Common menu bar links

Grade 6 - “F.I.T (Forest Investigator Team)”

  • Program Type – Guided Hike (3.5km) and Workshop
  • Location –Astotin Lake Area and Lakeview Trail
  • Program Length – 3 Hours 
  • # of Participants – 30 (max.)

The biological diversity of the Beaver Hills has been protected in Elk Island National Park for over 100 years . During this same period the area surrounding the park has grown to become an industrial metropolis, fuelling Canada’s economy. A new company, Sneer Enterprises Inc., claims that part of Elk Island National Park no longer requires protection because they have never seen any animals in that area. Therefore they would like to partner with Elk Island and develop a new theme park and shopping plaza to entertain the over one million people living in the greater Edmonton area.

Forest Investigation Team!
Forest Investigation Team 
© Parks Canada

Students hit the trail and conduct an investigation to determine if Sneer Enterprises Inc.’s claims and propositions are valid. They present their evidence, opinions and conclusions at a town hall style meeting and help Elk Island decide whether to protect or to develop a portion of our park.

Students participate in a fictitious but potentially real scenario in the F.I.T. (Forest Investigator Team) program, which demonstrates how Parks Canada uses physical, biological and social science as well as public feedback to help manage its protected areas. This program connects to a number of elements in the Grade 6 Science, Social Studies and Physical Education curriculum.

6e année – « E.E.F. (Équipe d’enquête en forêt) »

  • Type de programme – Promenade guidée (3,5 km) et atelier
  • Endroit – secteur du lac Astotin et sentier Vue-sur-le-Lac
  • Durée du programme – 3 heures
  • Nombre de participants – 30 (max.)

Depuis plus de 100 ans, le parc national Elk Island protège la diversité biologique des collines Beaver. Pendant cette période, les environs du parc se sont développés en une métropole industrielle qui stimule l'économie du Canada. Une nouvelle société, Sneer Enterprises Inc., affirme qu’une partie du parc national Elk Island n'a plus besoin de protection car aucun animal n’y a jamais été observé. Elle voudrait donc construire, en partenariat avec le parc national Elk Island, un parc d'attractions et un centre commercial à l’intention du million d’habitants de la région métropolitaine d'Edmonton.

Enfants en forêt
Enquête en forêt
© Parcs Canada

Les élèves parcourent le sentier et font leur propre enquête afin d’établir si les affirmations et les propositions de Sneer Enterprises Inc. sont valides. Ils présentent leurs preuves, opinions et conclusions lors d'une réunion simulant une réunion à l'hôtel de ville, et ils aident les élus d’Elk Island à décider de protéger ou de développer une partie de notre parc.

Dans le programme E.E.F. (Équipe d’enquête en forêt), les élèves prennent part à un scénario fictif qui serait toutefois susceptible de se produire. Le programme montre comment Parcs Canada utilise les sciences physiques, biologiques et sociales, ainsi que les commentaires du public, pour appuyer sa gestion des aires protégées. Ce programme est lié à plusieurs éléments du programme d’études de 6e année, notamment les sciences, les études sociales et l’éducation physique.