the park! This short stroll delights with fragrant pine forests that lead to a magnificent waterfall
Bertha Falls Walk
  • Moderate 5.2 km (3.2 miles) return, family friendly 
  • Meet at Bertha Lake trail head in the Townsite
  • Brilliant flowers? Yes! Stunning scenery? You bet! A cascading waterfall to greet you at the end of your walk? Indeed! Join us for this guided walk along one of Waterton's most popular trails
Ancient Eyes Hike
  • Easy 7 km (4.3 miles) return, adults and older children 
  • Meet at the pullout on the north side of Red Rock Parkway, below Mt. Bellevue
  • How did people survive here 10,000 years ago? Have arrowheads been found in the park? Join us for a walk along the base of Mt. Bellevue and gain a unique persepective on the park
On the Trail of the Great Bear
  • Easy 6 km, (3.7 miles) return, adults and older children  
  • Meet the interpreter at the first pull-out on the south side of Red Rock Parkway 
  • Are you curious about grizzly and black bears? Want to hike in the safety of a group? Join us for a hike through the picturesque prairies and aspen parkland and learn about Waterton's bears.
International Peace Park Hike 
  • Moderate 13 km (8 miles) one-way (boat ride back), adults and older children 
  • Meet at Bertha trail head

Did you know that Waterton Lakes National Park and Glacier National Park formed the world's first International Peace Park? For over 30 years, visitors have hiked across the Canada / U.S. boundary on foot, accompanied by both a Glacier Park Ranger and a Waterton Park Interpreter.

Hike along the shore of Upper Waterton Lake and hear stories of what the two parks share - an ecosystem with over 1,200 species of plants, over 60 species of wildlife, and the various ways we work together.

International Peace Park Hike © Parks Canada

The hike ends in the United States at the Goat Haunt Ranger Station, where you can receive a special U.S. entry stamp in your passport before boarding a boat to return to the Waterton townsite.

Spaces are limited so please pre-register, either in person or by phoning the Waterton Visitor Centre (403-859-5133), or the St. Mary Information Center (406-732-7750).

Cost: The hike is free with your park entry fee, but there is a charge for the boat ride back. Please purchase your boat tickets in advance at Waterton Inter-National Shoreline Cruise Co. at the marina in Waterton.

Identification: The U.S. Department of Homeland Security requires Canadian and American citizens to carry a passport or passport card. All visitors from countries other than Canada or the United States need their passports and have to have been documented at another U.S. port of entry.

International Peace Park Hike Checklist (PDF, 145 KB).

Activities

Look, See, Play!
  • Family friendly / children aged 4-12
  • Follow Waterton Avenue past the campground to the last building on the left (Community Kitchen Shelter). Look for a Parks vehicle and interpreter in the parking lot
  • Come discover what makes Waterton unique through family games and activities near the lakeshore. New activities every day
Geocache 101
  • Family friendly
  • Meet with the staff at Waterton Heritage Centre on Waterton Avenue in the village 
  • Curious about what geocaching is? Find out more here
  • Come find out about the Waterton Geocache Challenge and take home your commemorative coin!
Blackfoot Crafts and Stories
  • Family friendly
  • Meet in the Crandell Theatre tipi at Crandell Campground
  • Join our Blackfoot Interpreters. Listen to stories, hang out by the fire, and make a small craft to take home with you
Be a Butterfly Superhero!
  • Family friendly / children aged 4-12 
  • From the Entrance Parkway, turn onto Hay arn Road. Look for the Parks vehicle and interpreter at the pull-out 
  • We need you! Kids, grab your research assistants (a.k.a. your parents) and discover the beautiful home of the endangered Halfmoon Hairstreak butterfly 
There's a Bear! Where? Over There!
  • Meet with Parks Canada's own 'wildlife guardians' at the Falls Theatre to learn about local wildlife and being safe in bear country. Get a few suggestions for a suitable trail and, if you like, use this opportunity to find a hiking partner

Program Schedule

Programs begin Friday June 27, 2014 and run until Monday September 1, 2014 (unless otherwise noted).

Evening TheatreMTWThFSSu
Crandell Theatre (8pm)  
Falls Theatre (8pm)

ActivitiesMTWThFSSu
Be a Butterfly Superhero! (2pm-4pm)          
Blackfoot Crafts & Stories (10am-12pm)          
Geocache 101 (1pm-3pm)          
Look, See, Play! (2pm-4pm)            

Guided HikesMTWThFSSu
Ancient Eyes Hike (9am-12pm)            
Ancient Eyes Hike (1pm-4pm)            
Bertha Falls Walk (2pm-5pm)            
Blakiston Falls Walk (3pm to 4pm)            
Cameron Lakeshore Stroll (1pm and 3pm)          
International Peace Park Hike (10am-6.30pm)          
On the Trail of the Great Bear (12.30pm-3.30pm)          

There's a Bear! Where? Over There!MTWThFSSu
Falls Theatre (2pm)            


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Activités d'interprétation

Programmes éducatifs, randonnées guidées et activités

Combien de temps restez-vous à Waterton? Une demi-journée? Une journée complète? Pour la nuit ou quelques jours? L’équipe d’interprètes de Waterton offre une grande variété de programmes pour les visiteurs en juillet et août. Les programmes au théâtre, les randonnées guidées, des interprètes sur les sentiers et à des endroits désignés – ces programmes sont gratuits avec votre admission au Parc.

Qu’est-ce que l’interprétation?

Freeman Tilden, le fondateur et le pionnier de l'interprétation, a déclaré : « Le but premier de l’interprétation n’est pas d’instruire, mais de provoquer. » Qu’est-ce que cela veut dire?

Que vous participiez à une randonnée guidée ou que vous assistiez le soir à un programme à l’amphithéâtre, l’interprétation devrait vous mobiliser. Et tous les programmes d’interprétation contiennent de l’information, alors si vous voulez apprendre quelque chose - merveilleux! Mais à son meilleur, non seulement l’interprétation divertit et renseigne, mais elle provoque également la pensée... elle fait réfléchir... afin qu’on puisse décider ce qu’on pense. C’est cela l’interprétation.

Bonne réflexion – Votre équipe d’interprétation.

Conseils de notre équipe

 Les interprètes de 2014
Les interprètes de 2014 (de gauche à droite) : Ashley, Ardelle, Sharon, David, Kayla, Rachelle © Parcs Canada
Ashley Ashley
Il y en a pour tous les goûts à Waterton! Vous êtes à la recherche d’une activité à faire en famille ou entre amis en soirée? Les interprètes du parc ont préparé de merveilleux programmes qui ne manqueront pas de vous divertir! Des papillons aux ours, des félins aux feux, des loups aux fleurs sauvages, des prairies aux montagnes... venez voir « ce qui se passe » dans le cadre de nos programmes du soir aux théâtres des chutes Cameron et du terrain de camping Crandall. Le jour, découvrez les secrets de Waterton grâce à une randonnée guidée ou transformez-vous en « héros des papillons » et aidez le personnel du parc à protéger une espèce à risque. Puis pour vivre une expérience culturelle, écoutez les raconteurs d’histoires des Blackfoot le lundi soir ou amenez les enfants au programme d’histoire et de bricolage des Blackfoot!
Ardelle Ardelle
Le sentier Lineham est un sentier préféré de Waterton. Ses pentes ascendantes traversent une grande variété d’habitats où abondent les animaux sauvages. Vers le début du sentier se trouve une forêt de pins, qui cède ensuite sa place à des pentes de graminées. Si vous regardez au loin, vous apercevrez les sommets Lineham et Alderson. Le sentier continue de grimper graduellement en traversant une forêt d’épinettes et de sapins subalpins, puis vos efforts sont récompensés en arrivant au bassin Lineham. Découvrez une chute de 250 mètres de hauteur qui se jette d’une falaise escarpée à partir d’une vallée suspendue! Le mont Blakiston, le plus haut sommet de Waterton, se dresse tout au nord, tandis que le sommet Lineham (un sommet facile à conquérir en randonnée à partir du côté des lacs Rowe) forme la paroi sud du bassin. Un joyau du parc!
David David
Vous êtes à court de temps? N’oubliez pas le sentier du lac-Linnet, qui fait la boucle sur un seul kilomètre tout autour du lac Linnet, dans une dépression située près de la promenade de l’entrée du parc. Malgré la courte distance à parcourir, vous pourrez goûter à l’essentiel du parc national des Lacs-Waterton : brome cathartique, forêt-parc à trembles et un aperçu des montagnes à l’horizon. Il s’agit d’une marche facile sur un sentier pavé et presque plat (ce qui n’est pas le cas de la plupart de nos sentiers!), accessible en fauteuil roulant. En prime, ce petit trésor de sentier est généralement à l’abri des fameux vents de Waterton. Profitez-en!
Sharon Sharon
Admirez le magnifique panorama tout en faisant une randonnée! Vous trouverez de superbes points de vue tout au long de la crête du sentier Carthew-Alderson, en voiture sur la promenade Akamina ou encore, au sommet de Bear's Hump. Dans le cas de la courte randonnée de Bear's Hump, essayez de sortir du lit assez tôt le matin pour profiter du lever de soleil sur la prairie. Vous ne le regretterez pas. Et si vous avez le cœur à l’aventure, prenez le temps d’escalader une montagne pendant que vous y êtes! Demandez conseil au personnel du Centre d’accueil pour connaître les chemins et sentiers qui vous mèneront au sommet du monde.
Rachelle Rachelle
Prenez le temps de sentir les fleurs! De nombreuses espèces de fleurs sauvages rares et stupéfiantes se dissimulent à Waterton. Le printemps, n’oubliez pas d’apporter votre appareil photo pour immortaliser les magnifiques fleurs de la prairie, facilement accessible à partir de la promenade Red Rock. Et au fil de l’évolution de la saison, toutes sortes de fleurs montreront leurs couleurs en plus haute altitude. Ne manquez pas de vous promener dans les environs du lac Cameron pour les apercevoir. Les botanistes en herbe en quête d’aventure peuvent emprunter le sentier des chutes Bertha ou faire une randonnée jusqu’aux lacs Rowe supérieurs pour admirer certains des prés alpins les plus beaux qui soient. Et si vous voulez voir un aspect unique de la flore, explorez le sentier de la vallée Blakiston, où vous aurez des vues exceptionnelles du xérophylle!
Kayla

Kayla
Pourquoi ne pas explorer Waterton à vélo? Il y a des options pour les cyclistes de tous calibres. Faites une randonnée sur la promenade Red Rock pour voir la prairie, le panorama des montagnes et la faune. Ou encore, éloignez-vous de la circulation en empruntant le sentier pavé Kootenai Brown, parallèle à l’entrée de la promenade. Et si vous préférez le vélo de montagne, le sentier Snowshoe convient parfaitement aux débutants. Vous pouvez aussi vous rendre en Colombie-Britannique en empruntant les pentes abruptes menant au lac Wall, en passant par le col Akamina. Mais peu importe le chemin pour lequel vous opterez, soyez prêt à prendre l’air frais, à voir les splendides paysages et peut-être même à faire face au vent!

Programmes le soir à l’amphithéâtre

Notre équipe d'interprètes à l'extérieur du théâtre des Chutes
Joindre à nous pour des programs éducatifs © Parcs Canada

Joignez-vous à nous au Théâtre des Chutes près des Chutes Cameron et du camping du village ou au Théâtre Crandell dans le Camping Crandell à 20 h 00 et voyez un programme de 45 minutes. Il y a de nouveaux programmes chaque année qui soulignent les recherches les plus récentes et procurent de l’information sur vos plantes et animaux favoris – et même ceux que vous n’avez jamais rencontrés ! Nous vous ferons rire, toucherons votre cœur et mettrons à profit votre imagination.

Randonnées guidées

Promenade sur les berges du lac Cameron
  • Facile, 3 km aller-retour, pour la famille 
  • Cherchez un interprète itinérant au lac Cameron
  • A Une promenade rafraîchemente le long de la rive ouest de ce lac subalpin offre des vues panoramiques du mont Custer et du mont Forum. Écoutez le chant de geai de Stellar, du geai gris, de la grive vraie et de divers pics
Marche le long des chutes Blakiston
  • Facile, 2 km aller-retour, pour la famille 
  • Cherchez un interprète itinérant au canyon Red Rock
  • Join Marchez dans le parc avec nous! Cette courte promenade vous emmène à travers une forêt de pin odorante vers une chute magnifique
Marche aux chutes Bertha
  • Modéré, 5.2 km aller-retour, pour la famille 
  • Rencontre au début du sentier Bertha dans le lotissement urbain 
  • Fleurs fascinantes? Oui! Paysage époustouflant? Certainement! Une chute en cascade pour vous accueillir au bout? Tout à fait! Participez à cette marche guidée sur l'un des sentiers les plus fréquentés à Waterton
La vie dans l'ancien temps
  • Facile, 7 km aller-retour, adultes et enfants plus âgés 
  • Rencontre au belvédère du côté nord de la promenade Red Rock, au pied du mont Bellevue 
  • Comment les gens survivaient-ils ici il y a 10 000 ans? A-t-on découvert des pointes de flèche dans le parc? Venez marcher avec nous au pied du mont Bellevue afin d'avoir une perspective unique du parc
Sur la piste du grand ours
  • De facile à modéré, 6 km (3,7 milles) aller-retour, adultes et enfants plus âgés 
  • rencontrez l’interprète au premier arrêt du côté sud de la promenade Red Rock
  • Le grizzli et l’ours noir piquent votre curiosité? Vous voulez faire une randonnée en groupe, en toute sécurité? Venez faire une randonnée avec nous dans la prairie et la forêt-parc de trembles pittoresques. Par la même occasion, vous pourrez en apprendre plus sur les ours de Waterton
Randonnée du Parc International de la Paix
  • Modéré, 13 km aller seulement, adultes et enfants plus âgés 
  • Rencontre au début du sentier Bertha dans le lotissement urbain 

Saviez-vous que le Parc National des Lacs-Waterton et le Parc National Glacier forment le premier Parc International de la Paix? Depuis plus de trente ans, les visiteurs font la randonnée à travers la frontière Canada/États-Unis accompagnés par un ranger du Parc Glacier et un interprète du Parc des Lacs-Waterton.

La randonnée du Parc International de la Paix
© Parcs Canada

Faites une randonnée le long des berges du Lac Waterton Supérieur et écoutez les histoires de ce que nos deux parcs ont en commun – un écosystème de plus de 1200 espèces de plantes, plus de 60 espèces fauniques - et toutes les activités où nous travaillons ensemble.

La randonnée se termine aux États-Unis, à la station de ranger de Goat Haunt, où vous pourrez recevoir un timbre d’entrée spécial dans votre passeport avant de montez à bord d’un bateau pour retourner au village de Waterton.

Les places sont limitées, alors veuillez vous pré-enregistrer en personne ou en téléphonant au Centre des visiteurs de Waterton (403) 859-5133, ou au Centre d’information de St. Mary (406) 732-7750.

Coût: Cette randonnée est gratuite avec votre admission au Parc, mais il y a des frais pour le tour de bateau au retour. Veuillez acheter votre billet de bateau à l’avance à la Waterton Inter-Nation Shoreline Cruise Co. à la marina de Waterton.

Identification: Le Ministère américain de la Sécurité intérieure requiert que les citoyens canadiens et américains aient un passeport ou une carte-passeport. Tous les visiteurs des pays autres que le Canada et les États-Unis ont besoin de leur passeport et doivent avoir été documentés à un autre port d’entrée des États-Unis.

Randonnée du parc international de la paix liste de vérification (PDF, 146 Ko).

Activitiés

Regarder, voir et s'amuser!
  • Pour la famille / enfants de 4 à 12 ans 
  • Suivez Waterton Avenue jusqu'au dernier bâtiment à gauche (abri-cuisine communautaire) après le camping. Trouvez un véhicule du parc et un interprète dans le stationnement 
  • Découvrez ce qui fait de Waterton un lieu unique en prenant part à des jeux et des activites pour la famille au bord du lac! Nouvelles activités tous les jours!
Géocachette 101
  • Pour la famille 
  • Rencontrez le personnel au Centre du patrimoine de Waterton, sur l’avenue Waterton, dans le lotissement urbain
  • Vous voulez savoir ce que c'est que la géocachette? En savoir plus ici
Artisanat et histoires des Pieds-Noirs
  • Pour la famille 
  • Rencontre au tipi du théâtre Crandell au camping Crandell
  • Joignez-vous à nos interprètes Pieds-Noirs. Écoutez des histoires, asseyez-vous près du feu et fabriquez une bricole que vous rapportez chez vous
Le super héros des papillons!
  • Pour la famille, enfants de 4 à 12 ans
  • À partir de l’entrée du parc, tournez sur la route Hay Barn et repérez le véhicule du parc à l’arrêt
  • Nous avons besoin de vous! les enfants : emmenez vos assistants à la recherche (soit vos parents) et découvrez tous ensemble le magnifique habitat du porte-queue demi-lune, une espèce en péril
Un ours! Où ça? Là-bas!
  • Rencontrez les « gardiens de la faune » de Parcs Canada au théâtre des chutes pour en apprendre plus sur la faune de la région et savoir comment rester en sécurité au pays des ours. Nous vous ferons quelques suggestions de sentiers et, si vous le désirez, saisissez l'occasion de trouver un partenaire de randonnée!

Horaire des programmes

Les programmes débutent le vendredi 27 juin et se terminent le lundi 1 septembre (à moins d'avis contraire).

ThéâtreMTWThFSSu
Théâtre Crandell (20 h 00)  
Théâtre des Chutes (20 h 00)

ActivitiésMTWThFSSu
Le super héros des papillons! (14 h 00 à 16 h 00)          
Artisanat et histoires Blackfoot (10 h 00 à midi)           
Géocache 101 (13 h 00 à 15 h 00)          
Regarder, voir et s'amuser! (14 h 00 à 16 h 00)            

Randonnées guidéesMTWThFSSu
La vie dans l'ancien temps (09 h 00 à midi)            
La vie dans l'ancien temps (13 h 00 à 16 h 00)            
Marche aux chutes Bertha (14 h 00 à 17 h 00)            
Marche le long des chutes Blakiston (15 h 00 à 16 h 00)            
Promenade sur les berges du lac Cameron (13 h 00 et 15 h 00)          
Parc international de la paix (10 h 00 à 18 h 30)          
Sur la piste du grand ours (12 h 30 à 15 h 30)          

Un ours! Où ça? Là-bas!MTWThFSSu
Théâtre des Chutes (14 h 00)            


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).