Jasper National Park of Canada

Marmot Basin Ski Area Site Guidelines for Development and Use

7.0 Lease

Ski Area Management Guidelines

"At the request of a ski area operator, a new 42-year lease will be negotiated as part of the long-range planning process. Exceptions to the Ski Area Management Guidelines and development in less sensitive areas can be considered, as previously noted, for those areas that advance leasehold reconfiguration during the planning process, to expedite better protection of park lands.

Alternatively, a ski area operator may elect to negotiate a new 42 year lease upon expiration of their current lease.

The new lease will rationalize the leasehold boundary with the perimeter of the new Developed Area and reflect the negotiated Growth Limits. New leases will continue to be subject to legislation, regulations, policy and guidelines in force and as modified from time to time."

"New land, in exchange for removal of sensitive areas from the leasehold, will be managed through a Licence of Occupation.

Leasehold expansion will be prohibited. Licence of Occupations will be used to manage avalanche trigger zones that are outside of existing leasehold areas."

Page 6 and 7, Ski Area Management Guidelines , Minister of Environment, December 7, 2006

Objective

  • Negotiate, a new lease to reflect the Growth Limits and key parameters of these Site Guidelines.

Existing Situation

  • The ski area lease expires July 31, 2021.

Site Guidelines

7.1 Lease boundary changes and new licences of occupations are subject to appropriate approvals.

7.2 Marmot Basin has requested that a new 42-year lease be negotiated as part of the long-range planning process. Parks Canada will grant a new, negotiated 42-year lease upon ministerial approval of Marmot Basin's first Long-Range Plan and projects approved in the Long-Range Plan that do not require legislative undertakings may proceed to the permitting stage at that time. The new, negotiated 42-year lease will reflect the voluntary leasehold reduction and will confirm mutual intentions, subject always to appropriate legislative amendments, regarding any new license(s) of occupation provided for in an approved Long-Range Plan. Projects related to any new license(s) of occupation provided for in a Long-Range Plan may only proceed to the permitting stage following the completion of relevant legislative amendments.

Back to table of contents

Parc national du Canada Jasper

Lignes directrices pour l'aménagement et l'utilisation du territoire de la station de ski Marmot Basin

7.0 Bail

Lignes directrices pour la gestion des stations de ski

« À la demande de l'exploitant d'une station de ski, un nouveau bail de 42 ans sera négocié dans le cadre du processus d'élaboration des plans à long terme. Afin de mieux protéger les terres du parc, des exceptions aux Lignes directrices pour la gestion des stations de ski et l'autorisation de développement dans des secteurs moins fragiles pourraient être envisagées, tel que mentionné précédemment, pour les stations de ski qui envisageront la reconfiguration du terrain donné à bail.

L'exploitation d'une station de ski pourrait plutôt décider de négocier un nouveau bail de 42 ans lorsque son bail arrivera à terme.

Le nouveau bail ajustera les limites du terrain loué en fonction du périmètre du secteur aménagé et reflétera les plafonds de croissance négociés. Il demeurera assujetti aux lois, aux règlements, aux politiques et aux lignes directrices en vigueur avec toutes leurs modifications successives.

Les nouvelles terres accordées en échange de la rétrocession de zones fragiles seront gérées par le biais d'un permis d'occupation aux mêmes conditions que le bail.

La superficie des terres cédées à bail ne sera pas élargie. Des permis d'occupation seront accordés aux fins de gestion des zones de déclenchement d'avalanches situées à l'extérieur des terres visées par les baux actuels. »

Pages 7 et 8, Lignes directrices pour la gestion des stations de ski , ministre de l'Environnement, 7 décembre 2006

Objectif

  • Négocier un nouveau bail pour indiquer les plafonds de croissance et les paramètres clés des présentes Lignes directrices.

Situation actuelle

  • Le bail de la station de ski expire le 31 juillet 2021.

Lignes directrices de la station de ski Marmot Basin

7.1 Les modifications aux limites prévues dans le bail et de nouveaux permis d'occupation sont assujettis aux approbations pertinentes.

7.2 Marmot Basin a demandé la négociation d'un nouveau bail de 42 ans dans le cadre du processus d'établissement d'un plan à long terme. Parcs Canada accordera un nouveau bail négocié de 42 ans après approbation ministérielle du premier plan à long terme de Marmot Basin, et les projets approuvés dans ce plan qui ne nécessiteront pas l'adoption de mesures législatives pourront, à ce moment-là, passer au stade d'autorisation. Le nouveau bail négocié de 42 ans tiendra compte de la réduction volontaire du domaine à bail et confirmera les intentions réciproques, sous réserve toujours des modifications législatives pertinentes, concernant tout nouveau permis d'occupation prévu dans un plan à long terme approuvé. Les projets liés à tout nouveau permis d'occupation prévu dans un plan à long terme ne pourront être réalisés et passer au stade d'autorisation qu'après l'adoption des modifications législatives pertinentes.

Retour à la table des matières