Species at Risk

Blue Whale (Atlantic population)

Balaenoptera musculus

How can I help?

  • Behave respectfully toward blue whales when you observe them, whether at the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park or elsewhere on the St. Lawrence. Watch them from land so that you do not disturb them. If you prefer to participate in a whale-watching trip on the water, choose a cruise company that respects the regulations on observing marine mammals.
  • Be curious. Learn more about the blue whale and share your knowledge about this species at risk with your group. Meet with interpreter-guides at the Cap de Bon-Désir Interpretation and Observation Centre at the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park.
  • Always, and particularly at the Saguenay St. Lawrence Marine Park, dispose of your garbage in appropriate containers. When picnicking, use reusable containers and utensils. Too often, plastic bags and wraps, juice containers and other garbage fly away and end up in the water, where they can pollute the environment for decades, or even centuries.
  • Adopt daily habits that respect the environment. Your use of water has an impact on the river’s health: save it and use ecologically friendly cleaning products!
  • Does your municipality have a sewage system that effectively treats wastewater before dumping it in the rivers? If not, share your concerns about this issue with elected municipal and/or regional officials.

Close-up view of a whale with whale watching boat tours in the background.
Saguenay St. Lawrence National Marine Park of Canada is renowned for some of the best whale watching in Canada.
© Parks Canada / Barrett & Mackay / 1985

Links:

Espèces en péril

Rorqual bleu (population de l’Atlantique)

Balaenoptera musculus

Comment puis-je aider?

  • Adoptez des comportements respectueux envers les rorquals bleus lorsque vous les observez, que vous soyez sur le territoire du parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent ou ailleurs sur le Saint-Laurent. Observez-les de la terre ferme, vous éviterez alors de les déranger.
  • Si vous préférez participer à une excursion d’observation en mer, optez pour une compagnie de croisière qui respecte le règlement sur l’observation des mammifères marins.
  • Soyez curieux. Apprenez-en davantage sur le rorqual bleu et partagez vos connaissances à propos de cette espèce en péril avec votre entourage. Rencontrez les guides interprètes du site d’interprétation et d’observation de Cap-de-Bon-Désir au parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent.
  • En tout temps et particulièrement lors de votre passage au parc marin du Saguenay–Saint-Laurent, jetez vos déchets aux endroits appropriés. En pique-nique, favorisez des contenants et des ustensiles réutilisables. Trop souvent, sacs et pellicules de plastique, contenants de jus, et autres déchets s’envolent et finissent par se retrouver à l’eau où ils pollueront l’environnement pendant des décennies, voire des siècles.
  • Adoptez des habitudes quotidiennes respectueuses de l’environnement. Votre utilisation de l’eau a un impact sur la santé du fleuve : économisez-la et utilisez des produits nettoyants écologiques!
  • Votre municipalité a-t-elle un système d’égout qui traite efficacement les eaux usées avant de les rejeter dans les rivières? Si non, n’hésitez pas à faire-part de vos préoccupations à ce propos aux élus de votre ville et de votre région.

Vue en gros plan d’une baleine, avec des bateaux d’observation de baleines
La région du parc marin du Saguenay-St-Laurent est reconnue pour l'une des meilleures activités d'observation de baleines au Canada.
© Parcs Canada / Barrett & Mackay / 1985

Liens :