Common menu bar links

Jasper National Park

Activities

Winter in Jasper National Park

 


Watch the video in HD on YouTube

Winter is a time of beauty. Snow and ice transform the mountains, forests, meadows, riverbanks and lakeshores of Jasper National Park. It’s a quiet time. The summer crowds have gone, the leaves have fallen, migratory birds have headed south and the bears have retired to their dens. The pulse of nature does indeed beat slower at this time of year but the park is still very much alive.

Other links

Winter Safety

Winter activities in Jasper!

Top 10 Winter Activities in Jasper National Park


1. Tour the Park

No traffic, beautiful, Alberta-blue skies and a top-notch highway maintenance crew make winter in Jasper National Park a great time for sightseeing. Most scenic pull-offs are plowed. Look for sheep, wolves and moose along the Maligne Road, caribou along the Icefields Parkway, and elk on the Pyramid Lake Road. Road condition information is updated daily. Winter tires are mandatory on the Icefields Parkway.


2. Ski
Snow is what winter in Jasper is all about, and what better way to enjoy it than an exhilarating descent on one of Marmot Basin’s alpine ski runs or a tranquil tour on one of Jasper National Park’s many groomed cross-country ski trails. Rentals and lessons are available. Check these sites for trail information and conditions.
Trail Conditions Report Cross-country ski trails Marmot Basin ski area


3. Snowshoe

Snowshoeing is the traditional way to explore Jasper in the winter - and it is easier to learn than skiing! Follow one of Jasper’s many designated trails or, if you are a skilled route-finder, make your own trail. Rentals and guided trips are available. Trail information and conditions can be found here. Trail Conditions Report Winter Trail Brochure Maps and guidebook are sold at the information centre and local outdoor shops.


4. Take a hike
Jasper is famous for its extensive trail network, and you can hike many of the valley bottom trails year-round. The trail report will tell you which ones are in the best shape. Trail Conditions Report If conditions are slippery, you can buy or rent inexpensive ice cleats at many local shops.


5. Check out the ice at Maligne Canyon
With its frozen waterfalls, surreal ice formations and frosted limestone walls, Maligne Canyon is a magical place in the winter. Several local tour companies lead guided walks down into the canyon. www.jasper.travel The adventurous can ice climb with a certified mountain guide, www.acmg.ca or go on your own, if you have the skills. Maps and guidebook are sold at the information centre and local outdoor shops.


6. Skate
What could be more Canadian than pond skating? The ice is monitored and cleared for skating at Mildred and Pyramid lakes. Both locations offer free-skating ovals and rinks for shinny hockey. Once in a while, temperatures drop before the snow falls, leaving many ponds and lakes covered in a thick layer of transparent ice. Skating in these conditions is as close as a person can get to flying. Make sure you arm yourself with safety information before heading out, Parks Canada does not monitor the ice.


7. Backcountry Adventures

For those seeking adventure, Jasper’s vast backcountry awaits. Backcountry Map. On skis or snowshoes, hardy travellers can visit the remote corners of Jasper National Park. Not sure winter camping is up your alley? Several local companies and the Alpine Club of Canada offer backcountry lodges with varying services. Tonquin Valley Adventures, Tonquin Valley Backcountry Lodge. Winter backcountry travel requires training, knowledge and self-reliance. Ski Touring in Jasper. If you are inexperienced, hire a guide www.acmg.ca or join the Alpine Club of Canada on one of their mountain adventures. www.alpineclubofcanada.ca


8. Fish
Fishing in winter? Why not! Believe it or not, winter fishing is a popular sport in cold climates. Fishing is about more than just catching dinner, it's about enjoying the serenity of wild places in winter. The information centre and local shops sell fishing permits and provide information and advice. Mountain Parks Fishing Regulations


9. Soak up some of our history
Aboriginal travellers, fur-traders, explorers, early tourists, many people from the past have left their mark on Jasper National Park. Find out more about these early inhabitants by visiting the Jasper Yellowhead Museum and Archives or visiting one of Jasper’s National Historic Sites.


10. Relax!
Whether wild or tame, creatures instinctively slow down when the temperature falls. Take advantage of this quiet time in Jasper by slowing yourself down. Enjoy the many restaurants, clubs, shops and spas the town of Jasper has to offer. www.jasper.travel Quit fighting those longer winter nights, rejuvenate yourself by getting up and turning in with the sun.


Wildlife Viewing, Nature Watching and Photography

Elk in Jasper National Park © Mark Bradley
Elk © Mark Bradley


Though the bears may be asleep, there is still pleanty of wildlife activity in the park in the winter. Around the Jasper townsite area, elk, mule deer and coyote are common. The Maligne Lake Road is a good place to look for moose, mountain sheep and caribou. Wolves are sometimes seen near Pyramid and Patricia Lakes and along the Icefields Parkway. Herds of elk can be seen along Highway 16 East. Remember, though, these are wild animals. If you should see them, keep your distance for your own safety and do not feed them for your sake and theirs. Winter can be an especially difficult time for animals. Your respect for their need to feed and rest undisturbed will help them survive. Though they seldom show themselves to humans, snowshoe hares, martens, weasels, lynx, foxes, cougars and wolverines are also active in the park in winter. If you don't actually see these animals you are certain to see signs of their presence. The winter snow is a page on which the comings and goings of the park's inhabitants are recorded for anyone who wants to take the time to interpret the tracks left behind.

Winter Camping

Wilcox Campground
Hardy campers who wish to stay in the Columbia Icefields area are permitted to tent at the Wilcox Pass Trailhead. Note that this site is unmaintained during the winter. No water, garbage collection or maintenance services are offered. Please pack-out what you pack in and be aware that snowfall may impact access to privies. Fires are not permitted. After a snowfall, parking areas are ploughed only after all roads are cleared. Campers should be prepared with shovels. The Wilcox Trailhead site requires a bivy permit. Call 780-852-6176 for information.

Wapiti Campground
Wapiti is a great campsite for family outings at any time of year. It’s close to town for supply runs and in the winter campers often get first crack at the slopes and cross country trails (because to really appreciate a campfire, you have to use it to thaw your ski boots!)

Looking for gear?

Jasper Source For Sports
406 Patricia Street
780-852-3654


Totem Ski Shop
408 Connaught Drive
780-852-3078


Skis Please
618 Connaught Drive
780-931-7238


Edge Control
626 Connaught Drive
780-852-4945


On-Line Sports & Tackle
600 Patricia Street
780-852-3630

Vicious
630 Connaught Drive
780-852-1111


Freewheel Street
610 Patricia Street
780-852-3820
Gravity Gear
618 Patricia Street
780-852-3155


Note: To read the PDF version you need Adobe Acrobat Reader on your system.

If the Adobe download site is not accessible to you, you can download Acrobat Reader from an accessible page.

If you choose not to use Acrobat Reader you can have the PDF file converted to HTML or ASCII text by using one of the conversion services offered by Adobe.

Parc national Jasper

Activités

Le parc national Jasper en hiver


Visionnez la vidéo en haute définition sur YouTube

L’hiver est synonyme de beauté. Dans le parc national Jasper, la neige et la glace transforment les montagnes, les forêts, les prés, les rivières et les lacs. Tout y est calme. Les foules estivales ont plié bagage, les arbres ont perdu leurs feuilles, les oiseaux migrateurs sont partis dans le sud et les ours se sont retirés dans leur tanière. La nature est au ralenti en cette période de l’année, mais le parc est tout de même grouillant de vie.

Autres liens

La sécurité en hiver

Activités d'hiver à Jasper!

Les dix meilleures activités hivernales dans le parc national Jasper


1. Balade en voiture
Les routes peu passantes, le ciel bleu de l’Alberta et une excellente équipe d’entretien des routes – il n’en faut pas plus pour faire de l’hiver une période propice au tourisme dans le parc national Jasper. La plupart des voies d’arrêt panoramiques sont déneigées. Restez à l’affût des mouflons, des loups et des orignaux sur la route Maligne, des caribous sur la promenade des Glaciers et des wapitis sur la route du Lac-Pyramid. Les renseignements sur l’état des routes sont mis à jour quotidiennement. Les pneus d’hiver sont obligatoires pour parcourir la promenade des Glaciers.


2. Ski
Que serait l’hiver sans la neige? Pour en profiter, rien n’égale une descente exaltante sur l’une des pentes de la station de ski alpin Marmot Basin ou une balade tranquille en ski de fond sur l’une des nombreuses pistes damées du parc. Vous pouvez louer des skis et prendre des leçons. Consultez les sites suivants pour obtenir des renseignements sur les pistes de ski et les conditions d’enneigement : Rapport sur l'état des sentiers Guide des excursions hivernales www.skimarmot.com (en anglais seulement)


3. Raquette
La raquette est un moyen traditionnel pour explorer le parc en hiver, et la technique est plus facile à apprendre que le ski! Empruntez l’une des nombreuses pistes désignées pour la raquette ou, si vous maîtrisez bien les techniques d’orientation, tracez votre propre parcours. Vous pouvez louer des raquettes et retenir les services d’un guide. Consultez les sites suivants pour obtenir des renseignements sur les pistes et les conditions d’enneigement : Rapport sur l'état des sentiers Guide des excursions hivernales. Le Centre d’information et les boutiques de plein air de la ville vendent des cartes et des guides de poche.


4. Randonnée pédestre
Le parc national Jasper est bien connu pour son vaste réseau de sentiers, et la randonnée pédestre peut se pratiquer à longueur d'année sur bon nombre de sentiers du fond des vallées. Consultez le rapport sur l'état des sentiers pour savoir lesquels sont en meilleur état. Si les surfaces sont glissantes, vous pouvez acheter ou louer des crampons à très bon prix dans de nombreuses boutiques locales.


5. Exploration du canyon Maligne
Cascades gelées, formations de glace surréelles et parois de calcaire givrées… Le canyon Maligne est un lieu féerique en hiver. Plusieurs voyagistes locaux offrent des excursions guidées au fond du canyon : www.jasper.travel (en anglais seulement). Les amateurs d’aventure peuvent faire de l’escalade de glace en compagnie d’un guide de montagne autorisé www.acmg.ca (en anglais seulement) ou s’aventurer seuls dans le canyon s’ils ont les compétences voulues. Vous pouvez acheter des cartes et des guides au Centre d’information ou dans les boutiques de plein air locales.


6. Patinage
Qu’y a-t-il de plus typiquement canadien que le patinage sur un étang gelé? Les lacs Mildred et Pyramid sont déneigés pour le plus grand bonheur des patineurs, et l’épaisseur de la glace est surveillée. Les deux lacs offrent des pistes ovales pour le patinage et des patinoires pour le hockey improvisé. Il arrive que les températures baissent avant l’arrivée de la neige, si bien qu’un grand nombre d’étangs et de lacs sont couverts d’une épaisse couche de glace transparente. Ces conditions vous permettent de patiner à la vitesse d’un oiseau en vol. Il importe de bien vous renseigner avant de vous aventurer sur un lac gelé. Parcs Canada ne surveille pas l’épaisseur de la glace.


7. Aventures en arrière-pays
Si vous êtes à la recherche d’aventures, le vaste arrière-pays du parc national Jasper vous attend. En ski ou en raquette, les excursionnistes aguerris peuvent visiter les coins reculés du parc. Vous n’êtes pas certain que le camping d’hiver soit pour vous? Plusieurs entreprises locales, dont les Tonquin Valley Adventures (en anglais seulement) et le Tonquin Valley Backcountry Lodge (en anglais seulement), ainsi que le Club alpin du Canada, exploitent des auberges de l’arrière-pays qui offrent des services variés. Les déplacements hivernaux dans l’arrière-pays nécessitent de l’entraînement, des connaissances et une bonne part d’autosuffisance. Si vous n’avez pas l’expérience requise, retenez les services d’un guide (en anglais seulement) ou joignez-vous à un groupe du Club alpin (en anglais seulement) pour l’une de ses aventures en montagne.


8. Pêche
La pêche en hiver? Pourquoi pas! Croyez-le ou non, la pêche hivernale jouit d’une grande popularité dans les climats froids. On pêche non seulement pour se nourrir, mais aussi pour apprécier la sérénité des endroits sauvages en hiver. Le Centre d’information et les boutiques locales vendent des permis de pêche, en plus de donner renseignements et conseils. Sommaire du règlement sur la pêche


9. Histoire
Les voyageurs autochtones, les commerçants de fourrures, les explorateurs, les premiers touristes et de nombreuses autres personnes ont laissé leur marque sur le parc national Jasper. Passez au musée Jasper-Yellowhead jaspermuseum.org (en anglais seulement) ou visitez l’un des lieux historiques nationaux du parc pour en savoir davantage sur ces premiers habitants.


10. Détente!
Sauvages ou apprivoisées, toutes les créatures ralentissent instinctivement au retour du froid. Profitez de ces moments de quiétude dans le parc national Jasper pour vous relaxer. Venez apprécier les nombreux restaurants, clubs, boutiques et établissements thermaux de Jasper. www.jasper.travel (en anglais seulement). Plutôt que de tenir tête aux longues soirées d’hiver, régénérez-vous en vous levant et en vous couchant avec le soleil.


Observation et photographie de la faune et des paysages

Wapiti Wapiti © Mark Bradley


Même si les ours hibernent, de nombreux autres animaux sauvages se promènent dans le parc en hiver. Autour du lotissement urbain de Jasper, il n’est pas rare d’apercevoir des wapitis, des cerfs mulets et des coyotes. La route du Lac-Maligne est aussi un bon endroit pour observer les orignaux, le mouflons de montagne et les caribous. Des loups s’aventurent parfois près des lacs Pyramid et Patricia et le long de la promenade de Glaciers, et des hardes de wapitis se promènent le long de la route 16 en direction est. N’oubliez pas toutefois que ce sont tous des animaux sauvages. Si vous en apercevez un, tenez-vous a une bonne distance pour assurer votre propre sécurité et ne les nourrissez pas; c’est votre survie et la leur qui en dépendent. L’hiver est une saison éprouvante pour les animaux. C’est en respectant leur besoin de se nourrir et de se reposer en toute tranquillité que vous les aiderez à survivre. Même s’ils se tiennent la plupart du temps loin des êtres humains, le lièvre d’Amérique, la martre, la belette, le lynx, le renard, le couguar et le carcajou son bien actifs dans le parc en hiver. Vous ne les verrez peut-être pas, mais vous aprecevrez sans doute des traces de leur passage. Le manteau de neige qui recouvre le parc révèle les allées et venues de ses habitants à quiconque prend le temps d’interpréter les traces qui y ont été laissées.

Camping d'hiver

Camping Wilcox
Les campeurs hardis qui souhaitent passer la nuit dans le secteur du champ de glace Columbia peuvent monter leur tente au point de départ du sentier du Col-Wilcox. Ce terrain n’est pas entretenu en hiver. Il n’y a ni eau, ni collecte des déchets ni service d’entretien. Remportez tous vos déchets et n’oubliez pas que la neige pourrait vous empêcher d’accéder aux toilettes sèches. Les feux de camp sont interdits. Les aires de stationnement sont déneigées après les routes. Les campeurs doivent se munir de pelles. Il faut un permis de bivouac pour passer la nuit au point de départ du sentier du Col-Wilcox. Faites le 780-852-6176 pour en savoir davantage.

Camping Wapiti
Le camping Wapiti est un excellent choix pour les activités en famille, peu importe la saison. Il est situé à une distance commode de la ville pour les approvisionnements ou pour les sorties au cinéma par temps pluvieux. En hiver, les campeurs sont souvent les premiers à tracer une piste sur les pentes et les pistes de ski de fond (parce que, pour véritablement apprécier un feu de camp, vous devez d’abord vous en servir pour dégeler vos bottes de ski!).

Vous cherchez à louer ou à acheter de l'équipement?

Jasper Source For Sports
406 Patricia Street
780-852-3654


Totem Ski Shop
408 Connaught Drive
780-852-3078


Skis Please
618 Connaught Drive
780-931-7238


Edge Control
626 Connaught Drive
780-852-4945


On-Line Sports & Tackle
600 Patricia Street
780-852-3630

Vicious
630 Connaught Drive
780-852-1111


Freewheel Street
610 Patricia Street
780-852-3820
Gravity Gear
618 Patricia Street
780-852-3155


N. B. : Vous avez besoin du logiciel Adobe Acrobat Reader pour lire la version PDF.

Si vous n'avez pas accès au site de téléchargement d'Adobe, vous pouvez télécharger le logiciel Acrobat Reader d'une page accessible.

Si l'accessibilité à un document PDF pose un problème, vous pouvez convertir le fichier en format texte HTML ou ASCII en utilisant l'un des services d'accès offerts par Adobe (en anglais seulement).