Jasper National Park of Canada

Medicine Lake

Medicine Lake
Medicine Lake
© Parks Canada

Summer visitors assume that Medicine is a normal mountain lake, but it isn't.

During the summer, glacier melt waters flood the lake, sometimes overflowing it. In fall and winter the lake disappears, becoming a mudflat with scattered pools of water connected by a stream. But there is no visible channel draining the lake – so where then does the water go?

The answer is, "out the bottom", like a bathtub without a plug. The Maligne River pours into the lake from the south and drains out through sinkholes in the bottom. The water then streams through a cave system formed in the slightly soluble limestone rock, surfacing again in the area of Maligne Canyon 16 kilometers downstream. This is one of the largest known sinking rivers in the Western Hemisphere and may be the largest inaccessible cave system anywhere in the world!

Summer melt water coming into the lake exceeds the capacity of the sinkholes to drain it. Decreased melt water in the late summer and fall means that the lake's sinkholes can drain the lake faster then the Maligne River can fill it. This creates the disappearing lake phenomena. Aboriginal peoples called the lake Medicine because of its seemingly magical powers, and the United Nations created the Rocky Mountain Parks World Heritage Site partly because of this unique drainage system.

Medicine Lake
Medicine Lake
© Parks Canada

Parc national Jasper

Lac Medicine

Lac Medicine © Parcs Canada / R. Bray  Où l'eau s'en va-t-elle? © Parcs Canada / R. Bray



Les visiteurs estivaux tiennent pour acquis que le lac Medicine est un lac de montagne ordinaire, mais ce n'est pas le cas.

En été, les eaux de fonte glaciaire alimentent le lac, jusqu'à le faire déborder parfois. En automne et en hiver, le lac disparaît pour laisser place à une vasière parsemée de bassins d'eau reliés par un ruisseau. Mais aucun canal de drainage n'est visible; où donc l'eau s'en va-t-elle?

La réponse est « sous le fond », comme dans une baignoire sans bouchon. La rivière Maligne se déverse à l'extrémité sud du lac et coule par les dolines du fond. L'eau s'écoule alors par un réseau souterrain formé dans la roche calcaire légèrement soluble pour refaire surface dans le secteur du canyon Maligne, à 16 km en aval. Il s'agit de l'une des plus importantes rivières souterraines de l'hémisphère occidental et pourrait constituer le plus grand réseau de cavernes inaccessible du monde!

L'eau de fonte estivale qui remplit le lac dépasse la capacité de drainage des dolines. La diminution des eaux de fonte à la fin de l'été et à l'automne permet aux dolines de drainer le lac en moins de temps que la rivière Maligne en met pour le remplir, ce qui crée le phénomène de disparition du lac. Les peuples autochtones avaient baptisé ainsi le lac Medicine en raison de ses pouvoirs apparemment magiques, et les Nations unies ont créé le site du patrimoine mondial des parcs des montagnes Rocheuses canadiennes en raison, notamment, de ce réseau de drainage unique en son genre.