Species at Risk

American Badger

Taxidea taxus jeffersonii

Why protect the American Badger?

The badger is one of Canada's few grassland carnivores. In fact, it's the only carnivore, besides the black-footed ferret, that burrows after and eats other tunnelling animals. So badgers help control ground squirrel, mice and vole populations, playing an important role in grasslands ecosystems.

When badgers dig - in pursuit of prey or to excavate a burrow - they also improve the soil conditions for various plants. In addition to this, the large burrows they create provide shelter to other wild animals like burrowing owls and snakes.

What is Parks Canada doing to save the American Badger?

American Badger in Waterton Lakes National Park of Canada
American Badger, jeffersonii subspecies.
© Parks Canada / W. Lynch / 09.92.10.01 (94) / 2002)

The key to helping any species survive is to maintain the ecosystem that provides it with food, shelter and other life necessities. Yet, before 1995, the badger had not been studied much in British Columbia, so questions remained regarding its needs and how best to restore populations.

The East Kootenay Badger Project, with Parks Canada as one of the partners, aims to find the answers. Initiated in 1995, this exciting long term study of badger ecology and distribution in the East Kootenays, including Kootenay National Park, is Canada's first intensive radio telemetry-based study of badgers.

The project involves following badgers fitted with radio transmitters and mapping their travels. So far (1996-2005), 31 badgers have been radio-tagged and their movements followed to determine:

  • movement rates and home range size;
  • patterns of habitat use and dispersal;
  • birth rates and reproductive success; and
  • causes of death.

In addition, between 2002 and 2004, 16 badgers from Montana were introduced in the Columbia River Valley to help restore the species in this region and better understand the role of habitat in the species’ survival.

The East Kootenay Badger Project also works with landowners in order to increase the number of badgers maintained on private property. These stewardship projects result in increased public awareness and appreciation of the badger, their prey and the ecosystems they call home.

Scientific research, population monitoring, reintroduction initiatives and stewardship are all important components of the strategy to restore British Columbia's American Badger populations.

Results of research carried out so far under the East Kootenay Badger Project indicate that:

  • Within the East Kootenay Trench, the badger population in the south appears to be stable to possibly increasing slightly, but that of the north recently reached extirpation or nearly so.
  • Fourteen of the study badgers have died, due mainly to highway kills and predation by cougars and bobcats. Annual survivorship of adult badgers is 82%.

The results of the introduction of the Montana badgers have been encouraging-the animals have adapted well to their new home and are producing young. Translocated animals could help in restoring the population in the northern part of the study area.

The knowledge obtained in this study and similar initiatives has helped in updating the recovery strategy for the American Badger, jeffersonii subspecies. The most recent version of the strategy was published in March 2005. The five-year goal is to increase the number of adult badgers in British Columbia to at least 400 individuals.

Espèces en péril

Blaireau d’Amérique

Taxidea taxus jeffersonii

Pourquoi protéger le blaireau d’Amérique ?

Le blaireau est l'un des rares carnivores des prairies du Canada. En fait, c'est le seul carnivore, à part le putois d’Amérique, qui creuse pour attraper et manger d'autres animaux vivant dans des galeries. Les blaireaux aident donc à assurer la régulation des populations d'écureuils terrestres, de souris et de campagnols, jouant ainsi un rôle important dans les écosystèmes des prairies.

Lorsque les blaireaux creusent - pour poursuivre leur proie ou pour creuser un terrier -, ils améliorent la condition du sol pour différentes plantes. De plus, les grands terriers qu'ils creusent fournissent un abri à d'autres animaux sauvages, comme la chevêche des terriers et le serpent

Que fait Parcs Canada pour sauver le blaireau
d’Amérique ?

Gros plan d’un blaireau d’Amérique
Blaireau d’Amérique de la sous-espèce jeffersoni.
© Parcs Canada / W. Lynch / 09.90.10.01 (94) / 2002

Maintenir en santé l'écosystème qui lui fournit de la nourriture, un abri et d'autres éléments essentiels est la meilleure façon d'aider toute espèce à survivre. Cependant, avant 1995, le blaireau n'avait pas été beaucoup étudié en Colombie-Britannique, et des questions concernant ses besoins et la meilleure façon de rétablir ses populations restaient sans réponses.

Le East Kootenay Badger Project, dont Parcs Canada est l'un des partenaires, a pour objectif de trouver les réponses. Lancée en 1995, cette passionnante étude à long terme de l'écologie et de la distribution du blaireau dans la région de l'Est des Kootenays, où se trouve le parc national Kootenay, est la première étude intensive des blaireaux basée sur la radio télémétrie au Canada.

Le projet consiste à suivre les blaireaux munis d'émetteurs radio et à faire la cartographie de leurs déplacements. Jusqu'à présent (de 1996 à 2005), 31 blaireaux ont été munis d'un émetteur radio et ont été suivis pour déterminer :

  • la fréquence de leurs déplacements et la superficie de leur domaine vital;
  • leurs habitudes d'utilisation de leur habitat et leurs modèles de dispersion;
  • leurs taux de natalité et de reproduction;
  • les causes de mortalité.

De 2002 à 2004, 16 blaireaux en provenance du Montana ont été introduits dans la vallée de la rivière Columbia pour aider au rétablissement du blaireau dans cette région et pour mieux comprendre l’influence de l’habitat sur sa survie.

Le East Kootenay Badger Project travaille aussi avec les propriétaires fonciers pour augmenter le nombre de blaireaux vivant sur les propriétés privées. Ces projets d'intendance augmentent la sensibilisation du public et son appréciation du blaireau, de ses proies et de son écosystème.

La recherche scientifique et la surveillance des populations de blaireau, les initiatives d’introduction de nouveaux individus ainsi que l’intendance sont des éléments importants de la stratégie de rétablissement des populations de blaireaux d'Amérique de la Colombie-Britannique.

Les résultats de l’étude sur les blaireaux du East Kootenay Badger Project indiquent jusqu'à présent que :

  • Dans la portion Sud du sillon de l’Est des Kootenays, la population de blaireaux semble stable et pourrait même être en légère augmentation. Par contre, les observations récentes montrent que les blaireaux sont pratiquement disparus de la portion Nord de cette région.
  • Quatorze des blaireaux étudiés sont morts, surtout à cause des accidents de la route et de la prédation par des couguars et des lynx. Le taux de survie annuel des blaireaux adultes est de 82%.

L’introduction des blaireaux venus du Montana a donné des résultats encourageants : ils se sont bien adapté à leur nouveau territoire et ils ont fait des petits. Il semble qu’ils pourraient aider à rétablir la population du nord de la zone d’étude.

Les connaissances acquises grâce à cette étude, ainsi que d’autres initiatives semblables, ont permis de mettre à jour la stratégie de rétablissement du blaireau de la sous-espèce jeffersonii. La version la plus récente de cette stratégie a été publiée en mars 2005 : l’objectif des 5 prochaines années est d’augmenter le nombre de blaireaux adultes à au moins 400 individus en Colombie-Britannique.