Jasper National Park

National Aboriginal Day

National Aboriginal Day
Saturday June 22, 2013

11:00am – 4:00pm on the Jasper National Park Information Centre Lawn
Feature presentations at 8:00pm at the Whistlers Campground Outdoor Theatre 


Look, listen and learn as the Indigenous peoples of this land tell and celebrate their own stories in their own way – naturally. 


The presence of Indigenous peoples in Jasper National Park and throughout this great land is far older than Canada itself. Theirs is a living connection with the land that remains strong to this day. National Aboriginal Day is a day for all Canadians to acknowledge and celebrate this powerful, continuous relationship. 

On June 22nd from 11am to 4pm on the Information Centre Lawn, enjoy authentic sights and sounds of local and regional Aboriginal culture at its finest. Sample freshly made bannock, watch dancers in colourful regalia and listen to powerful drumming. Enjoy speeches in native languages and join in the traditional circle dance with visitors from around the world.

This year, Jasper’s National Aboriginal Day celebrations will highlight the traditional culture of the Sucker Creek First Nation. The time-honoured experience of these proud Cree people will be shared through the creative expressions and skills of their artists, musicians and Elders.

Resource Personnel

Sherrill Meropoulis
Aboriginal Liaison
Jasper National Park
780-852-6154
sherrill.meropoulis@pc.gc.ca 

Greg Deagle
Aboriginal Liaison Administrative Assistant
Jasper National Park
780-820-2118
greg.deagle@pc.gc.ca

Parc national Jasper

Journée Nationale des Autochtones

Journée nationale des Autochtones
Le samedi 22 juin 2013

De 11 h à 16 h, sur la pelouse du Centre d’information du parc national Jasper
Programme spécial à 20 h au
théâtre en plein air du camping Whistlers


Venez voir et écouter les Autochtones de la région, célébrez avec eux et laissez-les vous raconter leurs récits à la façon autochtone – tout naturellement.

La présence des peuples autochtones dans le parc national Jasper et sur toute l’étendue de ce grand territoire date de bien avant la création même du Canada. Le lien qui les unit à la terre est bien vivant et reste à ce jour intact. La Journée nationale des Autochtones est une occasion pour toute la population canadienne de reconnaître et de mettre en honneur cette relation puissante et continue.

Le 22 juin de 11 h à 16 h, sur la pelouse du Centre d’information, venez apprécier les plus beaux exemples d’images et de sons authentiques des cultures autochtones locales et régionales. Goutez à du pain bannock fraîchement préparé, admirez des danseurs parés de leurs vêtements d’apparat et écoutez le son puissant des tambours. Écoutez des discours en langues autochtones et joignez-vous à la danse traditionnelle en cercle en compagnie de visiteurs de partout au monde.

Cette année, les festivités qui auront lieu à Jasper à l’occasion de la Journée nationale des Autochtones mettront en valeur la culture traditionnelle de la Première Nation de Sucker Creek. Les fiers artistes, musiciens et ainés de ce peuple cri nous transmettront, par l’entremise de leur expression créative et de leurs compétences, leur vécu immuable dans la région de Jasper.

Personnes-ressources

Sherrill Meropoulis
Liaison avec les Autochtones
Parc national Jasper
780-852-6154 
sherrill.meropoulis@pc.gc.ca

Greg Deagle
Adjoint administratif, liaison avec les Autochtones
Parc national Jasper
780-820-2118
greg.deagle@pc.gc.ca