Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

Peregrine Falcon (anatum subspecies)

Falco peregrinus anatum

Why protect the Peregrine Falcon?

Parks Canada resource conservation staff banding a Peregrine Falcon.
Each year Parks Canada conservation staff assist in Peregrine Falcon ecological monitoring, research and annual nesting surveys.
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.09.11 (57) / 1987

As predatory birds at the top of their food chain, peregrine falcons are important both to the ecosystem and to biodiversity in Canada. They continue to be vulnerable to the effects of chemical pollutants such as pesticides. Anyone who has seen the amazing aerobatics of peregrine falcons in flight would agree that this majestic bird should be protected for the benefit of future generations.

In Canada, the Canadian Wildlife Service has a lead role in the management and protection of peregrine falcons, with the assistance of other partners. Management and protection of the Northeastern Alberta population has been a joint effort between the Canadian Wildlife Service, the Alberta government (Sustainable Resource Development), and Parks Canada (Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada).

What is Parks Canada doing to protect the Peregrine Falcon?

Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada protects nesting sites of the peregrine falcon. These sites are classified as Zone 1 Special Preservation under the Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada Management Plan. Public access is prohibited due to the extreme sensitivity of the birds while they are nesting and raising their young.

Park resource conservation staff assist Canadian Wildlife Service and Alberta Sustainable Resource Development staff with ecological monitoring, research, and annual nesting surveys. As a result of these efforts, the Northeastern Alberta population has increased from a low of nine pairs in 1990, to 31 pairs in 2005.

The presence of Peregrine falcons in Wood Buffalo National Park of Canada is very special, and is one reason why the park is a World Heritage Site.

Espèces en péril

Faucon pèlerin (de la sous-espèce anatum)

Falco peregrinus anatum

Pourquoi protéger le faucon pèlerin?

Membres du personnel de Parcs Canada affectés à la préservation des ressources procédant à l'identification d'un faucon pèlerin.
Chaque année, le personnel de Parcs Canada responsable de la préservation des ressources aide à la surveillance écologique, à la recherche et au recensement annuel des faucons et de leurs nids.
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.10.02 (30) / 1987

En tant que prédateurs au sommet de la chaîne alimentaire, les faucons pèlerins sont essentiels à la santé l’écosystème et de la biodiversité du Canada. Ils sont vulnérables aux effets néfastes de polluants chimiques, tels que les pesticides. Quiconque à pu apercevoir les incroyables acrobaties aériennes d’un faucon pèlerin en vol sera d’accord pour dire que ces oiseaux doivent être protégéd pour le bonheur des générations à venir.

Au Canada, le Service canadien de la faune joue un rôle de premier plan dans la gestion et la protection des faucons pèlerins, avec l’aide d’autres partenaires. La gestion et la protection de la population du nord-est de l’Alberta sont le fruit d’un effort conjoint entre le Service canadien de la faune, le gouvernement de l’Alberta (Exploitation durable des ressources) et Parcs Canada (parc national Wood Buffalo).

Que fait Parcs Canada pour sauver le faucon pèlerin?

Le parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo protège les aires de nidification du faucon pèlerin. Ces aires sont classifiées zone 1 – préservation spéciale en vertu du Plan directeur du parc national du Canada Wood Buffalo. L’accès au public est interdit en raison de la vulnérabilité extrême des oiseaux lorsqu’ils nichent et élèvent leurs petits.

Le personnel responsable de la préservation des ressources du parc aide le Service canadien de la faune et le personnel de l’exploitation durable des ressources de l’Alberta dans ses activités de surveillance écologique, de recherche et de recensement annuel des oiseaux qui y nichent. Grâce à ces efforts, la population du nord-est de l’Alberta, qui comptait à peine neuf couples reproducteurs en 1990, en comptait 31 en 2005.

La présence de faucons pèlerins dans le parc national Wood Buffalo constitue un des grands atouts du parc et est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles le parc est un site du patrimoine mondial.