Common menu bar links

Elk Island National Park

Learning Experiences

Education First Hand

 Étude de Létang Pond Study - The Underwater Adventure of Mr. Drizzle and his class
© Parks Canada / C. Koslo / August 2002


Elk Island National Park offers exciting opportunities for visitors and students to learn about ecological processes, the Family of Parks Canada, and the significance of Elk Island National Park. Onsite summer interpretation programs, school group environmental education programs, exhibits, self-guided trails, special events and the Information Centre all offer learning opportunities for visitors of all ages.

 

 

 

Information Centre

The Information Centre is located at the south end of the park (map) near the south gate and is open daily during the summer. You can speak with Parks Canada staff and see displays on the park's history and natural heritage.

How to Register for School Programs

Advance bookings are required for all programs. Programs are booked on a first-come, first-serve basis. Confirmations and receipts will be issued. For more information or to book a program contact the park interpretation staff.

Exhibits and Viewpoints

Exhibits are located at the following locations:

  • Pull-off on the main parkway near the Information Centre with a map of the park.
  • Information Centre
  • Golf course club house
  • Tawayik Lake picnic area
  • Hayburger trailhead
  • Moss lake trailhead
  • Beaver Pond trailhead
  • Wood Bison trailhead
  • Living Waters Boardwalk
  • Astotin Lake Area

Some of the most spectacular views in the park can be seen on the shores of Astotin Lake and Tawayik Lake, especially at sunset. Viewing scopes are available at both locations. The 11 self-guided trails also provide striking vistas along the way. See the map of the park and the map of the Astotin Lake Area for locations.

Self-guided Trails

Elk Island National Park offers 11 self-guided trails that vary in length from a short leisurely stroll across the Living Waters Boardwalk to the scenic 18.6 km Wood Bison Trail. Three short hikes are accessible from the Astotin Lake Area where the campground is located. Amisk Wuche Trail and Lakeview Trail take about one hour to complete. Shoreline Trail is paved and wheelchair accessible. See the map of the park for trail locations and the walking and hiking link for the length and description of each trail.

Activities for Children

Elk Island National Park is a beautiful place to give children the opportunity to explore nature. There are three trails under 4 km in length: Amisk Wuche, Lakeview and Beaver Pond. The Living Waters Boardwalk is a 300 m floating sidewalk off the shore of Astotin Lake. In the Astotin Lake Area, children can enjoy the playground and the beach. Due to swimmers itch, swimming is not recommended. However, children can build sand castles and watch the amusing Richardson's ground squirrels. Please remind your children that it is important not to feed or chase the animals in the park. See the map of the park and the map of the Astotin Lake Area for locations.

Parc national Elk Island

Expériences d'apprentissage

L'apprentissage de première main

Étude de Létang Étude de l'étang - L'aventure sous- marine de M. Drizzle et de sa classe
© Parcs Canada / C. Koslo / August 2002

Parcs Canada offre aux élèves et aux autres visiteurs une occasion exceptionnelle de se renseigner sur les processus écologiques, le réseau pancanadien d'aires protégées et l'importance du parc national Elk Island. Activités dinterprétation estivales offertes sur place, programmes de sensibilisation à l'environnement à l'intention de groupes scolaires, expositions, sentiers autoguidés, activités spéciales, et le Centre d'acceuil offrent tous des possibilités d'apprentissage au visiteurs de tout âge.

 

Centre d'accueil

Le Centre d'accueil se trouve à l'extrémité sud du parc (carte), près du poste d'entrée sud. Il est ouvert tous les jours pendant l'été. Venez bavarder avec le personnel de Parcs Canada ou visiter les expositions sur l'histoire et le patrimoine naturel du parc.

Inscription aux programmes

Il faut réserver pour tous les programmes. Les places sont attribuées selon le principe du premier arrivé, premier servi. Des confirmations et des reçus sont envoyés à ceux qui ont réservé. Pour réserver ou obtenir de l'information, veuillez communiquer avec les interprètes du parc.

Expositions et belvédères

Les expositions se trouvent aux endroits suivants :

  • Voie d'arrêt sur la promenade principale, près du Centre d'accueil (carte du parc)
  • Centre d'accueil
  • Chalet du terrain de golf (nouvelle exposition)
  • Aire de pique-nique du Lac-Tawayik
  • Point de départ du sentier Hayburger
  • Point de départ du sentier du Lac-Moss
  • Point de départ du sentier de l'Étang-des-Castors
  • Point de départ du sentier du Bison-des-Bois
  • Promenade des Eaux-de-la-Vie
  • Secteur du lac Astotin (exposition sur les bisons)

Les visiteurs peuvent admirer certains des panoramas les plus spectaculaires du parc depuis les rives du lac Astotin et du lac Tawayik, particulièrement au soleil couchant. Des télescopes ont été installés aux deux endroits. De plus, les 11 sentiers autoguidés qui traversent le secteur offrent en cours de route des points de vue magnifiques. Consultez la carte du parc et la carte du secteur du lac Astotin pour vous situer.

Sentiers autoguidés

Le parc national Elk Island renferme 11 sentiers autoguidés de longueur variée, depuis de courtes balades faciles sur la promenade des Eaux-de-la-Vie jusqu'au sentier du Bison-des-Bois, superbe sentier de 18,6 km. Les randonneurs peuvent faire trois randonnées courtes depuis le camping du Lac-Astotin. Il faut à peu près une heure pour parcourir le sentier Amisk Wuche et le sentier de la Vue-sur-le-Lac. Le sentier de la Rive-du-Lac est asphalté et accessible en fauteuil roulant. Consultez la carte du parc pour connaître l'emplacement des sentiers et la section marche et randonnée pour obtenir une description de chaque sentier et en connaître la longueur.

Activités pour enfants

Le parc national Elk Island est l'endroit tout indiqué pour donner à vos enfants la possibilité d'explorer la nature. Trois des sentiers du parc font moins de 4 km : le sentier Amisk Wuche, le sentier de la Vue-sur-le-Lac et le sentier de l'Étang-des-Castors. La promenade des Eaux-de-la-Vie consiste en un trottoir de bois flottant de 300 m aménagé sur les bords du lac Astotin. Le secteur du lac Astotin renferme un terrain de jeux et une plage qui feront la joie des enfants. Il n'est pas conseillé de se baigner dans le lac à cause de la dermatite des nageurs. Malgré tout, les enfants peuvent construire des châteaux de sable et observer les bouffonneries des spermophiles de Richardson. Rappelez à vos enfants qu'il est important de ne pas nourrir ou pourchasser les animaux du parc. Consultez la carte du parc et la carte du secteur du lac Astotin pour vous orienter.