Species at Risk

Deerberry

Vaccinium stamineum

Why protect Deerberry?

Deerberry is a part of a unique and healthy ecosystem and contributes to the overall biodiversity in Canada. In the Thousand Islands Ecosystem deerberry is found in association with other uncommon species in Canada such as pitch pine (Pinus rigida).

It is important to protect and recover deerberry populations to ensure that a healthy environment is available for future generations.

Close-up of deerberry flowers.
Pendant white flowers clusters appear in the early summer on long slender stalks.
© Parks Canada / SLINP Image Library

There are also genetic differences between deerberry found in Canada and deerberry found in more temperate areas in the United States. Being at the northern end of it’s range, and disjunct from other populations, deerberry in Canada has had to adapt to a colder climate and to more competition than in other populations This has resulted in Canadian deerberry populations that are unique and are of high conservation value.

Deerberry plays an important ecological role where it occurs. The fruit of deerberry plants provide a source of nutrition for numerous birds. The flowers of deerberry provide a source of nectar for various bees.

What is Parks Canada doing to save Deerberry?

There are five ways that Parks Canada is assisting in the recovery of deerberry populations in Canada: through seelding introduction, plant monitoring, protection, education and collaborating with other organizations on recovery.

  • A deerberry reintroduction program has been ongoing at St. Lawrence Islands National Park. Because deerberry plants in Canada have not been known to germinate from seed, park staff have partnered with universities to establish new deerberry seedlings in greenhaouse environments. These seedlings are then introduced to areas that have been shown to provide similar habitat.
  • St. Lawrence Islands National Park monitors existing plants that helps to assess plant health, and identify possible stressors. Monitoring is done annually.
  • St. Lawrence Islands National Park educates visitors and regional residents about the importance of deerberry and its function in the Thousand Islands Ecosystem. It is important for these audiences to be aware of deerberry so that impact can be minimized where it occurs.
  • St. Lawrence Islands National Park is represented on the Deerberry Recovery Team, a group consisting of government organizations and universities that develops and implements recovery plans and contributes status reports to COSEWIC.

Espèces en péril

Airelle à longues étamines

Vaccinium stamineum

Pourquoi protéger l’airelle à longues étamines?

L’airelle à longues étamines fait partie d’un écosystème unique et sain et contribue à la biodiversité générale au Canada. Dans l’écosystème des Mille-Îles, on trouve l’airelle à longues étamines en association avec d’autres espèces peu communes au Canada comme le pin rigide (Pinus rigida).

Il importe de protéger et de rétablir les populations d’airelles à longues étamines afin d’assurer l’existence d’un environnement sain pour les générations à venir.

Gros plan des fleurs d’airelles à longues étamines.
Des grappes de fleurs blanches pendent à partir de longues tiges fines au début de l’été.
© Parcs Canada / Banque d’images du PNISL

Il existe aussi des différences génétiques entre l’airelle à longues étamines présente au Canada et celle qu’on trouve dans des régions plus tempérées des États-Unis. Vivant à l’extrémité septentrionale de son aire de distribution et isolée des autres populations, l’airelle à longues étamines présente au Canada a dû s’adapter à un climat plus rigoureux et à une plus grande compétition que dans d’autres populations. Cette situation a donné naissance au Canada à des populations d’airelles à longues étamines uniques et dont la sauvegarde revêt une grande valeur.

L’airelle à longues étamines joue un rôle écologique important là où elle se trouve. Le fruit de l’airelle à longues étamines est une source d’alimentation pour divers oiseaux et ses fleurs sont une source de nectar pour diverses abeilles.

Que fait Parcs Canada pour sauver l’airelle à longues étamines?

Parcs Canada dispose de cinq mécanismes pour contribuer au rétablissement des populations d’airelles à longues étamines au Canada : introduction de semis, surveillance des plantes, protection, sensibilisation et collaboration au rétablissement avec d’autres organisations.

  • Un programme de réintroduction de l’airelle à longues étamines est en cours dans le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent. Comme on ignore si les airelles à longues étamines germent à partir de graines, le personnel du parc a établi des partenariats avec les universités afin de créer de nouveaux semis d’airelles à longues étamines en serre. Ces semis sont ensuite introduits dans des régions qui sont censées offrir un habitat similaire.
  • Le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent surveille les plantes existantes afin d’aider à évaluer leur santé et à identifier les agresseurs. La surveillance s’effectue chaque année.
  • Le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent sensibilise les visiteurs et les résidants de la région à l’importance de l’airelle à longues étamines et à sa fonction dans l’écosystème des Mille-Îles. Il est important que ces publics connaissent l’existence de cette plante de sorte que leur impact puisse être réduit au maximum là où il se produit.
  • Le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent est représenté au sein de l’Équipe du rétablissement de l’airelle à longues étamines. Cette organisation qui regroupe des organismes gouvernementaux et des universités élabore et met en œuvre des plans de rétablissement et rédige des rapports d’étape à l’intention du COSEPAC.