Banff National Park of Canada

BANFF MOUNTAIN BIKING TRAILS

 Mountain biking


Easy | Moderate | Difficult |


EASY

Sundance

3.6 km one way

Trailhead: Cave and Basin National Historic Site

This paved trail is perfect for families with kids and bike trailers as it winds along the Bow River and climbs gently to the Sundance Canyon picnic area, where you can explore a lovely creekside hiking trail. Sundance is popular with hikers. Connector: Healy Creek (2).

Healy Creek

4.9 km one way

Trailhead: Branches off Sundance Trail (1)

This gravel double track winds and dips its way through the forest, eventually coming alongside Healy Creek before ending at the Sunshine Road, near the Trans-Canada Highway (TCH). Riders can return to Banff via the TCH, but are advised to be extremely cautious on this busy highway. Healy Creek is used by commercial horse traffic and is not recommended in wet conditions. Connector: Brewster Creek (3).

Spray River Loop

11.3 km loop

Trailhead(s): Fairmont Banff Springs or the Bow Falls Parking Lot

This winding, rolling gravel double track can be ridden as a loop in either direction or as an out-and-back from either trailhead. Choose your own adventure! The trail parallels the rushing Spray River. Great as a family outing and picnic near the bridge. Be sure to yield to horses. Connector: Spray River and Goat Creek (5).

Cascade Ponds - Bankhead

2.4 km one way

Trailhead(s):
Cascade Ponds Day-use Area or Lake Minnewanka Road

From Cascade Ponds, ride past the picnic tables, over the creek and left to cross Minnewanka Road. Then follow the old Canadian Pacific rail grade to the ghost town of Bankhead. Ride as out and back.

Tunnel Bench Loop


© Paul Zizka
 
5.7 km loop


Starting Point: Hoodoos Lookout Parking Lot or Tunnel Mountain Campground

Typically ridden clockwise, this popular loop is winding and varied entry-level singletrack with minimal elevation gain. Take in the spectacular views of iconic Mount Rundle and Cascade Mountain as well as the Fairholme Range. Be aware that some sections have significant vertical exposure. If you are uncomfortable, be sure to walk your bike. Connector: The Toe (20) and Bow Falls - Hoodoos (19).

Tunnel Campground Loop

3.5 km one way

Starting Point: Tunnel Mountain Campground

Perfect for beginners and children, this is a very simple, entry-level trail that forms a large loop around Tunnel Mountain Campground. There are many places to stop and rest. Be sure to watch out for strolling campers, elk, deer and coyote. NOTE: sections of this trail may be under construction during the summer of 2011.


MODERATE

Brewster Creek Trail

8.6 km one way

Starting Points: Cave and Basin National Historic Site or Sunshine Road

Ride the Sundance trail (1) and/or to the Healy Creek road (2) until you get to the Brewster Creek trail. This trail is a double track that climbs steadily up the Brewster Creek valley to the Sundance Lodge (service for guests only). The ride to the lodge is not suitable for beginners and is a 21 km return trip. Brewster Creek is used by commercial horse traffic and is not recommended in wet conditions.

Spray River and Goat Creek

18.7 km one way

Trailhead:
Fairmont Banff Springs

This popular, rolling double track follows the Spray River for 10 km before reaching the easy-to-miss turn that veers off on the left just past the base of a short downhill section. Fork left, then head down over the bridge. From there it rises gradually along the lower slopes of Mount Rundle, ending at the Smith-Dorrien Road parking lot above Canmore. Alternatively, arrange for a shuttle and ride the trail in reverse for a long, gentle cruise to Banff. Connectors: Canmore Nordic Center (take the Banff Trail) with the Rundle Riverside Trail (6) and the Golf Course Drive (15). Note: Due to the clay content of the Goat Creek trail, it is not recommended in wet conditions.

Cascade

14.6 km one way

Trailhead: Upper Bankhead Parking Lot

This former fire road is a gravel double track that opens with a sustained climb. It travels into the wilds of the Cascade Valley, through prime bear habitat. Cycling ends at the remote Stoney Creek primitive campground.

Lower Stoney Squaw

4.9 km one way

Trailhead: Mt. Norquay Ski Area Parking Lot

This is a great trail for intermediate riders to work on their technical skills. Ride past the day lodge and down the ski area service road for 1.4 km. Watch closely on the right for a sign indicating the entrance. The steep sidehill nature of the trail features many rough and rocky sections, and drops continuously to the highway. Watch for bears and horses on this fast, technical descent. Be sure to close the fence gate.

Redearth

10 km one way

Trailhead: Redearth Creek Parking Lot

This former fire road provides bike access to some very scenic backcountry hiking near the Great Divide. Bring a lock, as you must leave your bike at the end of the road. Popular hiking destinations include Shadow Lake Lodge, Shadow Lake, and Egypt Lake.

Bow Falls – Hoodoos Trail

4.3 km one way

Trailhead: Hoodoos Parking Lot or Surprise Corner Parking Lot

Can be enjoyed in both directions but best ridden north to south. This trail offers an exhilarating experience in both directions with some steep climbing and descending. The route has spectacular views of Mount Rundle, a short section along a braid of the Bow River, and a short hike-a-bike section at a set of stairs.

Water Tower Trail

3.8 km one way

Trailhead(s): Cascade Ponds Day-use Area or Johnson Lake Day Use Area

This trail begins at the northeast corner of Cascade Ponds, crosses a small creek, and climbs up an almost impossible-to-ride-up set of steps (prepare for significant hike-a-bike). The remainder of the trail to the water tower is a sweet singletrack that dips and turns its way along the edge of the escarpment above the Trans-Canada Highway. Views of the Bow Valley and its iconic mountains, Rundle and Cascade, are spectacular. From the water tower, it’s worth your while to continue along a short section of gravel road leading to Johnson Lake. This trail is easily ridden as an out and back from either end.


DIFFICULT

Rundle Riverside

13.9 km one way

Trailhead: Banff Golf Course Road (kiosk at far end)

Intermediate and advanced riders may relish the challenge of this rocky, rough roller coaster linking Banff and Canmore. Eight kilometres of rooted singletrack give way to 6 km of double track approaching the Canmore Nordic Center. Full suspension is recommended. Be prepared with a repair kit; the remoteness of this trail may be an issue if you get into trouble. Connector: Canmore Nordic Center (Banff Trail), Spray River and Goat Creek (5) and Golf Course Drive (15).

Lake Minnewanka

24.9 km one way

Trailhead:
Lake Minnewanka Day-use Area, kiosk at far end of Picnic Area

Don’t let the gentle opening of this iconic ride fool you; the physical demands and the remoteness of this trail require excellent fitness, bike handling skills and preparation. The challenging and at times exposed sidehill trail climbs steeply out of Stewart Canyon and heads east on a rollicking single track towards the park boundary at Devil’s Gap. Destinations include the Aylmer Pass junction (16 km return) and the Warden’s Cabin (32 km return). The trail is popular with hikers and early, weekday starts for mountain bikers are highly recommended in May/June and September/October. NEW: bikes are not permitted on the trail between July 10 and September 15.

Upper Stoney Squaw Loop

4.1 km loop

Trailhead:
Immediate right at Mt. Norquay Ski Hill Parking Lot

This narrow, technically difficult, rooted little trail climbs, at times steeply, through thick forest to the summit of Mt. Stoney Squaw. If you can “clean” this trail you’re a rock star! Enjoy a snack and a well-deserved rest at the viewpoint, with astonishing views of Cascade Mountain and the Bow Valley beyond. From there, continue north and descend a rocky, twisting technical trail back to the old ski runs above the Mt. Norquay day lodge. Connector: Lower Stoney Squaw (10B) for a challenging, yet easily accessible loop out of Banff’s townsite.

The Toe

7.9 km loop

Starting Points:
Hoodoos Parking Lot or Tunnel Mountain Campground

An exhilarating mix of challenging and exposed technical riding, long climbs and descents, and winding narrow single-track. It can be ridden in any direction, has some exceptional views and provides varied extensions to the main loop. This area is sensitive to both terrain and wildlife – please ride with care.

Back to main page.

Parc national du Canada Banff

PISTES DE VÉLO DE MONTAGNE

Parcs Canada 


Facile | Modéré | Difficile |

FACILE

Sundance

3,6 km aller seulement

Point de départ : Lieu historique national Cave and Basin Idéal pour les enfants et les bébés en remorquette, ce sentier asphalté longe la Bow tout en montant doucement jusqu’à l’aire de pique-nique du Canyon-Sundance, où vous pouvez explorer un joli sentier de randonnée riverain. Le sentier Sundance est très fréquenté par les randonneurs. Raccordement : Ruisseau Healy (2).

Ruisseau Healy

4,9 km aller seulement

Point de départ : Embranchement du sentier Sundance (1)

Cet ancien chemin de gravier à deux voies zigzague et plonge dans la forêt avant de rejoindre le ruisseau Healy. Il débouche ensuite sur la route Sunshine, près de la Transcanadienne. Soyez très prudent sur la Transcanadienne si vous l’empruntez pour regagner Banff. Ce sentier est utilisé pour les excursions d’équitation commerciales et n’est pas recommandé par temps humide. Raccordement : Ruisseau Brewster (3).

Rivière Spray

Boucle de 11,3 km

Points de départ :
Fairmont Banff Springs ou stationnement des chutes Bow

Cette piste en gravier ondulante à deux voies peut être parcourue en boucle dans les deux sens ou être utilisée pour un aller-retour depuis l’un ou l’autre des points de départ. À vous de choisir votre propre aventure! La piste suit la tumultueuse Spray. Excellente pour une sortie en famille et un pique-nique près du pont. Cédez le passage aux cavaliers. Raccordement : Rivière Spray et ruisseau Goat (5).

Étangs Cascade – Bankhead

2,4 km aller seulement

Points de départ :
Aire de fréquentation diurne des Étangs-Cascade ou route du Lac-Minnewanka

Des étangs Cascade, dépassez les table de pique-nique, franchissez le ruisseau et tournez à gauche pour traverser la route Lac-Minnewanka. De là, suivez l’ancien talus de la voie ferrée du Canadien Pacifique jusqu’au village fantôme de Bankhead. Pour le retour, refaites le trajet en sens inverse.

Terrasse Tunnel

 
© P. Zizka

Boucle de 5,7 km


Points de départ : Stationnement du belvédère des Cheminées-des-Fées ou camping du Mont-Tunnel

Généralement parcourue dans le sens des aiguilles d’une montre, cette boucle sinueuse et variée à voie unique gagne peu d’altitude et convient bien aux débutants. Profitez des vues spectaculaires sur deux emblèmes du parc, le mont Rundle et le mont Cascade, ainsi que sur le chaînon Fairholme. Certains tronçons longent des parois exposées. Descendez de selle si vous n’est pas à l’aise. Raccordement : Pied de l’escarpement (20) et chutes Bow-cheminées des fées (19).

Camping du Mont-Tunnel

3,5 km aller seulement

Point de départ : Camping du Mont-Tunnel

Parfaite pour les débutants et les enfants, cette piste très simple décrit une grande boucle autour du camping du Mont-Tunnel. Elle compte de nombreux endroits où vous pouvez vous arrêter pour un repos. Attention aux promeneurs, aux wapitis, aux chevreuils et aux coyotes. Nota : Il pourrait y avoir des travaux sur certains tronçons pendant l’été 2011.


MODÉRÉ

Ruisseau Brewster

8,6 km aller seulement

Points de départ :
Lieu historique national Cave and Basin ou route Sunshine

Empruntez la piste Sundance (1) et/ou le chemin du Ruisseau-Healy (2) jusqu’au sentier du Ruisseau-Brewster. Cette piste à deux voies décrit une ascension soutenue dans la vallée du Brewster jusqu’au Sundance Lodge (services réservés aux clients). Le trajet jusqu’à l’auberge, qui fait 21 km aller-retour, ne convient pas aux débutants. La piste est utilisée pour les excursions d’équitation commerciales et n’est pas recommandée par temps humide.

Rivière Spray et ruisseau Goat

18,7 km aller seulement

Point de départ :
Fairmont Banff Springs

Cette populaire piste ondulante à deux voies suit la Spray sur 10 km avant d’arriver à un embranchement facile à manquer qui bifurque vers la gauche, juste après une courte descente. Tournez à gauche, puis traversez le pont. De là, le sentier monte peu à peu sur les pentes inférieures du mont Rundle, pour déboucher sur le terrain de stationnement de la route Smith-Dorrien, en amont de Canmore. Vous pouvez aussi prendre la navette et faire le trajet en sens inverse pour une longue et agréable balade jusqu’à Banff. Raccordement : Centre nordique de Canmore (prenez le sentier de Banff) et sentier riverain Rundle (6) et promenade du Terrain-de-Golf (15). Nota : La piste du Ruisseau-Goat est argileuse; elle est déconseillée par temps humide.

Cascade

14,6 km aller seulement

Point de départ : Stationnement d’Upper Bankhead

Cet ancien chemin coupe-feu est aujourd’hui une piste de gravier à deux voies qui débute par une ascension soutenue. Il s’enfonce dans les étendues sauvages de la vallée de la Cascade et traverse un habitat de choix pour les ours. La piste cyclable se termine en milieu isolé, au camping rustique du Ruisseau-Stoney.

Tronçon inférieur du sentier Stoney Squaw

4,9 km aller seulement

Point de départ : Stationnement de la station de ski Norquay

Il s’agit d’un excellent choix pour les cyclistes de niveau intermédiaire qui veulent mettre à l’épreuve leurs compétences techniques. Dépassez le pavillon de jour et descendez le chemin de desserte de la station de ski sur 1,4 km. Guettez à votre droite un panneau indiquant l’entrée. Cette piste abrupte à flanc de colline comporte de nombreux tronçons raboteux et caillouteux, et elle descend de manière continue jusqu’à la route. Attention aux ours et aux cavaliers pendant cette descente rapide de haut niveau. N’oubliez pas de refermer la barrière.

Redearth (voir l’encart)

10 km aller seulement

Point de départ :
Stationnement du ruisseau Redearth

Cet ancien chemin coupe-feu communique avec de très jolis sentiers pédestres près de la ligne de partage des eaux. Apportez un cadenas, pour le cas où vous voudriez garer votre vélo au bout de la route. Parmi les destinations les plus courues pour la randonnée, citons l’auberge Shadow Lake Lodge, le lac Shadow et le lac Egypt.

Chutes Bow et cheminées des fées

4,3 km aller seulement

Points de départ : Stationnement des cheminées des fées ou stationnement de Surprise Corner

Cette piste se parcourt dans les deux sens, mais elle est plus agréable du nord au sud. Peu importe la direction choisie, elle offre une expérience exaltante, agrémentée de quelques montées et descentes abruptes. Le parcours vous donne accès à des vues spectaculaires sur le mont Rundle, suit un embranchement de la Bow sur une courte distance et monte un escalier où vous devrez transporter votre vélo.

Château d’eau

3,8 km aller seulement

Points de départ : Aire de fréquentation diurne des Étangs-Cascade ou aire de fréquentation diurne du Lac-Johnson

Cette piste débute à l’extrémité nord-est de l’étang, traverse un petit ruisseau et grimpe une série de marches presque « impossibles à monter à vélo » (préparez-vous à transporter votre monture). Le reste du trajet se fait sur une voie unique qui serpente au pied de l’escarpement dominant la Transcanadienne. Vous aurez une vue splendide sur la vallée de la Bow et ses géants emblématiques, les monts Rundle et Cascade. Une fois au château d’eau, empruntez le chemin de gravier sur une courte distance pour vous rendre au lac Johnson. Ce sentier se prête bien à un aller-retour indépendamment du point de départ choisi.


DIFFICILE

Sentier riverain Rundle

13,9 km aller seulement

Point de départ : Route du terrain de golf de Banff (pavillon au fond)

Les cyclistes de niveau intermédiaire et avancé apprécieront le défi qui les attend sur ces montagnes russes raboteuses qui relient Banff et Canmore. Après 8 km sur une voie unique sillonnée de racines, vous emprunterez un tronçon à deux voies de 6 km jusqu’au centre nordique de Canmore. Munissez-vous d’une bonne suspension et d’une trousse de réparation; en raison du caractère isolé de cette piste, une panne pourrait se révéler problématique. Raccordement : Centre nordique de Canmore (piste de Banff), rivière Spray et ruisseau Goat (5) et promenade du Terrain-de-Golf (15).

Lac Minnewanka

24,9 km aller seulement

Point de départ :
Aire de fréquentation diurne du Lac-Minnewanka, pavillon au fond de l’aire de pique-nique

Ne vous laissez pas duper par le début de ce parcours emblématique : le degré de difficulté et le caractère isolé de ce sentier exigent une excellente forme physique, de bonnes techniques de manipulation de vélo et de la préparation. Ce parcours à flanc de colline exigeant et parfois exposé grimpe de manière abrupte pour sortir du canyon Stewart et débouche sur une voie unique ondulante qui s’étend vers l’est, en direction de la limite du parc, dans la vallée Devil’s Gap. Cette piste vous donne accès à plusieurs destinations, dont l’intersection du sentier du Col-Aylmer (16 km aller-retour) et le chalet de patrouille (32 km aller-retour). Elle est très fréquentée par les randonneurs. En mai-juin et en septembre-octobre, il est fortement recommandé de choisir un jour de semaine pour cette excursion et de partir de bonne heure. Nouveau : Les vélos sont interdits sur la piste entre le 10 juillet et le 15 septembre.

Tronçon supérieur du sentier Stoney Squaw

Boucle de 4,1 km

Point de départ : Immédiatement à la droite au stationnement de la station de ski Norquay

Ce petit sentier étroit et difficile est parcouru de racines. Il grimpe, parfois de façon abrupte, dans une forêt dense jusqu’au sommet du mont Stoney Squaw. Si vous arrivez à conquérir ce sentier, vous serez une vedette! Profitez d’un casse-croûte et d’un repos bien mérité au point de vue, où le mont Cascade et la vallée de la Bow se dévoilent dans toute leur splendeur. De là, poursuivez votre route vers le nord et descendez sur un sentier rocheux et sinueux de haut niveau pour regagner les anciennes pentes de ski en amont du pavillon de jour du mont Norquay. Raccordement : Tronçon inférieur du sentier Stoney Squaw (10B) pour une boucle difficile, mais facilement accessible à partir de Banff.

Pied de l’escarpement

Boucle de 7,9 km

Points de départ :
Stationnement des cheminées des fées ou camping du Mont-Tunnel

Un mélange exaltant – des tronçons exposés de haut niveau, des ascensions et des descentes longues et une piste étroite et sinueuse à une seule voie. Vous pouvez parcourir cette piste dans un sens ou dans l’autre pour accéder à des vues exceptionnelles et à des prolongements variés de la boucle principale. Le terrain et la faune de ce secteur sont sensibles – roulez de manière responsable. 

Retour à la page principale