Common menu bar links

Banff National Park

Elk in Banff National Park

Elk Management in Banff National Park 
Elk and the town of Banff – finding the balance


Elk Safety

Bull Elk Bull Elk 

If there is one large animal that you are almost guaranteed to see during your visit to Banff National Park it is elk. They are top on the list of animals that many wildlife watchers want to see. Elk are the second largest deer in the park next to moose. Other deer found in the park are caribou, mule deer and white tailed deer.

Elk are also a vital part of Banff's ecology. They are the main herbivore, or plant eater, in the park and in turn a major food source for predators such as wolves.

Elk have always been part of the natural ecology of the park but probably in fewer numbers than we see today. When Banff National Park was created in 1885, only a few elk were seen in the Bow Valley. By 1906, numbers of elk were so low they seemed to have disappeared. But ten years later, elk populations were up naturally, as well as with additional help from the introduction of 235 elk from Yellowstone National Park in Wyoming in 1918-20. Today, elk are the most numerous large animal with close to 350 found in the park; over 200 of them live in the lower Bow Valley close to the town of Banff.

What's in a Name Anyway?

Elk are ungulates, which means they have hooves. The Latin name for elk is Cervus canadensis. They are also called "wapiti" - Shawnee for "white rump." A male elk is correctly called a stag and a female is called a hind. Most locals refer to them as bulls and cows.

Description

Elk are light brown with dark faces, necks and legs. They have a distinguishing creamy-coloured rump patch with stubby tail. A bull elk at his prime is awesome to see. His wide branching antlers may grow to 1.2m (4') in width and length, and weigh up to 22 kg (48 lb.) He himself may weigh up to 180 - 450 kg (400 - 1000 lb.) Females weigh one third less than bulls and lack antlers.

Bulls grow a new set of antlers each spring and then cast them the following winter.

How Old is That Elk?

Yearling elk and calves are fast growers, but you can tell them apart from their mothers by the size of their heads. Young elk have proportionally shorter heads to bodies than adults.

Some people claim you can age a bull elk by the number of branches or tines it has on its antlers. But this is not a true indication of age. Young bulls with a single tine or "spike" are called "spikers" and are in their second year. After that they will grow at least one more tine per year (up to 7 tines per antler), but this is not predictable as antler growth depends on their general healthy condition. A young bull in excellent health may have the same number of tines as a much older bull in poorer condition.

An Elk's Diet

Most members of the deer family — such as moose and mule deer — are browsers, feeding almost entirely on the twigs and leaves of shrubs and trees. In contrast, elk are both grazers and browsers. They spend a lot of their time eating -- they have to. In summer they eat lots of grasses, plants and leaves to fatten up for the fall mating season and the long winter ahead. In winter, dried woody food such as dried grasses, twigs and bark makes up the majority of their diet and takes longer to digest.

Most elk move around to find the best food available. The elk of Banff National Park are considered to be partial migrants. This means that some of them migrate at certain times of the year or disperse to new areas. Some stay in the same area all their lives. Others may switch depending on the conditions of habitat.

What Eats Elk?

Cougars, wolves, and bears are the natural enemies of elk. Although hunting is not allowed within national parks, human activities — such as highway and railway accidents — account for a proportion of elk deaths each year within BanffNational Park. On average, 70 elk die from cars or trains each year.

Elk Calf Elk Calf

Spring & Fall are Special Times of The Year

From mid-May to early July, cow elk go off into secluded woodlands to have their single young (twins are uncommon.) For the first three weeks of an elk's life it is defenseless to predators, so its mother keeps it well hidden in thickets. She licks her calf all over to make sure it is perfectly clean and clear of any smells that may attract predators. With its lack of smell and spotted coat, the calf is carefully camouflaged in the tall grass. During this time, the mother elk visits the calf only a few times a day, standing guard not far away. She is always at the ready to strike out with her sharp hooves if her calf is threatened or to act as a decoy to lead the predator away from the calf. Once the calf has gained its running legs, it re-joins the herd with its mother.

Only cows, calves and young bulls make up these summer herds. They rely on the safety of a group to protect them from predators. Mature bulls, on the other hand, remain solitary or in small bachelor groups. They must find the best food for rapid body and antler growth during the short growing season. The sexes join together during the breeding season, or "rut." Mature bulls gather cows and their calves into harems. Young bulls usually look on from the sidelines. Once the rut is over, elk stay in loose mixed herds until spring. Then the sexes separate again until fall.

Elk Talk

Elk are the most vocal deer. Cows and calves keep in contact with squeals, chirps and mews. Barks warn others of danger. In the fall, the woods are noisy with the bugling of bull elk, attracting cows into a harem. A bull elk sends out a high pitched roar followed by low coughs or grunts. A bull's superior health and fitness is advertised through his bugling skills as well as his physical appearance. An elk's bugle wafting through the forest or open grassland informs other elk of his presence. Cows are attracted to the strength advertised in such a call and other bulls may approach to challenge the bugler's prowess.

Elk "Body Language"

Elk also communicate by posture. During breeding season, a bull will stand erect and at a side for cows and competitors to view his antlers and body size for dominance. To keep cows within the harem, a bull may cock his antlers back towards his rump to send the message to stay within the group. At any time of the year, an elk will show its discomfort by grinding its teeth, curling its lower lip back, or laying its ears back against its head. It is important for us to recognize this behaviour when viewing elk.

Signs of Elk

Even though elk are common in the park, sometimes you just can not find them. As with all wild animals, it's an elk's nature to move around or take shelter in the shade of a forest. Even if you do not find the animals, you can still find clues of their presence.

First, look to the trees. The most obvious sign of elks' presence is told on the trunks of aspen trees. Healthy aspen bark has a greenish tinge to it — it has chlorophyll and is nutritious for elk. Blackened chew scars on aspen trees reach to almost 2 metres from the ground — as far as an elk can reach in winter. Over time, continual chewing can weaken an aspen tree and make it vulnerable to disease and insects. Concentrations of elk around the Banff townsite have had a heavy impact on aspen stands in the area.

Elk also nip at the tips of bushes and small trees, so they look pruned. The height of a browsed sapling indicates the height of last winter's snow cover. The shredded bark of young pine trees tells of a big bull rubbing his antlers against the hard pitchy surface. He is polishing his antlers against the tree for the rutting season.

In the winter or in wet areas you can find elk tracks (10 cm/ 4" long) in snow or mud. Flattened grass or depressions identify where an elk has bedded down for a while. A musky or gamey smell may linger or there are long outer guard hairs or scat left in the bed. Or you can see where an elk has pawed through the snow to get at food.

Finally, there are also the signs of what an elk has left behind. Elk droppings are usually small oval pellets, up to 3.8cm (3/4 - 1 1/2") in length. When vegetation is especially moist, so are the droppings.

Best Places to See Elk:

Your chances of seeing elk in the eastern part of the park are excellent year round. Drive the park roadways such as the Bow Valley Parkway and the Minnewanka Loop, the road around the golf course or near open grasslands surrounding the town of Banff. Always obey the speed limits and watch for elk near roads. They can suddenly dart into traffic without warning.

Parc national Banff

Les wapitis du parc national Banff

Gestion des wapitis dans le parc national Banff
Les wapitis et la municipalité de Banff – Trouver le juste équilibre

La sécurité au pays des wapitis

Un wapiti
Un wapiti
© Parcs Canada

S'il y a un gros animal que vous êtes presque sûr de voir pendant votre visite au parc national Banff, c'est bien le wapiti. Ce cervidé figure au sommet de la liste des animaux recherchés par les observateurs de la faune. Après l'orignal, le wapiti est le plus gros cervidé présent dans le parc. On y trouve aussi des caribous, des cerfs mulets et des cerfs de Virginie.

Le wapiti est aussi un élément essentiel de l''écologie du parc national Banff, où il est l'herbivore le plus répandu. Il constitue une importante source de nourriture pour des prédateurs comme le loup.

Le wapiti a toujours fait partie de l'écologie naturelle du parc, mais par le passé il était moins abondant qu'il ne l'est aujourd'hui. Au moment de la création du parc, en 1885, seulement quelques individus habitaient la vallée de la Bow. En 1906, l'effectif du wapiti était tellement bas que l'espèce semblait avoir disparu. Toutefois, dix ans plus tard, la population avait augmenté, tant naturellement que grâce à l'introduction, de 1918 à 1920, de 235 individus provenant du parc national Yellowstone, au Wyoming. Actuellement, le wapiti compte parmi les gros mammifères les plus abondants dans le parc : on y dénombre près de 3 200 animaux, dont plus de 900 dans la vallée inférieure de la Bow, près de la ville de Banff.

Un curieux nom

Le wapiti fait partie du groupe des ongulés, animaux dotés de sabots. Son nom scientifique est Cervus canadensis. Le nom « wapiti », qui lui a été donné par les Shawnees, signifie « croupe blanche ». Le mâle est appelé cerf et la femelle, biche.

Description

Le wapiti a un pelage brun clair, mais la face, le cou et les pattes ont une teinte foncée. Il arbore un croupion de couleur crème et porte une queue tronquée. Le mâle arrivé à maturité est très impressionnant. Son imposante ramure peut avoir jusqu'à 1,2 mètre d'envergure et de longueur et peser jusqu'à 22 kilogrammes. Le poids de animal varie de 180 à 450 kilogrammes. La femelle a un poids inférieur du tiers à celui du mâle et est dépourvue de ramures. Chez le mâle, les nouveaux bois commencent à pousser chaque printemps puis tombent l'hiver suivant.

Croissance du wapiti

Bien que les jeunes wapitis de l'année et les faons aient une croissance rapide, on les distingue de leur mère par la grosseur de leur tête, qui est plus petite par rapport au reste du corps que chez les adultes.

Certains prétendent qu'on peut déterminer l'âge d'un mâle adulte selon le nombre de ramifications de leurs bois. Or, cette méthode ne donne pas une bonne indication de l'âge. Les jeunes mâles dont les bois ont une seule pointe, appelée cor ou andouiller, sont dans leur deuxième année. Par la suite, il s'ajoute au moins un cor par année à leur ramure (jusqu'à 7), mais cela est impossible à prévoir, car la croissance des bois dépend de l'état de santé général de l'animal. Un jeune mâle en excellente santé peut porter le même nombre de cors qu'un mâle beaucoup plus âgé mais moins bien portant.

Que mange le wapiti?

La plupart des membres de la famille des cervidés, dont l'orignal et le cerf mulet, sont des brouteurs; ils se nourrissent presque exclusivement de rameaux, de feuilles d'arbres et d'arbustes. Le wapiti, quant à lui, broute aussi le sol. Il doit consacrer beaucoup de temps à se nourrir. L'été, il mange beaucoup d'herbe, de plantes et de feuilles afin de constituer les réserves de graisse dont il aura besoin pendant la période de la reproduction et le long hiver qui suit. Pendant la saison froide, des substances ligneuses sèches, comme de l'herbe, des rameaux et de l'écorce séchés, qui prennent plus de temps à digérer, forment la majeure partie de son régime alimentaire.

La plupart des wapitis se déplacent à la recherche de la meilleure nourriture disponible. Ceux qui fréquentent le parc national Banff sont considérés comme des migrateurs partiels. Cela signifie que certains d'entre eux migrent ou se dispersent à certaines époques de l'année. D'autres demeurent dans le même territoire durant toute leur vie. D'autres encore peuvent être sédentaires pendant un certain temps et migrer certaines années selon les conditions de l'habitat.

Quels sont les ennemis du wapiti?

Les ennemis naturels du wapiti sont le couguar, le loup et l'ours. Bien que la chasse soit interdite dans les parcs nationaux, les collisions avec des voitures et des trains causent la mort d'un certain nombre d'individus - 70 en moyenne - chaque année dans le parc national Banff.

Le printemps et l'automne, temps forts de l'année

Un petit wapiti
Un petit wapiti
© Parcs Canada

De la mi-mai au début de juillet, les biches trouvent refuge dans la forêt pour y donner naissance à un petit (rarement deux). Pendant les trois premières semaines de son existence, le faon est à la merci des prédateurs. Sa mère le dissimule dans un fourré; elle lui lèche tout le corps pour qu'il soit tout à fait propre et qu'il ne dégage pas d'odeurs pouvant attirer les prédateurs. Ces précautions, ainsi que le pelage tacheté du faon, bien caché dans les herbes hautes, réduisent les risques. Pendant cette période, la mère rend visite au petit seulement à quelques reprises durant la journée, mais elle monte la garde à courte distance. Au moindre signe de danger, elle est toujours prête à attaquer avec ses sabots tranchants ou à servir de leurre pour attirer les prédateurs loin du faon. Quand celui-ci peut courir, il rejoint le troupeau, appelé harde, en compagnie de sa mère.

Seuls les femelles, les faons et les jeunes (daguets et bichettes) composent les hardes en été. Ils comptent sur leur nombre pour se protéger de leurs ennemis. Les mâles adultes, pour leur part, vivent en solitaires ou en petits groupes distincts des hardes. Ils doivent trouver la nourriture qui pourra le mieux assurer la croissance rapide de leur corps et de leurs bois pendant la courte saison de végétation. Mâles et femelles se rencontrent pendant la période de la reproduction, appelée rut. Les mâles adultes rassemblent les biches et leurs petits en harems, tandis que les jeunes mâles (les daguets) les observent de près. Une fois la période du rut terminée, les wapitis vivent en groupes lâches jusqu'au printemps suivant, saison où les deux sexes se séparent à nouveau jusqu'à l'automne.

Une musique particulière

Le wapiti est le plus volubile des cervidés. Biches et faons gardent le contact en émettant des sifflements, des cris stridents et des miaulements. À l'occasion, des jappements signalent un danger. À l'automne retentit dans la forêt le brame des mâles, qui cherchent à attirer les femelles pour former leur harem. Ils émettent des rugissements aigus, suivis de brefs toussotements et grognements. La qualité du brame et l'apparence physique traduisent l'état de santé du mâle en chaleur, dont les cris qui résonnent dans la forêt ou sur la prairie signalent la présence aux biches. Celles-ci, attirées par l'intensité du brame, s'approchent; il arrive aussi que d'autres mâles viennent défier le soupirant.

Le langage du corps

Le wapiti communique également par ses postures. Pendant la période des amours, le cerf se tient le corps élancé et de côté pour faire voir ses bois et toute sa puissance dans le but de manifester sa dominance. Pour garder les biches dans son harem, il peut incliner sa ramure vers l'arrière en guise d'avertissement. En tout temps de l'année, le wapiti peut montrer son irritation en grinçant des dents, en rabattant sa lèvre inférieure ou en couchant ses oreilles vers l'arrière. Il est important de reconnaître ces comportements quand on voit des wapitis.

Signes de la présence du wapiti

Bien qu'il soit répandu dans le parc, le wapiti est parfois invisible. Comme tous les animaux sauvages, il est naturel pour lui de se déplacer et de trouver refuge dans la forêt. Si vous n'apercevez pas de wapitis, vous pouvez néanmoins trouver des indices de leur présence.

Il faut d'abord surveiller les arbres. Le signe le plus évident du passage d'un wapiti se retrouve sur l'écorce des trembles. Quand l'écorce est en bonne condition, elle présente une teinte verte; elle contient de la chlorophylle, qui est nourrissante pour le wapiti. Les trembles peuvent montrer des cicatrices de teinte foncée sur leur tronc jusqu'à deux mètres du sol, soit la hauteur maximum que l'animal peut atteindre en hiver. Les arbres dont l'écorce est mâchée constamment deviennent vulnérables à la maladie et aux insectes. Ainsi, la concentration des wapitis a produit un impact important sur les trembles autour de la ville de Banff.

De plus, le wapiti mange le bout des tiges des buissons et des petits arbres, qui ont l'air d'avoir été taillés. La hauteur d'un jeune arbre brouté indique la hauteur de la couverture de neige l'hiver précédent. La présence de morceaux d'écorce au pied des jeunes pins indique qu'un gros mâle s'est frotté les bois sur les troncs pendant la saison du rut.

En hiver ou sur les terrains humides, on peut trouver des traces de pas (de 10 centimètres de long) dans la neige ou la boue. Des zones d'herbe aplatie ou des dépressions peuvent marquer les endroits où un cerf s'est isolé. On peut y déceler une odeur musquée de gibier ou y trouver des poils de couverture (jarres) ou des excréments. Bien sûr, le wapiti laisse aussi des traces de pas dans la neige en se déplaçant à la recherche de nourriture.

Enfin, les excréments témoignent aussi du passage du wapiti. Il s'agit généralement de petites boules ovales pouvant atteindre 3,8 centimètres de longueur. Quand la végétation est particulièrement humide, les excréments le sont aussi.

Les meilleurs endroits où voir le wapiti

Dans la partie est du parc, les visiteurs ont d'excellentes chances de voir des wapitis tout au long de l'année. Vous pouvez emprunter les routes du parc, comme la promenade de la vallée de Bow, la boucle de Minnewanka, la route qui longe le terrain de golf, ou vous rendre à proximité des prés qui entourent la ville de Banff. N'oubliez pas de respecter les limites de vitesse et d'être aux aguets, car les wapitis peuvent se lancer sur la chaussée sans avertissement.