Banff National Park

Aquatic Ecosystems

Aquatic ecosystems are more than just homes for fish. Our mountain rivers form the headwaters of major watersheds (Bow, Red Deer, Clearwater and North Saskatchewan). They provide clean water and a source of life within a variety of settings.

These aquatic ecosystems are the richest pockets of life in Banff National Park - and, in many cases, the most altered. In the park's past 100-plus years of management, park waters have been stocked with exotic fish, natural channels re-routed and waters polluted locally or indirectly from a long, long away.

Wetlands
Rednecked Grebe Rednecked Grebe

Wetlands are waterlogged areas in which the water table is at or just below the surface, such as bogs, fens, swamps, and marshes. The Vermilion Wetlands near the Banff townsite is an important example. This wetland supports the highest diversity of wildlife in the park. It is vital to migratory birds and seasonally critical for large mammals such as wolves, black bears and elk. Nine percent of the Vermilion wetlands have been directly impacted by human activities, e.g. such as the construction of park trails and facilities, the Canadian Pacific Rail line and Trans Canada Highway.

The Riparian Zone

Have you ever wondered about the forested area along the edges of streams and rivers? It is called the riparian zone - the interface between terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems. This zone is not easily delineated but is a mosaic of landforms, communities and environments within the larger landscape.

These riparian zones are key components in maintaining the diversity of aquatic and terrestrial ecosystems. The riparian zone is often exceptionally fertile and productive, and a place of abundant water and shelter. Flocks of migrating songbirds use riparian forests for shelter and food. The linear nature of riparian zones and their dense vegetation make them an obvious choice as movement corridors for wildlife.

People are also drawn to riparian areas for a variety of recreational, practical and aesthetic purposes. The town of Banff, roads and railway line are all built in the riparian zone of the Bow River. Ultimately, the quality of the riparian areas and the quality of the streams' water are closely related, and we must manage riparian areas with care.

Thermal Springs

Thermal springs are among the most unique natural features of the park. They provide habitat for rare plants, invertebrates, and fish. There is one endemic snail, Physella johnsoni, found in only a handful of thermal springs in the park and no where else in the world. This species was listed as endangered by COSEWIC (Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada) in 2000.

There are many thermal spring outlets on Sulphur Mountain, including Upper Hot Springs, Kidney Springs, Upper and Lower Middle Springs, Upper and Lower Pool Springs, Cave Spring and Basin Spring. The Upper and Lower Middle Springs are within the Sulphur Mountain Wildlife Corridor and are closed to the public.

Species at Risk : Banff Springs Snail

Tropical Fish in the Rocky Mountains?

Cave & Basin thermal springs Cave & Basin thermal springs 
In 1924, Western Mosquitofish were introduced into the Cave  & Basin thermal springs to control mosquitoes. They continue to thrive there. Local aquarium enthusiasts introduced other tropical fish such as Sailfin Molly, Guppy, Green Swordtail, African Jewelfish, Convict Cichlid, and Freshwater Angelfish later. Only the Mollies and Jewelfish have persisted to today. This introduction of exotic fish into the springs has been cited as contributing to the extinction of the Banff Longnose Dace, endemic to Cave and Basin area.
Aquatic Species

There are 19 fish species (9 introduced), 4 amphibians and 1 reptile found in the park. The Spotted Frog is the least common frog in Alberta and is at is eastern edge of its range in Banff. Pollution, habitat disturbance, and run-off containing road salts may affect these frogs.

The Long-toed Salamander is one of only two salamander species in Alberta. The Wandering Garter Snake is restricted to the montane eco-region and is considered rare in the park.

Lizard Lake now called Pilot Pond
Many times in the past humans have interfered with natural systems without understanding or considering the possible consequences. One example is the case of Pilot Pond, a small kettle pond located off the Bow Valley Parkway. It used to be known by locals as Lizard Lake because of the large number of Long-toed Salamanders that lived there. The Long-toed Salamander is rare in Banff National Park.

The population of salamanders was nearly eliminated by stocking Rainbow and Brook Trout into Pilot Pond between 1926 and 1974 as trout eat salamander larvae. The population in Pilot Pond is beginning to recover since the cessation of stocking.

Natural Processes and Artificial Impacts

The mountain environment is greatly influenced by natural forces, such as flooding, avalanches, precipitation, and erosion. As well, man-made dams and channels have altered the flows on many of the park's water bodies. For example, Lake Minnewanka, the largest lake in the park, is actually a reservoir. The Bow River drainage is approximately 53% of the park's watershed and contains the greatest number of lakes. Approximately 41.5% of the waters in the Bow watershed are regulated.

Water Quality

When most people think of water quality, they think of it being clear and clean to drink. Scientists, though, determine the quality of water by the kinds and amounts of substances (solids such as silt, bacteria, toxic chemicals and nutrients) dissolved and suspended in the water, and what those substances do to the inhabitants of the aquatic ecosystem.

Health Canada: Drinking Water in the Great Outdoors

Some water pollutant sources are: sewage, fertilizers, highway salt, pesticides, petroleum products, leaching from landfill sites, PCBs and garbage. Apart from pollutants generated within the park, aquatic ecosystems are contaminated with chemicals from sources outside of the park. The long-range transportation of air-borne pollutants may come from as far away as the southern United States, Europe and southeast Asia.

Tertiary treatment technology, such as sewage treatment plants, can reduce nutrients. How we treat the aquatic ecosystems in Banff National Park also affects the quality of the water for downstream users beyond our boundaries. As individuals we can be responsible consumers by conserving water, recycling non-degradable products and choosing non-hazardous household products.

Park Waters Under The Microscope

National parks are excellent living classrooms for learning how natural systems and processes function. Every year research studies are undertaken to learn more about mountain park aquatic ecosystems as well as to contribute to projects of regional or global significance.

Parc national Banff

Écosystèmes aquatiques

Les écosystèmes aquatiques ne fournissent pas seulement un habitat aux poissons. Nos cours d'eau alpins alimentent les principaux bassins hydrographiques (rivières Bow, Red Deer, Clearwater et Saskatchewan Nord), constituent des réserves d'eau pure et entretiennent la vie en divers endroits.

Les écosystèmes aquatiques du parc national Banff sont une source de vie inestimable et sont, dans bien des cas, les plus fortement dégradés. Au cours des 100 dernières années, nous avons ensemencé les cours d'eau de poissons exotiques, modifié les chenaux naturels et pollué les eaux de façon directe ou indirecte, à partir de sources lointaines.

Milieux humides
Grèbe jougris Grèbe jougris

Les milieux humides sont des zones engorgées d'eau où la nappe phréatique est très près du niveau du sol ou affleure à la surface : il peut s'agir notamment de tourbières basses ou hautes, de marécages, de marais. Les milieux humides de Vermilion, près du lotissement urbain de Banff, en sont un excellent exemple. Ils recèlent, comme nulle part ailleurs sur une superficie équivalente dans le parc, d'espèces sauvages. Ils constituent un habitat vital pour les oiseaux migrateurs et revêtent une grande importance pour les mammifères de grande taille, comme les loups, les ours noirs et les wapitis.

Zone riveraine

Avez-vous déjà remarqué les terres boisées qui longent les cours d'eau? C'est la bande de protection riveraine, l'interface entre les écosystèmes terrestres et aquatiques. Cette bande n'est pas facile à délimiter; elle forme une mosaïque de modelés, de collectivités et de milieux à l'intérieur du paysage plus vaste.

La zone riveraine joue un rôle capital dans le maintien de la diversité des écosystèmes aquatiques et terrestres. Souvent très fertile et productive, elle recèle de réserves d'eau et d'abris. Des bandes d'oiseaux chanteurs migrateurs utilisent les forêts riveraines pour s'abriter et se nourrir. La linéarité des zones riveraines et leur dense couvert végétal en font des couloirs de choix qu'empruntent la faune dans ses déplacements.

Les zones riveraines sont également utilisées à des fins récréatives, utilitaires et esthétiques. Ainsi, la ville de Banff, les routes et les voies ferrées longent la rivière Bow. Enfin, la qualité des zones riveraines est étroitement corrélée à la qualité de l'eau; c'est pourquoi nous devons gérer les zones riveraines de façon judicieuse.

Sources thermales

Les sources thermales sont l'un des attraits naturels les plus exceptionnels de la vallée de la Bow. Elles abritent des plantes, des invertébrés et des poissons rares. Un escargot endémique, la physe des fontaines de Banff Physella johnsoni, ne se rencontre que dans les sources Upper Hot Springs, Kidney Springs, Middle, Cave, Basin, et Vermilion Lake Springs; il a été classé parmi les espèces en voie de disparition par le COSEPAC en l'an 2000.

Il y a de nombreuses sources thermales sur le mont Sulphur : Upper Hot Springs, Kidney Springs, Upper and Lower Middle Springs, Upper and Lower Pool Springs, Cave and Basin Springs. Les sources Upper et Lower Middle Springs sont des sites écosensibles accessibles au public.

Espèces en péril : Physe des fontaines de Banff

Sources thermales Cave and Basin Sources thermales
Cave and Basin

Des poissons tropicaux dans les Rocheuses?
En 1924, on a introduit des gambusies de l'ouest dans les sources thermales Cave and Basin pour réduire les populations de moustiques. Ces poissons y prolifèrent depuis. Des amateurs d'aquarium ont plus tard introduit d'autres poissons tropicaux tels que les molliénésies à voilure, les guppies , les porte-glaives verts, les cichlides à deux taches, les cichlides forçats et les poissons-anges. Seuls les molliénésies et les cichlides à deux taches ont survécus jusqu'à aujourd'hui. On a blamé en partie l'introduction de poissons exotiques dans les sources pour l'extinction du naseux de rapides de Banff, endémique à la région de Cave and Basin.

Espèces aquatiques

Dix-neuf espèces de poissons (dont neuf ont été introduites), quatre espèces d'amphibiens and une espèce de reptile habitent dans le parc. La grenouille maculée est la grenouille la plus rare d'Alberta et l'extrémité est de son territoire se trouve à Banff. La pollution, la perturbation des habitats et les ruissellements qui contiennent du sel de voirie nuisent peut-être à ces grenouilles.

La salamandre à long doigts est l'une des deux seules espèces de salamandres en Alberta. La couleuvre de l'ouest ne se trouve que dans la région écologique subalpine et elle est rare dans le parc.

Le lac Lizard, appelé aujourd'hui le lac Pilot
À maintes reprises dans le passé, les êtres humains ont perturbé les systèmes naturels sans bien comprendre les incidences possibles ou en tenir compte. L'étang Pilot en est un exemple. L'étang Pilot est un petit étang de kettle (dépression) en bordure de la promenade de la vallée de la Bow, à l'ouest de Banff. Les habitants de l'endroit le désignaient jadis sous le nom de lac Lizard, en raison du grand nombre de salamandres à longs doigts qui y vivaient. Or, la population de salamandres a presque été décimée par suite de l'ensemencement de truites arc?en?ciel et d'ombles de fontaine dans l'étang entre 1926 et 1974. Les truites et les ombles se nourrissent des larves de salamandres. La salamandre à longs doigts est une espèce rare dans le parc national Banff. La population de l'étang Pilot commence à se rétablir depuis l'arrêt des activités d'ensemencement.

Processus naturels et impacts artificiels

L'environnement de montagne est grandement influencé par les phénomènes de la nature, tels que les inondations, les avalanches, les précipitations et l'érosion. Les digues artificielles et les chenaux ont modifié de nombreux cours d'eau du parc. Par exemple, le lac Minnewanka, le plus grand du parc, est en fait un réservoir. Le bassin de la rivière Bow forme environ 53% du bassin hydrographique du parc and compte le plus grand nombre de lacs. Environ 41.5 % des eaux du bassin hydrographique de la Bow sont réglementées.

Qualité de l'eau

Lorsque la plupart des gens pensent à la qualité de l'eau, ils s'imaginent une eau claire et bonne à boire. Les scientifiques, toutefois, déterminent la qualité de l'eau en fonction du type et de la quantité de substances (matières solides comme le limon, les bactéries, les substances chimiques toxiques et les éléments nutritifs) dissoutes ou en suspension présentes dans l'eau et de leurs effets sur les formes de vie aquatiques.

Santé Canada : Boire de l'eau en plein air au Canada

Les eaux usées, les engrais, les sels de voirie, les pesticides, les produits pétroliers, les lixiviats des sites d'enfouissement, les PCB et les ordures ménagères sont des sources de pollution de l'eau. Outre les polluants produits dans le parc, les écosystèmes aquatiques sont contaminés par des substances chimiques utilisées à l'extérieur du parc. Les polluants atmosphériques qui se déposent dans le parc peuvent provenir d'aussi loin que le sud des États-Unis, l'Europe et le Sud-Est asiatique.

Les installations de traitement tertiaire, comme les usines d'épuration des eaux usées, peuvent réduire les concentrations d'éléments nutritifs. La façon dont nous traitons les écosystèmes aquatiques dans le parc national Banff peut également influer sur la qualité de l'eau des utilisateurs en aval. Il faut donc éviter de jeter des résidus dans les égouts. Nous pouvons tous agir comme des consommateurs responsables en préservant nos ressources en eau, en recyclant les produits non dégradables et en utilisant des produits ménagers non dangereux.

Les eaux du parc scrutées au microscope

Les parcs nationaux sont d'excellentes salles de classe où nous pouvons apprendre comment fonctionnent les systèmes et les processus naturels. Chaque année, nous menons des recherches afin d'enrichir nos connaissances sur les écosystèmes aquatiques des parcs des Rocheuses et contribuons à des projets d'envergure régionale ou internationale.