Jasper National Park

Icefields Parkway Travel Guide

Directions

From Jasper townsite, proceed west along Connaught Drive. At the intersection of the Yellowhead Highway 16, proceed through the lights straight ahead. From Lake Louise, proceed west along the Trans-Canada Highway (Highway 1). After 3 km, exit and follow the signs.

Icefields Parkway in Winter 
Icefields Parkway in Winter © Parks Canada

Season

The Icefields Parkway is open year round. In the winter time, expect temporary closures (as much as 3 days) after heavy snowfalls as crews clear the highway of snow and avalanche debris. Check conditions before you go.

Time

Driving time from one end of the 230 km parkway to the other varies from more than three to as many as five hours, depending on traffic.

Wildlife Viewing

Opportunities to see elk, moose, goats, sheep, bears and caribou along the Icefields Parkway are excellent. Remember that watching wildlife, especially beside the road, comes with responsibility. For your protection and their survival, please:

  • pull off the road completely or into provided roadside pull-offs;
  • never feed or approach wildlife, this is unlawful in national parks;
  • don't get out of your vehicle (use a telephoto lens to get the 'perfect picture');
  • quickly continue along your way so that others may enjoy the opportunity also.

Safety

summer_icefields 
Icefields Parkway in Summer 
© Rogier Gruys

The parkway traverses high country parallel to the continental divide, crossing two mountain passes and countless avalanche paths. Conditions can change at any time and services along the route are limited, especially during the winter. In the summer travelers should pack four-season clothing and prepare for the unexpected.

In winter: Slow down and watch out for black ice (thin layers of ice covering road surfaces) especially on bridge decks. Obey speed limits and do not stop in avalanche zones. Vehicles should be equipped with winter tires and emergency gear (shovel, flashlight, candles, blankets, first aid kit, food). The use of cruise control is not recommended.

The parkway takes you through grizzly country. Visitors who spot grizzlies, black bears or other wildlife from the road should stay in their vehicles and avoid harassing the animal or endangering their own safety.

Obey all posted speed limits and keep an eye out for cyclists - the parkway is a popular cycle touring route. Pulling over into the shoulder to allow faster vehicles to pass is dangerous and should be avoided.

Learning Experiences

Displays in the Icefield Centre's Glacier Gallery tell the story of glaciers, high-country ecology and the fascinating history of the area. Facilities are open from early May to mid-October.

Roadside exhibits at pull-offs and points of interest explain the wildlife, geology and history of the area.

Tips

The park publication Columbia Icefield, Ice Apex of the Canadian Rockies, is a great publication to take with you to the Icefield. It can be purchased in the Friends of Jasper National Park bookstore in the Jasper Information Centre.

Disabled Access  

Accessible

The Icefield Centre is fully accessible with a long, rather steep ramp on the north side of the building. A courtesy vehicle can be requested for further assistance at the Snocoach desk in the centre.

Highlights

  • Athabasca and North Saskatchewan rivers, Canadian heritage rivers in the area.
  • Athabasca Falls at kilometre 31.
  • Goat Lick near Mt. Kerkeslin at kilometre 38.
  • Sunwapta Falls at kilometre 55.
  • Columbia Icefield, Athabasca Glacier and Icefield Centre at kilometre 103.
  • Sunwapta Pass, elevation 2035 metres marks the boundary between Jasper and Banff National Parks at kilometre 108.
  • The Weeping Wall at kilometre 125.
  • Saskatchewan River Crossing kilometre 153.
  • Mistaya Canyon trailhead kilometre 159.
  • Bow Summit and Peyto Lake viewpoint at kilometer 190.
  • Trans-Canada Highway (end of Icefields Parkway) kilometre 230.

Contact:

Lake Louise Visitor Centre (403) 522-3833
Banff Visitor Centre (403) 762-1550
Jasper Information Centre (780) 852-6176
Icefield Centre (780) 852-6288

Parc national Jasper

Guide touristique de la promenade des Glaciers

Directions

Depuis Jasper, engagez-vous sur le boulevard Connaught en direction ouest. Au croisement de la route Yellowhead (route 16), continuez tout droit après le feu de circulation. Depuis Lake Louise, prenez la Transcanadienne (route 1) en direction ouest. Au bout de 3 km, prenez la sortie et suivez les panneaux indicateurs.

L'hiver sur la promenade des Glaciers 
L'hiver sur la promenade des Glaciers © C. Roy


Saison touristique

La promenade des Glaciers est ouverte à longueur d'année. En hiver, elle peut être fermée temporairement (jusqu'à trois jours) à la suite de chutes de neige abondantes pour permettre aux équipes d'entretien de procéder au déneigement et à l'enlèvement des débris laissés par les avalanches. Renseignez-vous sur l'état de la route avant de partir.

Durée de l'excursion

Il faut de trois à cinq heures, selon la circulation, pour parcourir les 230 km de la promenade.

Observation de la faune

Les visiteurs ont de très bonnes chances de voir des wapitis, des orignaux, des chèvres, des mouflons, des ours et des caribous le long de la promenade des Glaciers. N'oubliez pas, cependant : l'observation de la faune, surtout au bord de la route, comporte des dangers. Pour votre protection et la survie des animaux, observez les règles suivantes :

  • Rangez votre véhicule complètement hors de la route ou dans les voies d'arrêt;
  • Abstenez-vous de nourrir un animal ou de vous en approcher; il est d'ailleurs illégal de le faire dans les parcs nationaux;
  • Résistez à la tentation de sortir de votre véhicule (servez-vous d'un téléobjectif pour faire la « photo parfaite »);
  • Reprenez la route immédiatement après pour donner aux autres la chance d'observer la faune.

Sécurité

L'été sur la promenade des Glaciers 
L'été sur la promenade des Glaciers 
© Rogier Gruys

La promenade parcourt des régions élevées et longe la ligne continentale de partage des eaux; elle traverse deux cols et d'innombrables couloirs d'avalanche. Les conditions météorologiques fluctuent de manière imprévisible et les services le long de la route sont restreints, surtout en hiver. En été, les visiteurs doivent apporter des vêtements quatre-saisons pour parer à toute éventualité.

En hiver : Ralentissez et faites attention à la glace noire (couche de glace mince sur la chaussée), tout particulièrement sur les tabliers de pont. Respectez les limites de vitesse et n'arrêtez jamais votre véhicule dans les zones d'avalanche. Votre véhicule devrait être chaussé de pneus à neige et équipé d'une trousse de secours (y compris une pelle, une lampe de poche, des chandelles, des couvertures, une trousse de premiers soins et de la nourriture). Il est recommandé de ne pas utiliser le régulateur de vitesse du véhicule.

La promenade traverse le pays des ours. Les automobilistes qui aperçoivent un grizzli, un ours noir ou d'autres animaux sauvages le long de la route doivent rester à l'intérieur de leur véhicule, ne pas irriter les animaux ou mettre leur propre sécurité en péril.

Il faut respecter les limites de vitesse et être vigilant à l'égard des cyclistes, car la promenade est un circuit populaire. Pour des raisons de sécurité, les automobilistes ne doivent pas se ranger sur l'accotement pour se laisser doubler par les véhicules plus rapides.

Occasions d'apprentissage

La Galerie des Glaciers, située dans le Centre du Champ-de-Glace, compte une exposition d'interprétation sur les glaciers, l'écologie alpine et l'histoire fascinante de la région. Les installations sont ouvertes du début mai à la mi-octobre.

Des panneaux d'interprétation le long de la promenade et aux points d'intérêt renseignent sur la faune, la géologie et l'histoire de la région.

Conseils

La publication du parc Columbia Icefield, Ice Apex of the Canadian Rockies, est un excellent ouvrage à apporter au champ de glace. Vous pouvez vous en procurer un exemplaire à la librairie des Amis du parc national Jasper, au Centre d'information de Jasper.

Accès aux personnes handicapées

Accessible

Le Centre du Champ-de-Glace est accessible aux personnes en fauteuil roulant. Une longue rampe, assez à pic, mène au centre du côté nord du bâtiment. On peut également s'adresser au personnel du comptoir des autocars des neiges de Brewster, dans le centre, pour obtenir un service de transport gratuit.

Points d'intérêt

  • L'Athabasca et la Saskatchewan Nord, rivières du patrimoine canadien
  • Les chutes Athabasca, au km 31
  • Les dépôts de minéraux, près du mont Kerkeslin, au km 38
  • Les chutes Sunwapta, au km 55
  • Le champ de glace Columbia, le glacier Athabasca et le Centre du Champ-de-Glace, au km 103
  • Le col Sunwapta (2 035 m), qui chevauche les parcs nationaux Jasper et Banff, au km 108
  • La Paroi en pleurs (Weeping Wall), au km 125
  • Saskatchewan River Crossing, au km 153
  • Le point de départ du sentier menant au canyon Mistaya, au km 159
  • Le sommet Bow et le belvédère du lac Peyto, au km 190
  • La Transcanadienne (fin de la promenade des Glaciers), au km 230

Pour communiquer avec nous :

Centre d'accueil de Lake Louise (403) 522-3833
Centre d'accueil de Banff (403) 762-1550
Centre d'information de Jasper (780) 852-6176
Centre du Champ-de-Glace (780) 852-6288