Common menu bar links

Elk Island National Park

2014 Calendar of Events


Children dance while enjoying live musical entertainment at Elk Island National Park.
© Parks Canada

Save the date!

Elk Island National Park’s 2014 special events will feature a variety of activities for visitors of all ages. Musical entertainment, cultural performances, guest speakers, outdoor programs, activities, culinary delights and more await you at Elk Island National Park this summer.

Please check back frequently for updates and new events or follow us on Twitter @ElkIslandNP.

The Bison Festival:
A celebration of conservation, culture and cuisine!

Saturday August 9, 2014

Bison were nearly lost from North America! But by the early 20th century, bison purchased from Montana and brought to Elk Island National Park began to slowly re-build their numbers. Today nearly every plains bison you see in southern Canada, whether in conservation or domestic herds, had an ancestor in Elk Island National Park. We think that’s something to celebrate! Join us for a rip-snorting good time at Elk Island National Park’s first Bison Festival, celebrating all things bison!


The Wardens: Bradley Bischoff, Ray Schmidt and Scott Ward

The Main Stage

12:00 – 18:00
The bison festival main stage will be alive with Music, drama, dance and poetry. Relax and enjoy the musical styling of The Wardens, a live action drama performed by Parks Canada staff, traditional dance performed by The Iron Head Dancers and the award winning poetry of Marilyn Dumont.

The Wardens

Live Musical Performance
Enjoy superb musicianship, haunting vocals and chilling tales from three men who spent their careers serving Canadians and protecting our country’s natural heritage. The Wardens - Scott Ward, Bradley Bischoff and Ray Schmidt share rich stories - from protecting Grizzly bears to rescuing stranded hikers to lonely nights on the trail. These "men for the mountains" share a special blend of music and storytelling from Canada's richest wilderness.

The Iron Head Dancers

Traditional Dance
The Iron Head dancers are a group of recognized and established dancers from Paul First Nation who have performed the Powwow dance across North America.

Rooted in the dances and techniques of the Powwow dance, each of the Iron Head Dancers are dedicated to the demonstration and perpetuation of the Aboriginal culture through its music, song, and dance. While retaining the character of the Traditional Aboriginal song and dance, the dancers include more newer and contemporary dance pieces with intricate footwork, and effortless movements while keeping up with the beat of the drum.

Marilyn Dumont

Award winning poetry
Marilyn’s poetry has won provincial and national awards. She has been the Writer-in-Residence at the Edmonton Public Library, the University of Alberta, the University of Toronto-Massey College, Windsor University, Brandon University and Grant MacEwan University. She has also been faculty in Literary Arts and the Aboriginal Emerging Writers Program at the Banff Centre. She teaches Creative Writing and English for Athabasca University and the University of Alberta.

BISON WILL RISE AGAIN The Musical (NEW this summer)

Canada's Bison Musical! Come and see Bibi Bison's debut as songstress and star of the plains as Queen of the Herd! Join Parks Canada interpreters for a live performance celebrating how Elk Island National Park contributed to the survival of plains bison.


Bibi the Bison sings in Bison Will Rise Again: The Musical at Elk Island National Park.


Programs and Activities

Indigenous Crafts and Knowledge Display

15:30– 18:00
I bet your boots would look better beaded! Try your hand at Aboriginal crafts. Materials Provided. While you are crafting Parks Canada staff will share traditional knowledge about how aboriginal people used plants for medicine and food and what steps were taken by aboriginal people to prepare for winter.

Bison Back Stage Shuttle Bus and Tour

13:00, 14:00, 15:00 and 16:00
Your behind-the-scenes VIP access to bison conservation at Elk Island National Park! Experience a tour of the Plains Bison Handling Facility featuring hands-on activities and demonstrations. The facility is located in the visitor centre area. A shuttle Bus with Parks Canada staff on board will pick up visitors at the event site and transport them to the tour location.

Voyageur Canoe Rides

12:00 – 15:00

Face Painting

13:00 – 17:00


Fun under the Discovery Dome at Elk Island National Park


Demonstrations and Displays

The Bison Conservation Story

12:00 – 20:00
Parks Canada staff will be on site throughout the festival sharing the story of Canada’s bison. Stop by the Bison Conservation Story display tent and discover how Elk Island National Park has been working for over 100 years to bring bison back from their near extinction at the turn of the 20th century.

The Bison Festival Kitchen

14:30 – 18:00
Join the Alberta Culinary Tourism Alliance and two local chefs as they display their culinary skills and share bison cooking tips, techniques and recipes! Follow your nose and meet Chef Shane Chartrand from Sage restaurant at the River Cree Resort and Chef Tyler Youzwa from the Hotel Selkirk in Fort Edmonton Park.

The Canadian Bison Association and Bison Producers of Alberta

12:00 – 20:00
Explore Canada’s bison ranching history! Join domestic bison industry leaders and learn about life on a bison ranch, the benefits of bison as a healthy red meat and discover the role Elk Island National Park Played in helping to develop this industry in Canada.

 

American Prairie Reserve

Celebrate international bison conservation! Join our special guests from the American Prairie Reserve as they share how plains bison from Elk Island National Park are a piece of the puzzle in Great Plains restoration as they work to restore millions of acres of native prairie in Montana.

Other event displays include; the Friends of Elk Island Society, the Elk Island National Park Information Booth and Teepee.


Special Guest Presentations at the Astotin Theatre

18:00 – 21:00

Buffalo Calling

16:00 & 18:00
In 2013 PHD student and film maker Tasha Hubard produced the animated short film Buffalo Calling. Join the project animator Mitchell Poundmaker for the Elk Island premiere of this captivating and compelling film depicting the history of bison on the Great Plains.

The Sturgeon River Plains Bison Stewards

18:30
Did you know that Canada only has one free ranging herd of plains bison within its natural range? Join former chair and current member at large of the Sturgeon River Plans Bison Stewards, Gord Vaadeland and learn how Prince Albert National Park and its neighbors work together to provide a home to roam for the Sturgeon River Plains Bison Herd.

The Canadian Bison Association

19:00
Discover Canada’s bison ranching history! Join Canadian Bison Association Chair Thomas Acherman and Discover about life on a bison ranch, the benefits of bison as a healthy red meat and discover the role Elk Island National Park Played in helping to develop this industry in Canada. 

American Prairie Reserve

19:30
Celebrate international bison conservation! Special guest speakers, Kyran Kunkel and Betty Holder, from American Prairie Reserve will share how they are working to restore millions of acres of native prairie in Montana. Discover how plains bison from Elk Island National Park are helping this restoration of their ancestral home on the American Great Plains.


Visitors enjoy the food at Elk Island National Park events.


Festival Food

12:00 – 20:00
Mobile food vendors will be on site serving delicious bison meals. Food services provided by;
Prairie Dog Grill
Sandy View Farms
Elk Island Golf Course Club House


The Bison Festival Craft Fair

12:00 – 20:00
Local artists, crafters, producers and suppliers will be selling their goods at the bison festival, including;
Wes Olsen and Johane Janelle – Bison Books, Photography and art.
Alberta Fine Leather Products – Fine leather products crafted from bison leather
Circe 4 Metal Art – Sculpture depicting bison and prairie culture
Carolyn Feir – Bison and wilderness inspired craft and fine art
Canadian Rangeland Bison Ltd. – Bison meat products
Cash-in-Time – Mobile Automated Teller service


Event Parking Shuttle Service

13:00 – 20:00
The Bison festival is going to be a fantastic event! To help visitors enjoy their time at the festival Elk Island National Park will provide a parking shuttle service from the Astotin Lake recreation area event site to the following trail head parking lots within the park;
Shirley Lake Trail
Hayburger Trail
Moss Lake Trail
Amisk Wuche Trail
Beaver Pond Trail


Beaver Hills Dark Sky Preserve Anniversary

Sunday August 31, 2014

Sunday, August 31st marks the 8th anniversary of the creation of the Beaver Hills Dark Sky Preserve. Join us for a celestial celebration of culture, community and conservation!

The Beaver Hills Dark Sky Preserve anniversary will also feature special astronomy presentations and public stargazing with Royal Astronomical Society of Canada volunteers. Watch this page for a schedule of events and guest speakers.

Parc national Elk Island

Calendrier d’activités 2014


Des enfants dansent au son des musiciens au parc national Elk Island.
© Parcs Canada

Date à retenir!

Une variété d’activités pour visiteurs de tous âges seront offertes en 2014 au parc national Elk Island. Des représentations musicales et culturelles, des conférenciers, des programmes et des activités en plein air, des délices culinaires et bien plus seront au rendez-vous cet été.

Consultez régulièrement cette page Web pour connaître les mises à jour et les nouvelles activités, ou suivez-nous sur Twitter @PNElkIsland.

Le festival du bison : Une célébration de conservation, de culture et de cuisine!

Le samedi 9 août 2014

Le bison a échappé de peu à l’extinction totale de l’Amérique du Nord! Mais au début du 20e siècle, des bisons sont achetés du Montana et rapportés au parc national Elk Island. Au fil du temps, leur nombre augmente progressivement. Aujourd’hui, presque chaque bison des plaines dans le sud du Canada, qu’il fasse partie d’un troupeau domestique ou d’une harde de conservation, descend d’un bison du parc national Elk Island. À notre avis, il y a vraiment de quoi célébrer! Soyez des nôtres pour passer de très bons moments dans le cadre du festival du bison au parc national Elk Island, et fêter tout ce qui est lié au bison!


The Wardens: Bradley Bischoff, Ray Schmidt and Scott Ward

Scène principale

15 h – 18 h 
Musique, théâtre, danse et poésie vont faire vibrer la scène principale du festival. Appréciez en tout confort le numéro musical des Wardens, un drame en direct joué par le personnel de Parcs Canada, les danses traditionnelles des Iron Head Dancers, ainsi que la poésie primée de Marilyn Dumont.

Wardens

Musiciens en scène
Appréciez la maestria musicale, les voix envoûtantes et les récits à donner le frisson de trois gardes de parc ayant consacré leur carrière au service des Canadiens et à la protection du patrimoine naturel de notre pays. The Wardens – Scott Ward, Bradley Bischoff et Ray Schmidt ne manquent pas d’histoires à raconter, après avoir protégé des ours grizzly, s’être portés au secours de randonneurs coincés et avoir passé de longues nuits solitaires à la belle étoile. Hommes des montagnes, ils vous apportent un mélange unique de musique et de récits issus de la nature sauvage la plus riche du Canada.

The Iron Head Dancers

Danse traditionnelle
Les Iron Head Dancers sont un groupe de danseurs de la Première Nation Paul dont la renommée n’est plus à faire. Ils ont dansé la danse pow-wow partout en Amérique du Nord.

Plié aux danses et techniques de la danse pow-wow, chacun des Iron Head Dancers est voué à préserver et faire connaître la culture autochtone, par le biais de la musique, du chant et de la danse. Dans la lignée du chant et de la danse autochtones traditionnels, les danseurs incluent de nouveaux numéros contemporains, calquant pas complexes et fluides mouvements sur le rythme des tambours.

Marilyn Dumont

Poésie couronnée de prix
La poésie de Marilyn lui a valu des prix au niveau provincial et national. Elle a été écrivaine résidente à la bibliothèque publique d’Edmonton, à l’Université de l’Alberta, au Massey College de l’université de Toronto, à l’Université de Windsor, à l’Université de Brandon et à l’Université Grant MacEwan. Elle a également enseigné les arts littéraires et le programme des écrivains autochtones émergents au Banff Centre. Elle enseigne la création littéraire et l’anglais à l’Université Athabasca et à l’Université de l’Alberta.

La comédie musicale BISON WILL RISE AGAIN (NOUVEAU cet été)

Canada's Bison Musical! Quel spectacle! Venez voir Bibi bison faire ses débuts en chanson, la star des plaines et la reine du troupeau! Venez voir les interprètes du parc vous présenter un spectacle sur scène célébrant la contribution du parc national Elk Island à la survie du bison des plaines.


Bibi le bison chante dans le spectacle musical La renaissance du bison au Parc national Elk Island.


Programmes et activités

Exposition d’artisanat et de savoir autochtones

15 h – 18 h
Parions que vos bottes seraient plus belles si elles étaient perlées! Essayez-vous à l’artisanat autochtone. Tout le matériel est fourni. Les mains à votre ouvrage, écoutez le personnel de Parcs Canada vous faire part de savoirs ancestraux : comment les autochtones utilisaient les plantes pour se soigner et se nourrir, et comment ils se préparaient à affronter l’hiver.

Les bisons en coulisses - Navette et visite guidée

13 h, 14 h, 15 h et 16 h
Votre laissez-passer officiel pour les coulisses de la conservation du bison au parc national Elk Island! Venez visiter l’installation de rassemblement des bisons des plaines où l’on vous propose des activités pratiques et des démonstrations. L’installation est située dans la zone du centre d’accueil. Accompagnés de membres du personnel de Parcs Canada, les visiteurs prennent sur place une navette qui les amène jusqu’au lieu de la visite guidée.

Embarquez à bord d’un canot de voyageurs

12 h – 15 h

Maquillage pour enfants

13 h – 17 h


Des activités amusantes sous le Dôme de découvertes au Parc national Elk Island


Démonstrations et expositions

Histoire de la conservation du bison

12 h – 20 h
Tout au long du festival, le personnel de Parcs Canada sera sur place pour vous faire part de l’histoire du bison du Canada. Faites halte à la tente d’exposition de la conservation du bison et découvrez comment le parc national Elk Island œuvre depuis 100 ans à rétablir le bison, après son extinction quasi-totale au début du 20e siècle.

Cuisine du festival du bison

14 h 30 – 18 h 
Comment découvrir l’Alberta Culinary Tourism Alliance et les talents culinaires de deux chefs de la région? Comment avoir des trucs, techniques et recettes pour faire cuire le bison? C’est simple. Suivez votre nez, qui vous mènera au chef Shane Chartrand, du restaurant Sage, au River Cree Resort, et au chef Tyler Youzwa de l’hôtel Selkirk, au parc Fort Edmonton.

Association canadienne du bison et Bison Producers of Alberta

12 h – 20 h
Explorez l’histoire de l’élevage du bison en Alberta, sous la houlette de têtes de file du secteur. Découvrez à quoi ressemble la vie dans un élevage de bisons, ainsi que les avantages du bison comme viande rouge saine, sans oublier le rôle joué par le parc national Elk Island pour appuyer le développement de ce secteur au Canada.

 

American Prairie Reserve

Venez célébrer la conservation des bisons à l’échelle internationale! Joignez-vous à nos invités spéciaux de l’American Prairie Reserve qui expliqueront le rôle important que jouent les bisons des plaines du parc national Elk Island dans la restauration des grandes plaines et le travail qui est fait pour rétablir des millions d’acres de prairie indigène au Montana.

Mentionnons aussi les expositions de la Société des amis Elk Island, ainsi que du kiosque d’information et tipi du parc national Elk Island.


Présentations invitées au théâtre Astotin

18 h  – 21 h

Buffalo Calling

16 h et 18 h 
En 2013, l’étudiante en doctorat et cinéaste Tasha Hubard a réalisé un court métrage animé : Buffalo Calling. Joignez-vous à l’animateur du projet, Mitchell Poundmaker, pour la première à Elk Island de ce film captivant et émouvant présentant l’histoire du bison des grandes plaines.

The Sturgeon River Plains Bison Stewards

18 h 30
Saviez-vous que le Canada a un des seuls troupeaux de bisons des plaines qui évolue en liberté dans son aire de distribution naturelle? Gord Vaadeland, ancien président des Sturgeon River Plains Bison Stewards, maintenant membre éloigné, vous parlera de la façon dont le parc national de Prince Albert et son voisin œuvrent de concert à donner au troupeau de bisons des plaines de la rivière Sturgeon l’espace voulu pour se déplacer librement.

Association canadienne du bison

19 h 
Apprenez l’histoire de l’élevage du bison au Canada. Avec le président de l’Association canadienne du bison, découvrez à quoi ressemble la vie dans un élevage de bisons, ainsi que les avantages du bison comme viande rouge saine, sans oublier le rôle joué par le parc national Elk Island pour appuyer le développement de ce secteur au Canada.

American Prairie Reserve

19 h 30
Venez célébrer la conservation des bisons à l’échelle internationale! Nos conférenciers invités, Kyran Kunkel et Betty Holder, de l’American Prairie Reserve, expliqueront leur travail qui vise à restaurer des millions d’acres de prairie indigène au Montana. Découvrez comment les bisons des plaines du parcs national Elk Island participent au rétablissement de leur territoire ancestral dans les grandes plaines des États-Unis.


Des visiteurs dégustent de la nourriture aux événements du Parc national Elk Island.


Alimentation au festival

12 h – 20 h
Des marchands ambulants sur place serviront de délicieux repas de bison. Restauration assurée par : 
Prairie Dog Grill
Sandy View Farms
Chalet du terrain de golf d’Elk Island


Foire d’artisanat du festival du bison

12:00 – 20:00 
Dans le cadre du festival du bison, de nombreux artistes, artisans, producteurs et fournisseurs de la région vendront leurs produits, dont :
Wes Olsen et Johane Janelle – Bison Books, art et photographie.
Alberta Fine Leather Products - maroquinerie de qualité en cuir de bison
Circe 4 Metal Art – Sculpture décrivant la culture du bison et des prairies
Carolyn Feir – Art et artisanat inspirés par le bison et la nature inviolée
Canadian Rangeland Bison Ltée – Produits de viande de bison
Cash-in-Time – Guichet automatique bancaire mobile 


Service de navette de stationnement pour l’événement

13 h – 20 h
Le festival du bison sera un événement mémorable. Pour aider les visiteurs à en profiter au maximum, le parc national Elk Island, assurera un service de navette de stationnement de l’aire récréative du lac Astotin, où se tient l’événement, aux stationnements du début des sentiers du parc : 
Sentier du Lac-Shirley
Sentier Hayburger
Sentier du Lac-Moss
Sentier Amisk Wuche
Sentier de l’étang des castors 


Anniversaire de la réserve de ciel étoilé des Collines-Beaver

Le dimanche 31 août 2014

Le dimanche 31 août souligne le huitième anniversaire de la création de la réserve de ciel étoilé des Collines-Beaver. Soyez des nôtres pour fêter la culture, la communauté et la conservation!

Dans le cadre de l’anniversaire de la réserve de ciel étoilé des Collines-Beaver, le parc organise des activités, notamment des exposés spéciaux sur l’astronomie et l’observation des étoiles en compagnie des bénévoles de la Société royale d’astronomie du Canada. Consultez cette page pour connaître le calendrier des activités et les conférenciers.