Banff National Park

Canoeing the Bow River

The Bow River in Banff National Park provides some excellent canoeing opportunities for experienced canoeists. The three most popular sections for canoeing are described here.

Paddling Information

Section #1: Lake Louise to Castle Junction 
Section #2: Castle Junction to Banff
Section #3: Bow Falls to Canmore

Printable version (PDF, 515 kb)

River Hazards

The Bow River is a dynamic watercourse, continuously undergoing change. Erosion by swiftly flowing water can result in new channels, sweepers, and logjams developing overnight, creating deadly hazards in previously harmless locations. Paddlers must be constantly aware of the potential for danger at every bend of the river. These rivers demand that paddlers have precise control and the skills to perform tight maneuvering. Paddlers must be prepared and able to carry out rescue efforts for their group. You are in a remote area and in the case of an accident there will be significant delay before park rescuers will be able to get to you.

Hazards tend to develop at tight bends in the river, where flow is constricted and the current is strongest. On the outside of the curves, trees become undercut and fall into the river forming sweepers and strainers. Every curve in this section of river has the potential to develop these dangerous sweepers and strainers. Approach each bend in the river with caution, and stay to the inside of the curve where the current is slowest.

Logjams are a very dangerous form of strainer. These develop when sweepers wash into the river, float downstream, and become caught on the upstream points of islands and gravel bars, and at the entrances to small channels. Logjams can become very large, creating long term river hazards. Canoes coming onto sweepers or logjams can quickly capsize. The force of the current then pushes the canoe and the paddlers into, and often under, the strainer. If you hit a strainer, make all effort to come out on top of the snags. If you capsize, be prepared to abandon your canoe and gear until you are safely out of the water.

The danger of all the river hazards is magnified as the volume of the water increases. The higher the water level, the more powerful the flow, and the more dangerous is every sweeper and strainer on the river. All hazards are most deadly during spring run-off.

Camping

Paddlers must camp at designated roadside or backcountry campgrounds. The only camping along the Bow River is at the backcountry campground Bo1C (river access-only), at Johnston Creek. Fires are allowed in the designated fire pits only. A Backcountry Use and Camping Pass is required for any overnight stays in the backcountry.

Harlequin Ducks 

Male Harlequin Duck
Male Harlequin Duck
© Parks Canada / Cyndi Smith

From May to October the upper Bow River has the highest number of breeding harlequin ducks in North America. These colourful sea ducks breed in the mountains, and spend their winters on the Pacific coast. Learn to recognize harlequins. You may see them feeding below riffles or rapids, or floating along the river. After feeding they often "haul out" to rest on mid stream rocks or logs, or along the shore. If you encounter any, you can minimize your disturbance by slowing your boat down, moving away, and floating quietly by.

 

 

 

 

Section #1:

Lake Louise to Castle Junction Distance/ Duration: 22 km/ 3 - 4 hours Difficulty: intermediate

DESCRIPTION

This section of the Bow River begins downstream of the hamlet of Lake Louise. It is sandwiched between the Trans-Canada Highway on the west side, and the Canadian Pacific Railway line and Highway 1A (Bow Valley Parkway) on the east side. The Bow River flows with a steady current as it winds its way down the valley. There are numerous riffles and Class 1 rapids. You may encounter sweepers and logjams. Although this section contains many islands and side channels, route finding is straightforward.

Map of Section #1, Lake Louise to Castle Junction
Map of Section #1, Lake Louise to Castle Junction 

STARTING AT LAKE LOUISE

The put-in (n.b. put-ins and take-outs are marked with a P on maps) is at a small side channel approximately 750 metres east of the Trans-Canada Highway bridge over the Bow River, east of the hamlet of Lake Louise. There is a service road turnoff into a meadow with ample parking. Do not block the road when you park your car. This small channel flows back into the main river in about 100 metres. The first 3 kilometres of river to the Moraine Creek viewpoint provides some fast water and tight corners which may require precise maneuvering. At the viewpoint, another continuous section of swift water, waves, and tight bend begins. These are high-risk areas and should be approached with caution and scouted for hazards.

The next landmark is the confluence with Baker Creek on river left, approximately 5 km downstream from Moraine Creek. From this point, the river slows somewhat and the current is more consistent. For the next 14.5 km, the river winds its way down the valley below the cliffs of Castle Mountain. This brings you to the end of this section at the bridge at Castle Junction. Take out on river left at the parking lot just downstream of the bridge.

IN CASE OF EMERGENCY: There is no direct access to the river from the east side, although you can easily hike out to Highway 1 or 1A just about anywhere if necessary. There are telephones on the east side of the river at Baker Creek Bungalows, Protection Mountain Campground and Castle Mountain Village at Castle Junction.


Map of Section # 2 Castle Junction to Banff
Map of Section #2
Castle Junction to Banff

Section #2:

Castle Junction to Banff Distance/ Duration:32 km/ 5 - 6 hours Difficulty: intermediate

DESCRIPTION

This section of the Bow River is bounded on the west side by the Trans-Canada Highway. On the east side is the Canadian Pacific Railway line and Highway 1A (Bow Valley Parkway). The Bow River flows with a steady current as it winds its way down the valley, with many islands and interesting side channels to explore. There are numerous riffles, and Class 1 rapids, with one Class 3 rapid at Redearth Creek. Tight corners, sweepers and logjams are common, especially for a section downstream of Redearth Creek. You need to take extra care in maneuvering your canoe here.

STARTING AT CASTLE JUNCTION

The put-in is at the parking lot on the downstream side of the bridge over the Bow River at Castle Junction. Six km of winding river brings you to the confluence with Johnston Creek, flowing in from river left. Just on the downstream side of Johnston Creek there is a sign for the backcountry campsite. 3 km past Johnston Creek, a right bend in the river leads you towards the Trans-Canada Highway and the Castle Mountain Viewpoint.

This is an important landmark as it indicates that you are approaching Redearth Creek Rapids. As you paddle below the viewpoint, the river makes a left bend away from the highway. In just a couple of hundred metres, the river makes a sharp right turn into the area of Redearth Creek Rapids. Red Earth Creek Rapid, rated Class 3, is a long section of fast water and rocks. The waves are continuous, getting bigger and bigger as you approach the end. Many canoes have capsized or swamped here. With proper scouting and safety procedures, this rapid can be run by experienced canoeists.

Map of Redearth Creek Rapids
Map of Redearth Creek Rapids

If you want to portage the rapid you will have to find your own route as there is no specific portage route. From the top of the rapid on river right, make your way along the shore to where Redearth Creek enters the Bow River. Wade across the creek and carry your canoe along the riverside trail to the end of the rapids.

A couple of kilometres below Redearth Creek, the river becomes very convoluted. It may not be readily apparent, but the river actually branches into two or three channels. This is an exceptionally risky section, with very tight corners, dangerous logjams, and endless sweepers. Vigilance is imperative here.

The large gravel fan at the entrance of Wolverine Creek on river right, marks the end of the major hazards along this section. Another 5.5 km brings you back to the Trans-Canada Highway. This is a good place to take out as there is a gate through the fence to access a roadside parking area off the westbound lane of the highway.

Another 0.5 km brings you to the Trans-Canada Highway bridge over the Bow River. Take care passing under the bridge as there are many sweepers along the left side of the river. From here to Banff is a pleasant, 1.5 - 2 hour paddle. The river is broad and calm, allowing beautiful views of the lower Bow Valley. Take out at the canoe docks, at the junction of the Bow River and Echo Creek. Do not paddle past the canoe docks as Bow Falls is just around the corner.

IN CASE OF EMERGENCY : Although you can hike out to Highway 1 or 1A in many places if you have an emergency, there are numerous side channels and swampy areas in this section that can make walking difficult. There is a telephone on the east side of the river on Hwy 1A at Johnston Creek.

Canoes
Canoes
© Heather Dempsey

Section # 3:

Bow Falls to Canmore Distance/ Duration: 23 km/ 4 hours Difficulty: intermediate




Map of Section # 3 Bow Falls to Canmore
Map of Section # 3
Bow Falls to Canmore


DESCRIPTION

This scenic section starts downstream of Bow Falls and winds beneath the shadow of Mount Rundle to Canmore. You can start at either the Bow Falls parking lot, or from the east end of the Golf Course Road. Do not block any roads when parking.

1. STARTING AT BOW FALLS

Paddling this section, the main channel is generally to the right. Smaller channels on river left can be run by canoes at higher water levels. But, all side channels are smaller, with difficult tight turns and are more likely to be blocked by dangerous sweepers and logjams. As you approach the end of the golf course and can see the glacial till pinnacles of the Hoodoos just ahead, the river makes several tight bends and corners. All channels here have sweepers and strainers in them and canoeists should exercise extreme caution.

2. STARTING AT THE END OF GOLF COURSE

Within minutes of launching or passing this site, the river forks. The channel on river right is the safest route. The channel on river left leads to a dangerous strainer logjam that completely blocks the entrance to a small channel. From this point on, the river is generally wide, as it flows along the base of incredible Mount Rundle. As you approach the confluence of Cascade River, the river widens and braided channels and gravel bars appear. Care must be taken, as numerous channels are available, with the possibility of sweepers and logjams in all of them.

Always be on the look out for sweepers, especially near Hoodoo Corner.
Always be on the look out for sweepers, especially near "Hoodoo Corner".
© Heather Dempsey

After the park boundary (a small sign is found on the river right bank) the river becomes narrower again, with tight corners and numerous sweepers and strainers. This area demands precise control and maneuvering and canoeists are advised to proceed with extra caution.

GETTING OFF THE RIVER:

On river left at the park boundary, a trail leads for 200 metres to the highway at the park gates. In Canmore, take out on river right, just downstream of the first pedestrian bridge.

IN CASE OF EMERGENCY: There is a trail near the river on the right that connects the Banff Springs Golf Course to the Canmore Nordic Centre. Subchannels or swampy valley bottom may block access to the Trans-Canada Highway on the left. The shortest way out for help may be to follow the railway tracks towards Canmore, or to flag a passing canoe or raft.

Parc national Banff

En canot sur la rivière Bow

La rivière Bow qui traverse le parc national Banff offre aux pagayeurs chevronnés d'excellentes possibilités d'excursion en canot. Nous vous présentons ci-dessous les trois tronçons les plus fréquentés de la rivière. Veuillez prendre connaissance des renseignements ci-dessous avant de mettre votre canot à l'eau.

Canotage

Tronçon 1: De Lake Louise jusqu'à l'intersection Castle
Tronçon 2: De l'intersection Castle à Banff
Tronçon 3: Des chutes Bow à Canmore

Version imprimable (PDF, 525 kb)

Dangers sur la rivière

La rivière Bow est un cours d'eau dynamique, qui évolue sans cesse. L'érosion causée par le débit rapide de l'eau peut donner lieu à de nouveaux chenaux, à des arbres couchés et à des accumulations de troncs d'arbres se formant du jour au lendemain; autant de dangers mortels qui peuvent se présenter là où ils étaient inexistants auparavant.

Les dangers ont tendance à apparaître dans les virages très coudés de la rivière, où le mouvement de l'eau est restreint et le courant est à son plus fort. À l'extérieur des coudes, les arbres sapés tombent dans la rivière et se transforment alors en redoutables pièges ou en passoires. Il peut y avoir des arbres tombés dans tous les virages de ce tronçon de la rivière. Faites preuve de prudence à l'abord d'un virage, et restez vers l'intérieur car le courant y est moins fort.

Les amas de troncs d'arbres forment des passoires très dangereuses. Ces amas se créent quand les arbres tombent dans l'eau, flottent en aval et se coincent aux pointes amont des îles et des bancs de gravier, et aux points d'entrée des petits chenaux. Ils peuvent prendre beaucoup d'ampleur, ce qui crée des dangers à long terme sur la rivière. Les canots qui s'y heurtent peuvent chavirer subitement. La force du courant pousse ensuite le canot, avec ses pagayeurs, dans la passoire ou souvent en dessous. Si vous heurtez une passoire, faites tout ce qu'il faut pour vous hisser au-dessus des chicots. Si vous chavirez, soyez prêt à abandonner votre canot et votre équipement jusqu'à ce que vous soyez en sécurité, hors de l'eau.

Tous les dangers que présente la rivière sont amplifiés lorsque le volume de l'eau augmente. Plus le niveau de l'eau est élevé, plus le débit est fort, et plus les arbres tombés dans l'eau et les passoires sont dangereux. C'est à l'écoulement printanier qu'il est le plus périlleux de s'aventurer dans la rivière.

Le Camping

Le seul terrain de camping le long de la rivière Bow est le terrain de camping d'arrière-pays Bo1C (accessible par la rivière seulement), au ruisseau Johnston (N.B. Il faut se procurer un permis de l'utilisation de l'arrière-pays et camping si on souhaite y passer la nuit). Les feux ne sont permis que dans les foyers désignés.

Arlequin plongeur mâle
Arlequin plongeur mâle
© Cyndi Smith
Arlequins plongeurs

De mai à octobre, le cours supérieur de la rivière Bow abrite la plus forte concentration d'arlequins plongeurs qui nichent en Amérique du Nord. Ces canards de mer tout en couleurs nichent dans les montagnes et passent l'hiver sur la côte du Pacifique. Apprenez à les reconnaître. Vous pourriez les apercevoir en train de chercher à manger sous les bancs de la rivière ou dans les rapides ou de se laisser emporter par les flots. Une fois repus, ils aiment à se reposer sur des rochers ou des troncs d'arbres au milieu de l'eau ou sur la grève. Si vous en rencontrez, souvenez-vous que vous les dérangerez moins si vous ralentissez, que vous vous éloignez et que vous laissez le courant porter votre canot.

Tronçon # 1:

De Lake Louise jusqu'à l'intersection Castle Distance/durée : 22 km/ 3 - 4 heures Degré de difficulté : intermédiaire

DESCRIPTION

Ce tronçon de la rivière Bow débute en aval du hameau de Lake Louise. Il est flanqué de la Transcanadienne, du côté ouest, et du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique et de la route 1A (promenade de la Vallée-de-la-Bow), du côté est. Le courant est régulier, et la rivière suit son cours dans la vallée en serpentant. On y trouve plusieurs seuils et rapides de classe 1. Il peut y avoir aussi des arbres couchés dans l'eau et des amas de troncs d'arbres. Ce secteur compte de nombreux faux-chenaux et îles, mais il est facile de s'y orienter.

Carte de tronçon #1 De Lake Louise jusqu'à l'intersection Castle
Carte de tronçon # 1
De Lake Louise jusqu'à l'intersection Castle

© Parcs Canada

POINT DE DÉPART : LAKE LOUISE

Le point de mise à l'eau (nota : les points de mise à l'eau et d'accostage sont indiqués au moyen d'un P sur les cartes) se trouve dans un petit faux-chenal à environ 750 mètres à l'est du pont de la Transcanadienne qui enjambe la rivière Bow, à l'est du hameau de Lake Louise. Prenez la voie de service, qui mène à un pré où il y a un grand stationnement. Ne garez pas votre voiture de manière à bloquer la route.

Ce petit faux-chenal se jette dans la rivière 100 mètres plus loin. Les trois premiers kilomètres qui mènent au belvédère du Ruisseau-Moraine offrent des eaux rapides par endroits et des virages serrés qui pourraient exiger des manoeuvres précises. Au belvédère commence une autre section continue d'eaux rapides, de vagues et de coudes serrés. Ce secteur présente de nombreux risques; vous devez donc vous y aventurer avec prudence après y être allé en reconnaissance pour relever les obstacles qui vous attendent.

Le prochain point de repère se trouve au confluent du ruisseau Baker à gauche, à environ 5 km en aval du ruisseau Moraine. À partir de là, le débit ralentit un peu et le courant se régularise. La rivière serpente ensuite sur une distance de 14,5 kilomètres dans la vallée sous les escarpements du mont Castle pour vous mener à la fin du premier tronçon, au pont de l'intersection Castle. Débarquez sur la rive gauche, au stationnement qui se trouve tout juste en aval du pont

EN CAS D'URGENCE : Il n'y a pas d'accès direct à la rivière depuis la rive est; vous pouvez toutefois facilement marcher jusqu'à la route 1 ou 1A à partir de n'importe quel endroit, s'il le faut. Il y a des téléphones du côté est de la rivière aux établissements d'hébergement Baker Creek Bungalows, au terrain de camping du Mont- Protection et au Castle Mountain Village, à l'intersection Castle.


Tronçon # 2:

Carte de tronçon #2 De l'intersection Castle à Banff
Carte de tronçon # 2
De l'intersection Castle à Banff

© Parcs Canada

De l'intersection Castle à Banff Distance/durée : 32 km/ 5 - 6 heures Degré de difficulté : intermédiaire

DESCRIPTION

Ce tronçon de la rivière Bow est bordé, du côté ouest, par la Transcanadienne et, du côté est, par le chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique et la route 1A (promenade de la Vallée-de la- Bow). Le courant est régulier et la rivière suit son cours dans la vallée en serpentant; vous y trouverez de nombreuses îles et d'intéressants faux-chenaux à explorer. Ce tronçon est doté de nombreux seuils et de rapides de classe 1, de même que d'un rapide de classe 3 au ruisseau Redearth. Les coudes serrés, les arbres couchés dans l'eau et les amas de troncs d'arbres y sont fréquents, en particulier dans le secteur en aval du ruisseau Redearth. Il vous faudra manier votre canot en faisant particulièrement attention dans ce secteur.

POINT DE DÉPART : INTERSECTION CASTLE

Le point de mise à l'eau se trouve au stationnement du côté aval du pont qui enjambe la rivière Bow à l'intersection Castle. Après avoir parcouru six kilomètres sur ce tronçon sinueux de la rivière, vous arriverez au confluent du ruisseau Johnston, qui se jette dans la rivière du côté gauche. En aval du ruisseau Johnston se trouve un écriteau indiquant les emplacements de camping dans l'arrière-pays. Trois kilomètres plus loin, la rivière bifurque vers la droite et vous mène vers la Transcanadienne et le belvédère du Mont-Castle.

Ce point de repère est important car il indique que vous approchez des rapides du ruisseau Redearth. Sous le belvédère, la rivière se dirige vers la gauche pour s'éloigner de la Transcanadienne. Deux cents mètres plus loin à peine, la rivière effectue un virage serré vers la droite pour aboutir dans le secteur des rapides du ruisseau Redearth. De classe 3, ces rapides forment une longue section d'eaux vives et de rochers. Les vagues y sont constantes et prennent de l'ampleur à mesure que vous avancez. De nombreux canots ont chaviré ou ont été submergés à cet endroit. Les pagayeurs chevronnés peuvent s'aventurer dans ce rapide, pourvu qu'il prennent les mesures de reconnaissance et de sécurité nécessaires.

Carte des rapides du ruisseau Redearth
Carte des rapides du ruisseau Redearth
© Parcs Canada

Si vous voulez faire du portage, vous devrez vous frayer votre propre chemin, étant donné qu'aucune route de portage n'a été aménagée. Du haut des rapides (rive droite), marchez sur la berge jusqu'à l'endroit où le ruisseau Redearth se jette dans la rivière Bow. Traversez le ruisseau et portez votre canot sur le sentier qui longe la rivière jusqu'à la fin des rapides.

Deux kilomètres avant le ruisseau Redearth, la rivière devient très vrillée. Il est peut-être difficile de le remarquer, mais elle se ramifie en fait en deux ou trois chenaux à cet endroit. Ce secteur comporte de très grands risques, de même que des virages extrêmement serrés, des amas de troncs d'arbres dangereux et d'innombrables arbres couchés sur l'eau. La vigilance est de mise.

Le vaste cône alluvial de gravier qui se trouve à l'entrée du ruisseau Wolverine, du côté droit de la rivière, indique que vous avez traversé les principaux obstacles du secteur. Environ 5,5 km plus loin, vous regagnerez la Transcanadienne. C'est là un bon endroit où mettre à terre; il y a une barrière dans la clôture qui donne accès à un terrain de stationnement en bordure de la route, du côté de la voie qui se dirige vers l'ouest.

Vous arriverez, 0,5 km plus loin, au pont de la Transcanadienne qui enjambe la rivière Bow. Faites attention quand vous passez sous le pont car il y a de nombreux arbres couchés du côté gauche de la rivière. À partir de cet endroit jusqu'à Banff, il vous faudra entre 1,5 et 2 heures de pagaie facile. La rivière est large et calme, et offre une vue magnifique du cours inférieur de la vallée de la Bow. Mettez à terre aux pontons d'accostage, à l'intersection de la rivière Bow et du ruisseau Echo. Ne dépassez pas les pontons étant donné que les chutes Bow se trouvent tout de suite après le virage.

EN CAS D'URGENCE : S'il est possible de se rendre à pied jusqu'à la route 1 ou 1A à partir de nombreux endroits en cas d'urgence, il y a toutefois dans le secteur de nombreux faux-chenaux et marécages qui peuvent rendre la marche difficile. Il y a un téléphone du côté est de la route 1A, au ruisseau Johnston.

Canots
Canots
© Parcs Canada / Heather Dempsey

Tronçon # 3:

Des chutes Bow à Canmore Distance/durée : 23 km/ 4 heures Degré de difficulté : intermédiaire





Carte de tronçon #3 Des chutes Bow à Canmore
Carte de tronçon # 3
Des chutes Bow à Canmore

© Parcs Canada

DESCRIPTION

Ce tronçon panoramique débute en aval des chutes Bow et se rend jusqu'à Canmore, à l'ombre du mont Rundle. Vous pouvez mettre à l'eau au stationnement des chutes Bow ou du côté est de la route du terrain de golf. Ne garez pas votre voiture de manière à bloquer les routes.

1. POINT DE DÉPART : CHUTES BOW

Pour les pagayeurs, le chenal principal à suivre se trouve généralement du côté droit de la rivière. Les petits chenaux du côté gauche sont praticables quand le niveau de l'eau est élevé. Toutefois, tous les fauxchenaux sont plus petits et présentent des virages serrés; ils sont de plus susceptibles d'être bloqués par des arbres couchés et des amas de troncs d'arbres dangereux. À votre approche de l'extrémité du terrain de golf, vous verrez les pinacles de dépôt morainique des cheminées de fée devant vous; à cet endroit, la rivière trace plusieurs virages et coudes serrés. Il y a des arbres couchés et des passoires dans tous les chenaux de cette section; les pagayeurs doivent donc redoubler de prudence.

2. POINT DE DÉPART : EXTRÉMITÉ DU TERRAIN DE GOLF

Quelques minutes après avoir mis votre canot à l'eau ou dépassé cet endroit, la rivière se ramifie. Le chenal de droite est le plus sûr. Celui de gauche mène à une dangereuse passoire qui bloque entièrement l'entrée à un petit chenal. À partir de cet endroit, la rivière est dans l'ensemble assez large et elle longe le pied du magnifique mont Rundle. À l'approche du confluent de la rivière Cascade, la rivière s'élargit et apparaît alors tout un réseau de chenaux et de battures de gravier. Il faut faire attention car il y a de nombreux chenaux qui s'offrent à vous, et ils peuvent tous contenir des arbres couchés et des amas de troncs d'arbres.

Soyez toujours à l'affût des arbres couchés sur l'eau, n particulier près du coin des cheminées de fée.
Soyez toujours à l'affût des arbres couchés sur l'eau, en particulier près du coin des cheminées de fée.
© Parcs Canada / Heather Dempsey

De l'autre côté de la limite du parc (un petit écriteau se trouve sur la berge droite de la rivière), la rivière se rétrécit de nouveau, et elle est caractérisée par des coudes serrés et de nombreux arbres couchés et passoires. Ce secteur exige de la précision dans le contrôle et le maniement de votre canot, et on conseille aux pagayeurs de faire particulièrement attention à cet endroit.

POUR ACCOSTER :

Du coté gauche de la rivière à la limite du parc, un sentier de 200 mètres mène à la route, aux portes d'entrée du parc. À Canmore, accostez du côté droit de la rivière, en aval du premier pont piétonnier.

EN CAS D'URGENCE : Du côté droit, il y a un sentier près de la rivière qui relie le terrain de golf Banff Springs au Centre nordique de Canmore. Il arrive que l'accès à la Transcanadienne par la gauche soit bloqué en raison des chenaux secondaires ou des marécages dans le fond de la vallée. Pour obtenir de l'aide le plus rapidement possible, suivez la voie ferrée qui vous ramènera à Canmore ou hélez un canot ou un pneumatique.