Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

Stinkpot Turtle

Sternotherus odoratus



What is the Stinkpot turtle?

The stinkpot turtle is a small turtle that has a domed carapace (top of the shell) and a very small plastron (bottom of the shell). It has two yellow lines that extend from the nose and flare out to either sides of the eye. Male turtles can be distinguished from female turtles by two patches of rough scales that occur on the inner side of each hind leg, and by a longer, thicker tail with a thick spine at the tip.

Close-up of the head of a stinkpot turtle.
Stinkpots can be distinguished from other turtles by its prominent yellow lines on the side of its head.
© Parks Canada / SLINP Image Library


Where is the Stinkpot turtle found?

Stinkpot turtles are rarely found on land. The only time these turtles are required to move onto land is during nesting, where they will lay their eggs along shoreline areas. Unlike other turtles that bask out of water, stinkpot turtles prefer to bask a few inches underwater during the day. They are poor swimmers and prefer to crawl along the bottoms of water bodies

Stinkpot turtles require shallow bodies of water with a soft substrate and little or no current. In Canada the stinkpot turtle occurs in southern Ontario, extending north to Georgian Bay, in wetland communities and along lake and river edges. Areas that offer some protection to stinkpot turtle populations in Ontario include St. Lawrence Islands National Park, Georgian Bay Islands National Park, Point Pelee National Park, Bruce Peninsula National Park, Rideau Canal National Historic Site and the Trent- Severn Waterway National Historic Site. Most of the turtle’s lifecycle occurs in water, which is often outside of Parks Canada jurisdiction, although nesting sites are found on Parks Canada property. By protecting these sites Parks Canada is helping to ensure that stinkpot turtle populations are secure in local areas.

Who knew?

Stinkpot turtles are poor swimmers and walkers, however they are known to be excellent tree climbers. On very rare occasions they have been know to climb up to 2 metres up a tree.

Espèces en péril

Tortue musquée

Sternotherus odoratus



Qu’est ce que la tortue musquée ?

La tortue musquée est une petite tortue munie d’une carapace en forme de dôme et d’un très petit plastron ventral (dessous de la carapace). Elle a deux lignes jaunes qui émanent du nez et s’évasent de part et d’autre de chaque oeil. Les tortues mâles se différencient des femelles par deux zones d’écailles rugueuses que l’on trouve du côté interne de chaque patte arrière, et par une queue plus longue et plus épaisse munie d’une large épine au bout.

Gros plan de la tête d'une tortue musquée.
Les tortues musquées se distinguent des autres tortues par ses deux rayures jaunes de chaque coté de la tête.
© Parcs Canada / Banque d'images du PNISL.


Où vit la tortue musquée ?

Les tortues musquées sont rarement hors de l’eau. Le seul temps où on les retrouve sur la terre ferme est lors de la nidification, durant laquelle elles pondent leurs œufs sur les rivages. Contrairement à d’autres tortues qui prennent le soleil hors de l’eau, les tortues musquées préfèrent se reposer au soleil quelques pouces en dessous de l’eau durant le jour. Elles sont de piètres nageuses et préfèrent ramper au fond des plans d’eau.

Les tortues musquées requièrent comme habitat des eaux peu profondes, avec un substrat mou et peu ou pas de courant. Au Canada, on trouve la tortue musquée dans le sud de l’Ontario, dans une zone s’étendant vers le nord jusqu’à la Baie Georgienne, dans des milieux humides sur le rivage des lacs et des rivières. Parmi les endroits qui offrent une protection aux populations de tortues musquées, on trouve le Parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent, le Parc national du Canada des Îles-de-la-Baie-Georgienne, le Parc national du Canada de la Pointe-Pelée, le Parc national du Canada Péninsule-Bruce, le Lieu historique national du Canada du Canal-Rideau et le Lieu historique national du Canada de la Voie-Navigable Trent-Severn. La plus grande partie du cycle de vie de la tortue se passe dans l’eau, donc hors de la juridiction de Parcs Canada, bien que les sites de nidification se trouvent sur les terres de Parcs Canada. En protégeant ces sites, Parcs Canada favorise la survie des populations de tortues musquées dans les environs.

Le saviez vous?

Les tortues musquées sont de piètres nageuses et marcheuses ; toutefois, elles sont reconnues très habiles pour grimper les arbres. En de très rares occasions, on les a vus grimper jusqu’à 2 mètres en haut d’un arbre.