Elk Island National Park

Cross Country skiing on Astotin Lake
Cross Country skiing on Astotin Lake
© Parks Canada

Cross-Country Skiing

Cross-country skiing is a great way to experience Elk Island National Park. The park trails are multi use and may be used by other visitors for other activities such as hiking or snowshoeing. Trails are not track set or groomed for skiing.
Track set trails can be found at nearby Strathcona Wilderness Centre (780-922-3939) and Cooking Lake Blackfoot Provincial Recreation Area (780-922-4676)


Snowshoeing in Elk Island National Park
Snowshoeing in Elk Island National Park
© Parks Canada

Snowshoeing

Like the explorers of the past snowshoeing is a great way to discover the winter wonders of Elk Island National Park. Snowshoers are welcome to explore any trail in the park. Please preserve the trails for other users by snowshoeing beside the existing ski tracks, not on them. 

Share the trail

 Elk Island National Parks trails are multi use and shared by both snowshoers and skiers alike. Snowshoers please do your best to avoid walking on ski tracks and skiers please try and leave space for snowshoers by skiing to one side of the trail. Thank you.


Bull Elk
© Parks Canada

Spotting wildlife in Elk Island National Park can be easier during the winter months. Visit the wildlife viewing page to find out how.

Trail Condition Report 
Visitor Safety

Parc national Elk Island

Ski de fond sur Lac Astotin
Ski de fond sur Lac Astotin
© Parks Canada

Ski de fond

Le ski de fond est une excellente façon de découvrir le parc national Elk Island. Les sentiers du parc sont polyvalents et peuvent être utilisés par d’autres visiteurs pratiquant des activités comme la randonnée ou la raquette. Ils ne sont pas tracés mécaniquement ou damés pour le ski.
Vous trouverez des pistes damées à proximité au Strathcona Wilderness Centre  (anglais seulement) (780-922-3939) et à la zone récréative provinciale Cooking Lake-Blackfoot (anglais seulement) (780-922-4676)

Raquette au parc national Elk Island
Raquette au parc national Elk Island
© Parcs Canada

Raquette

À l’instar des explorateurs du passé, découvrez en raquettes les merveilles de l’hiver au parc national Elk Island. Les visiteurs qui font de la raquette peuvent explorer n’importe quel sentier au parc. Veuillez préserver nos sentiers pour les autres visiteurs en faisant de la raquette à côté des pistes de ski existantes.

Partagez les sentiers

Les sentiers du parc national Elk Island sont polyvalents et servent tout autant aux skieurs qu’aux raquetteurs. On demande aux raquetteurs de faire de leur mieux pour éviter de marcher sur les pistes de ski et aux skieurs d’essayer de laisser de l’espace pour les raquetteurs en skiant sur un côté du sentier. Merci.

Les wapitis mâles
Les wapitis mâles
© Parcs Canada

Il est plus facile d’observer la faune au parc national Elk Island pendant les mois d’hiver. Visitez la page sur l’observation de la faune pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements.

Rapport sur l'état des sentiers 
Sécurité des visiteurs