Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

The Newfoundland Marten

Martes americana atrata

Parks Canada biologist with a Newfoundland Marten under anaesthesia, explaining his work to 2 adults and 3 children.
Parks Canada biologist, John Gosse, discusses marten recovery with participants in the Newfoundland Marten Volunteer Program.
© Parks Canada / J.W. Gosse

What is the status of the Newfoundland Marten?

In the early 1980s, the Newfoundland Marten population was estimated at 630 to 875 individuals. Based on those numbers, COSEWIC designated the Newfoundland Marten as a threatened species.

But by 1995, the population had declined to only 300 marten-a number that increases their vulnerability to threats like habitat loss, accidental deaths in traps and snares, and disease. In areas where only a few martens exist, an outbreak of disease, or further habitat, could wipe out all the remaining marten living in that area.

In response to this further decline, COSEWIC listed the Newfoundland Marten in the more serious “endangered” category.

Why is the Newfoundland Marten in danger?

Because marten are a forest dependent species, removal of large expanses of this habitat through timber harvesting poses a threat to population recovery. We must all take responsibility to ensure that our forests are used sustainably so that species like the Newfoundland Marten can continue to exist.

Some residents of Newfoundland enjoy hunting and trapping animals like fox, mink and snowshoe hares. Unfortunately, martens are often unintentionally caught in snares and traps set for these other furbearers. This has prompted wildlife managers to establish special management areas where specific traps and snares known to reduce the occurrence of accidental captures must be used.

Espèces en péril

La martre de Terre-Neuve

Martes americana atrata

Biologiste de Parcs Canada avec une martre sous anesthésie. Il explique son travail à 2 adultes et 3 enfants qui l’accompagnent.
Un biologiste de Parcs Canada, John Gosse, discute du rétablissement de la martre avec des participants du Programme de bénévolat pour la martre de Terre-Neuve
© Parcs Canada / J.W. Gosse

Quel est le statut de la martre de Terre-Neuve?

Au début des années 1980, on estimait que la population de martres de Terre-Neuve comptait de 630 à 875 individus. En se fondant sur ces nombres, le COSEPAC a placé la martre de Terre-Neuve sur sa liste des espèces menacées.

En 1995, la population avait diminué à seulement 300 martres, un nombre qui augmente leur vulnérabilité aux menaces comme la perte d’habitat, la mort accidentelle dans les pièges et les collets, et la maladie. Advenant l’apparition d’une maladie ou une nouvelle perte d’habitat, la faible population de martres d’une région pourrait être complètement anéantie.

En réponse à ce déclin constant de la population, le COSEPAC a placé la martre de Terre-Neuve sur sa liste des espèces en voie de disparition.

Pourquoi la martre de Terre-Neuve est-elle en danger?

Puisque la martre est une espèce dépendante de la forêt, la suppression de grandes étendues de cet habitat par l’exploitation forestière menace le rétablissement de la population. Nous devons tous prendre la responsabilité de veiller à ce que nos forêts soient utilisées de façon durable pour que les espèces comme la martre de Terre-Neuve puissent continuer d’exister.

Certains habitants de Terre-Neuve aiment chasser et piéger les animaux comme le renard, le vison et le lièvre d’Amérique. Malheureusement, les martres se prennent souvent dans les pièges tendus pour ces autres animaux à fourrure. Ceci a poussé les gestionnaires de la faune à délimiter des zones spéciales où il est obligatoire d’utiliser certains pièges en particulier, qui réduisent les risques de capturer accidentellement une martre.