Banff National Park

Mountain WIT

School Touring Programs and Special Programs for Group Bookings

School Touring Programs

Faces of Fire

Faces of Fire inspires with music, mask, puppetry and drama. This interactive performance engages your students in the heated, century-old relationship between fire and the managers of our mountain national parks. Discover the crucial role that fire plays in maintaining healthy forests.

Faces of Fire is 50 minutes long, with an optional 10 minutes for Q & A after the performance.

Faces of Fire tours Alberta schools in September, October and November 2013 (English only).

To reserve a Mountain WIT program for your school, contact us: mountainwit.latroupeesprit@pc.gc.ca  


 

Special Programs for Group Bookings:

Elizabeth Parker and the Alpine Club of Canada

Elizabeth Parker
Elizabeth Parker
© John Evely

This one-woman show takes you back to 1906, into the soul of Elizabeth Parker: feisty patriot, prolific writer and tireless promoter of the Canadian Alps. Find out how a woman who never reached the summit of a mountain became the mother of the Alpine Club of Canada, and how that legacy lives on in the Mountain Parks today. 25 minutes, with an optional 15 minute video history of the ACC.

“As far as I can take you” – the Life of Conrad Kain

This one-man play traces the journey of the Alpine Club of Canada's first professional mountain guide from his humble beginnings in the Austrian Alps through his most famous triumph in the Canadian Rockies: the summit of Mount Robson. The play is inspired by Kain's own words - gathered from personal letters - describing his experience as an immigrant to Canada, his "principles of guiding," and his deep love of natural beauty. Actor David Thomson embodies Kain's gregarious quick wit, connecting audiences to this mountaineering legend who continues to inspire generations of climbers. Presented in celebration of the Mount Robson Centennial. 45 minutes, with an optional time for Q & A.
 

Contact for Travel Trade
Name: Laurie Schwartz, Communications Officer, Mountain WIT
Address: Banff National Park, Box 900, Banff Alberta T1L 1K2 Canada
Phone / Fax / E-mail : 403-760-1328 / 403-762-1551 / laurie.schwartz@pc.gc.ca

Parc national Banff

La troupe de théâtre esPRIT

Tournées scolaires et spectacles pour représentations privées aux groupes

Tournées scolaires

Les visages du feu

Musique, masques, marionnettes et mélodrame font bon ménage dans Les visages du feu. Ce spectacle interactif fait découvrir à vos élèves la relation brûlante que les gestionnaires de nos parcs nationaux des montagnes entretiennent depuis un siècle avec le feu. Découvrez le rôle crucial du feu dans la préservation de forêts en santé.

Le spectacle dure 50 minutes. La troupe reste disponible pour une séance de questions réponses facultative de 10 minutes à la fin de la pièce.

Les visages du feu fait la tournée des écoles de l’Alberta en septembre, octobre et novembre 2013 (présenté en anglais seulement).

Pour réserver un programme de la troupe esPRIT dans votre école, communiquez avec Laurie Schwartz :
mountainwit.latroupeesprit@pc.gc.ca

Spectacles pour représentations privées aux groupes

Elizabeth Parker et le Club alpin du Canada

Elizabeth Parker Elizabeth Parker
© John Evely

Dans un décor de 1906, cette magnifique pièce solo de 25 minutes vous propose une incursion dans l’âme d’Elizabeth Parker, patriote fougueuse, écrivaine prolifique et ardente défenseure des Alpes canadiennes. Découvrez comment cette femme, qui n’a jamais atteint le sommet d’une montagne, est devenue la mère du Club alpin du Canada et la gardienne d’un legs encore bien vivant dans les parcs des Rocheuses. 25 minutes, avec vidéo facultative de 15 minutes sur l’historique du Club alpin du Canada.

“As far as I can take you” – the Life of Conrad Kain

Cette pièce de théâtre solo retrace le parcours du premier guide de montagne professionnel du Club alpin du Canada, depuis son enfance au sein d’une famille modeste des Alpes autrichiennes jusqu’à son triomphe le plus marquant dans les Rocheuses canadiennes : la conquête du mont Robson. Inspirée du contenu de lettres rédigées par Kain lui-même, la pièce décrit son expérience comme immigrant au Canada, ses « principes de guide » et son profond amour de la beauté naturelle. L’acteur David Thomson incarne Kain, un homme sociable à l’esprit de répartie, et vous fait découvrir cette légende de l’escalade qui continue d’inspirer des générations d’alpinistes. Présenté à l’occasion du centenaire du parc provincial du Mont Robson. 45 minutes, avec séance de questions-réponses facultative.

 

Personnes-ressources
Nom : Laurie Schwartz, agente des communications, La troupe esPRIT
Adresse : Parc national Banff,  C.P. 900, Banff (Alberta), T1L 1K2, CANADA
Tél. / Fax / courriel : 403-760-1328/ 403-762-1551/ laurie.schwartz @pc.gc.ca

  • La troupe esPRIT
  • Théâtre de participation et descriptions des programmes 
  • Tournées scolaires et spectacles pour représentations privées aux groupesDescriptions des programmes
  • Chants sauvages