Common menu bar links

Jasper National Park

Jasper House National Historic Site

Jasper House National Historic Site  Jasper House Viewpoint © Parks Canada/R. Gruys

Plaque Text: Jasper House

In 1813 the North West Company built Rocky Mountain House on Brûlé Lake as a provision depot for brigades crossing the Athabasca Pass to the Pacific. When Jasper Hawes took command of the post in 1817 it became known as "Jasper's House" to avoid confusion with Rocky Mountain House on the Saskatchewan. The Hudson's Bay Company moved Jasper House upriver to this site in 1829, but by mid-century decreasing traffic over the pass sent the post into decline. When Paul Kane was here in 1846 this was a remote outpost commanded by Colin Fraser, George Simpson's former piper. A half century later Jasper House was finally closed.

On the scene

As the fur trade expanded west, Thompson's route over Athabasca Pass to the Pacific Ocean became more important. Support was needed for the bi-annual fur brigades that exchanged mail, supplies and furs via the pass. In 1813, the North West Company built a lonely post on Brûlé Lake, the last welcoming shelter before the pass and the fur-rich lands of New Caledonia district across the mountains. Described as "a miserable concern of rough logs, with only three apartments, but scrupulously clean inside", the post would serve fur traders for sixteen years.

By 1817 the post was under the charge of a man by the name of Jasper Hawes whose name became synonymous with the post, and later the national park. In 1821, the Hudson's Bay Company and the North West Company amalgamated. Four years later the post was rebuilt on the Athabasca River near Jasper Lake. While the new site was more useful, the buildings were crude. It was located at a strategic trail junction, there were places to winter horses nearby, but the factor had trouble finding steady supplies of fish and game.

For almost half a century Jasper House served as the main stopping place for all fur traders using the Athabasca, Bess and Yellowhead passes, and as an important meeting place for travels, adventurers and explorers. By 1909 the last remnants of "Jasper's House" were gone, and the era of fur traders was soon replaced by the wail of steam engines.

Timeline

  • 1813 - The North West Company builds the first Jasper House at the north end of Brûlé Lake as a provisioning post for fur traders.
  • 1821 - The Hudson's Bay Company and North West Company merge and keep the name Hudson's Bay Company.
  • 1824 - Yellowhead Pass gains popularity as a route to transport leather into New Caledonia.
  • 1829 - The first Jasper House closes and another post is built further upstream.
  • 1829-1830 - Hudson's Bay Company builds the second Jasper House at the north end of Jasper Lake. Here, the continuous wind blows the snow off the ground, creating a reasonable pasture for horses. This site is strategic to Athabasca and Yellowhead Passes as well as to Fort St. John via Bess Pass and the Smoky River.
  • 1853 - Operations become sporadic following a decision which had all fur territories west of the Rocky Mountains report directly to London via Fort Victoria.
  • 1857 - Post closes as per orders from George Simpson of Hudson's Bay Company.
  • 1858 - Henry John Moberly rebuilds Jasper House and runs it on a seasonal basis until 1861.
  • 1869 - Hudson's Bay Company disposes of its lands to the government of Canada.
  • 1884 - Hudson's Bay Company officially closes Jasper House.
  • 1891 - Lewis Swift and family live in the remaining structure of the post while looking for a place to homestead in the area.
  • 1909 - The remaining structures of Jasper House are found destroyed. Surveyors for the Grand Trunk Pacific Railway had used the materials to build rafts.
  • 1924 - Historic Sites and Monument Board of Canada designate Jasper House (the second) as a national historic site, with plaque mounted in 1927.

Tid-Bit

The post was originally called Rocky Mountain Portage House, a fairly generic term in those days. To avoid confusion with the Rocky Mountain House on the North Saskatchewan River, the post soon took on the name "Jasper's House" after factor Jasper Hawes. The name Jasper soon extended to the surrounding area, the national park when it was created in 1907, and finally to the mountain town we know today.

Getting there

There is no road access to the actual site of Jasper House. However a stop at the commemorative plaque is well worth your while. The plaque is 35 km east of Jasper on the Trans-Canada Yellowhead Highway #16. If you are travelling from the west be careful of the blind corner while turning into the vehicle pullout.

Long since collapsed, the remains of the post are located upstream of the plaque on the far shore of the river. As you stand at the plaque, try looking at the landscape through the eyes of the fur traders and explorers that travelled through here over 150 years ago. They travelled without the benefit of a highway, but they saw the same towering mountains on either side of the Athabasca River. Enduring the wind which constantly blows across the gravel beds and through the forest, they must have welcomed reaching the shelter of Jasper House.

Note: The vehicle pullout is in a wildlife speed zone. There are often big-horned sheep on the road. Please drive with caution. Keep wild animals healthy and wild by not feeding or harassing them.

Bibliography

Heritage Sites and Monuments Board, Commemorative Integrity Statement.
G. Ens & B. Potyondi, A History of the Upper Athabasca Valley in the 19th Century. 1986.
Brenda Gainer, The Human History of Jasper National Park, Alberta. 1981
Ida Thompson, Where was Henry House?

Parc national Jasper

Lieu historique national Jasper House

Jasper House National Historic Site  Belvédère du poste Jasper House © Parcs Canada/R. Gruys

Texte de la plaque : Jasper House

En 1813, la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest érigea Rocky Mountain House, près du lac Brulé, pour ravitailler les brigades de voyageurs qui passaient par le col Athabasca pour aller au Pacifique. Jasper Hawes en prit le commandement en 1817. Pour le distinguer de Rocky Mountain House sur la Saskatchewan, le poste devint « Jasper's House ». En 1829, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson le déplaça jusqu'ici; mais, dès le milieu du siècle, il était presque tombé en désuétude. Quand Paul Kane y passa, en 1846, il ne s'agissait plus que d'un poste isolé commandé par Colin Fraser, ancien cornemuseur de George Simpson. Un demi-siècle plus tard, Jasper House était fermé.

Contexte

À mesure que la traite des fourrures repousse les frontières inexplorées de l'Ouest, la route que Thompson a tracée à travers le col Athabasca en route vers le Pacifique attire de plus en plus de commerçants. Deux fois l'an, les brigades des pelleteries franchissent le col, chargées de courrier, de fournitures et de fourrures, et ce long périple peut difficilement être fait sans relais. En 1813, la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest construit donc un poste solitaire sur les bords du lac Brûlé, un abri où les brigades peuvent se réfugier avant d'atteindre le col et les terres riches en fourrures du district de la Nouvelle-Calédonie, de l'autre côté des montagnes. Cette « pitoyable baraque de rondins mal dégrossis, qui ne compte que trois pièces, mais impeccablement propre à l'intérieur » servira de halte aux commerçants de fourrures pendant 16 ans.

En 1817, le poste est géré par un dénommé Jasper Hawes, dont le nom finira par désigner le poste de traite et, plus tard, le parc national. En 1821, la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson et la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest fusionnent. Quatre ans plus tard, le poste est reconstruit sur les bords de l'Athabasca, à la hauteur du lac Jasper. Même si les bâtiments restent rudimentaires, le nouvel emplacement répond mieux aux besoins. Le nouveau poste se trouve à un endroit stratégique, à l'intersection de deux routes de commerce, et le terrain est suffisamment vaste pour que les chevaux puissent y brouter pendant tout l'hiver. Mais l'intendant a de la difficulté à s'approvisionner en poisson et en gibier.

Pendant près d'un demi-siècle, Jasper House demeurera le principal relais de tous les commerçants de fourrures en route vers les cols Athabasca, Bess et Yellowhead. Voyageurs, aventuriers et explorateurs y font eux aussi étape. Mais, en 1909, les derniers vestiges de « Jasper's House » ont déjà disparu, les brigades des fourrures ayant cédé leur place aux locomotives à vapeur.

Chronologie

  • 1813 - La Compagnie du Nord-Ouest bâtit le premier poste Jasper House à l'extrémité nord du lac Brûlé afin d'approvisionner les commerçants de fourrures.
  • 1821 - La Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson et la Compagnie du Nord-Ouest fusionnent et conservent le nom de « Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson ».
  • 1824 - Le passage du col Yellowhead devient la route de prédilection des commerçants qui transportent leur cuir en Nouvelle-Calédonie.
  • 1829 - Jasper House est abandonné, et la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson entreprend la construction d'un autre poste de traite plus en amont.
  • 1829-1830 - La Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson construit le second poste Jasper House à l'extrémité nord du lac Jasper. Ici, la vallée est constamment balayée par le vent, qui crée ainsi un pâturage raisonnable pour les chevaux. Le nouveau poste a l'avantage de se trouver au carrefour des routes menant au col Athabasca et au col Yellowhead et de pouvoir aussi servir de relais aux brigades qui se rendent au fort St. John par le col Bess et la rivière Smoky.
  • 1853 - Les expéditions de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson se font de plus en plus sporadiques par suite d'une décision qui place l'ensemble des territoires situés à l'ouest des Rocheuses sous la direction hiérarchique du fort Victoria.
  • 1857 - Le poste de traite est abandonné conformément aux ordres de George Simpson, de la Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson.
  • 1858 - Henry John Moberly reconstruit Jasper House et l'exploite de façon saisonnière jusqu'en 1861.
  • 1869 - La Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson cède ses terres au gouvernement du Canada.
  • 1884 - La Compagnie de la Baie d'Hudson ferme officiellement Jasper House.
  • 1891 - Lewis Swift et sa famille vivent dans ce qui reste du poste en attendant de trouver un terrain où fonder un homestead.
  • 1909 - Il n'existe déjà plus de traces de Jasper House. Les arpenteurs du chemin de fer Grand Trunk Pacific se sont servis des matériaux pour construire des radeaux.
  • 1924 - La Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada confère au second poste Jasper House le statut de lieu historique national. La plaque est érigée en 1927.

Entrefilet

À l'origine, le poste de traite porte le nom imprécis de « Rocky Mountain Portage House ». Pour éviter toute confusion avec Rocky Mountain House, qui se trouve sur les bords de la Saskatchewan Nord, le poste est rebaptisé « Jasper's House », en l'honneur de son intendant, Jasper Hawes. En peu de temps, « Jasper » est employé pour désigner la région avoisinante. C'est également le nom qui sera donné au parc national en 1907, année de sa création, et, enfin, à la collectivité de montagne que nous connaissons aujourd'hui.

Pour vous y rendre

Il n'y a pas de route d'accès à Jasper House. Prenez quand même le temps de vous arrêter à la plaque commémorative, en bordure de la route Yellowhead : le paysage en vaut bien la peine. Pour vous y rendre, prenez la route Yellowhead (route 16) et roulez sur une distance de 35 km à l'est de Jasper. Si vous arrivez de l'ouest, attention au virage masqué lorsque vous tournerez dans la voie d'arrêt.

Les bâtiments depuis longtemps effondrés du poste Jasper House se trouvaient jadis en amont de la plaque, du côté opposé de la rivière. Parcourez des yeux le paysage en essayant de vous mettre dans la peau des commerçants de fourrures et des explorateurs qui ont sillonné cette contrée il y a plus de 150 ans. Ils n'avaient ni route asphaltée ni automobile. Mais ils ont eux aussi admiré les montagnes majestueuses qui se dressent de part et d'autre de la rivière Athabasca. Avançant lentement à travers des forêts et des lits de gravier fouettés par un vent constant, ils devaient se réjouir à la vue du refuge que représentait Jasper House.

NOTA : La voie d'arrêt se trouve dans une zone à vitesse réduite : il y a souvent des mouflons d'Amérique sur la route. Roulez prudemment. Il importe que les animaux demeurent sauvages et en santé. Abstenez-vous de leur donner à manger ou de les harceler.

Bibliographie

Commission des lieux et monuments historiques du Canada. Commemorative Integrity Statement.
G. Ens & B. Potyondi. A History of the Upper Athabasca Valley in the 19th Century, 1986.
Brenda Gainer. The Human History of Jasper National Park, Alberta, 1981.
Ida Thompson. Where was Henry House?
Great Plains Consultants. Jasper National Park- A Social and Economic History, 1985