Activities

Activities By Season

Choose the Best Season

Waterton's character changes with the seasons. By understanding these seasonal cycles, you can plan your trip to best suit your interests.

Before your arrive, check the information available. In summer months, planning your arrival times and calling ahead may save you frustrating line-ups or a lack of accommodation. In winter, check road and avalanche reports and gas up.

Prepare yourself by finding out what the park offers at the time of year in which you intend to travel.

Spring

Spring is the best time for wildflowers in Waterton. Within a short walk from your car you can find 20 or 30 different species. Wildflowers can be seen in the park at almost any season as summer weather progresses up the mountains. 

Summer

The most popular time to visit Waterton is July and August. The weather is generally warmer, dryer and more dependable, and summertime offers the most opportunities. Over half of Waterton's visitors come during these two months.

Fall

Late summer and fall are particularly good wildlife viewing times, especially for black bear, elk and deer. The grasslands of the lower mountainsides provide important food for wildlife, as well as open views which make them more visible. Ungulates such as deer, elk and bighorn sheep mate in the fall, so they are looking their best. The most spectacular birding time is in late fall when large numbers of waterfowl migrate through the park.

Winter

Winter is a time of quiet retreat. Facilities and businesses are limited and include some accommodation, restaurants and gift shops. Enjoy a variety of winter activities, such as snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, ice climbing and wildlife viewing, but be prepared for conditions ranging from warm and windy to extreme cold and deep snow. Strong winds can create poor visibility, icy conditons, and drifting snow on roads.

Activités

Activités par saison

Choisissez la meilleure saison

Le caractère de Waterton change avec les saisons. En comprenant ces cycles saisonniers, vous pouvez planifier votre voyage selon vos intérêts.

Avant votre arrivée, regardez l’information disponible. Durant les mois d’été, le fait de planifier votre arrivée et d’appeler avant peut vous éviter d’attendre en ligne ou de ne pas trouver de quoi vous loger. En hiver, regardez l’état des routes et les rapports d’avalanches et n’oubliez pas de mettre de l’essence.

Préparez-vous en recherchant ce que le Parc peut vous offrir au moment de l’année où vous prévoyez voyager.

Printemps

Le printemps est la meilleure saison pour les fleurs sauvages à Waterton. Sur une courte distance, vous pourrez voir 20 à 30 espèces différentes. Les fleurs sauvages peuvent être observées dans le Parc à presque toutes les périodes au fur et à mesure que les températures estivales progressent sur les versants des montagnes.

Été

Le moment le plus populaire pour visiter Waterton est juillet et août. La température y est généralement plus chaude, plus sèche et plus prévisible et c’est la période estivale qui offre le plus d’activités. Plus de la moitié des visiteurs de Waterton viennent durant ces deux mois.

Automne

La fin de l’été et l’automne sont des périodes particulièrement propices pour l’observation de la faune, spécialement pour l’ours noir, le wapiti et le cerf. Les prairies du bas des montagnes procurent de la nourriture pour la faune, ainsi qu’un point de vue ouvert qui rend celle-ci plus facilement observable. Les ongulés, comme le cerf, le wapiti et le mouflon, s’accouplent en automne, alors qu’ils sont en meilleure condition. La période la plus spectaculaire pour l’ornithologie se situe à la fin de l’automne quand les oies et les canards migrent en grand nombre.

Hiver

L’hiver est le moment pour une retraite paisible. Les infrastructures et les commerces sont limités et incluent quelques hôtels, restaurants et boutiques-cadeaux. Vous pourrez apprécier une variété d’activités hivernales comme la raquette, le ski de fond, l’escalade de glace et l’observation de la faune. Soyez prêts pour des conditions allant de chaudes et venteuses à extrêmement froides avec de la neige profonde. Les forts vents peuvent occasionner une faible visibilité, des conditions glacées et de la poudrerie sur les routes.