Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

Northern Abalone

Haliotis kamtschatkana

Why protect the Northern Abalone?

We have much to learn about the marine environment, the relationships between the creatures that live there, and the roles that humans play in that environment. What we do know is that a healthy marine ecosystem has all of its parts-the northern abalone is one of those parts.

What is Parks Canada doing to save the Northern Abalone?

Close-up of a Northern Abalone in a crevice
Northern Abalone.
© Parks Canada / Tomas Tomascik

Community participation is essential to successfully rebuilding Northern Abalone populations around Haida Gwaii (the Queen Charlotte archipelago).

Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site is participating in the Haida Gwaii Abalone Stewardship Program. This unique community-oriented partnership was initiated by the Haida Fisheries Program of the Council of the Haida Nation and currently brings together the following concerned partners:

  • Laskeek Bay Conservation Society
  • Haida Gwaii Marine Resources Group Association
  • Skidegate Band Council
  • World Wildlife Fund Canada
  • Fisheries and Oceans Canada (DFO)
  • Environment Canada
  • Centre for Wildlife Ecology at Simon Fraser University
  • Parks Canada

The objectives of the partnership include increasing awareness, promoting stewardship through education and information, implementing and monitoring recovery programs, and providing feedback to the community in Haida Gwaii. The goal is to restore abalone populations to self-sustaining levels that could support local harvest for food.

  • Since 2000, this dynamic partnership has accomplished a wide variety of work, including:
  • the creation of a collaborative Community Action Plan that outlines strategies for rebuilding the abalone populations;
  • the development and implementation of an abalone conservation curriculum for local schools;
  • the installation of over 50 artificial abalone habitats for monitoring purposes;
  • the establishment of 20 long-term monitoring sites where over 3000 abalones have been tagged to determine their growth and natural survival rates; and
  • the formation of a local monitoring and enforcement network called “Coastwatch/Abalone Watch,” which brings together Parks Canada wardens, Haida Fisheries Guardians, Royal Canadian Mounted Police, DFO Fishery Officers, community members, tourism operators, and fishers.

Time and continued population monitoring will reveal the success of this unique community-oriented partnership. Since so little is known about the Northern Abalone, any information we gain about their natural history will improve our understanding of the species and, hopefully, our recovery efforts.

Espèces en péril

L’haliotide pie

Haliotis kamtschatkana

Pourquoi protéger l’haliotide pie ?

Il reste encore beaucoup à apprendre sur l’environnement marin, sur les relations qu’ont entre-elles les créatures qui y vivent et sur le rôle que l’être humain y joue. Nous savons toutefois qu’un écosystème marin en santé est constitué de plusieurs éléments. L’haliotide pie est un d’un de ces éléments.

Que fait Parcs Canada pour sauver l’haliotide pie?

Gros plan d’une haliotide pie dans une crevasse
Haliotide pie.
© Parcs Canada / Tomas Tomascik

La participation de la collectivité est essentielle au succès du rétablissement des populations d’haliotides pie dans les environs de Haïda Gwaii (archipel de la Reine-Charlotte).

La réserve de parc national et site patrimonial Haïda Gwaii Haanas participe au programme d’intendance des haliotides de Haïda Gwaii (Haida Gwaii Abalone Stewardship Program). Ce partenariat unique axé sur la collectivité a été mis en place par le programme de pêcheries Haïda (Haida Fisheries Program) du conseil de la nation Haïda (Council of the Haida Nation) et rassemble actuellement les partenaires suivants :

  • la société de conservation de la baie de Laskeek (Laskeek Bay Conservation Society);
  • l’association du groupe des ressources marines de Haïda Gwaii (Haida Gwaii Marine Resources Group Association);
  • le conseil de bande de Skidegate;
  • le Fonds mondial pour la nature – Canada;
  • Pêches et Océans Canada (P & O);
  • Environnement Canada;
  • le Centre d’écologie faunique (Centre for Wildlife Ecology) de l'Université Simon Fraser;
  • Parcs Canada.

Le partenariat a pour objectifs de sensibiliser davantage le public, de promouvoir l’intendance par l’éducation et l’information, de mettre en oeuvre et de surveiller les programmes de rétablissement, et de donner de l’information en retour à la collectivité de Haïda Gwaii. Le but est de redonner aux populations d’haliotides un niveau d’autonomie qui leur permettrait de supporter la récolte locale à des fins alimentaires.
Depuis 2000, ce partenariat dynamique a permis d’atteindre différents objectifs, notamment :

  • la création d’un Plan d’action communautaire commun résumant les stratégies de rétablissement des populations d’haliotides;
  • la conception et la mise en œuvre d’un programme éducatif sur la conservation de l’haliotide pour les écoles locales;
  • l’installation de plus de 50 habitats artificiels propices aux haliotides, à des fins de surveillance;
  • la création de 20 sites de surveillance à long terme où on a posé une étiquette sur plus de 3000 haliotides pour déterminer leur croissance et leur taux de survie naturelle;
  • la formation d’un réseau local de surveillance et de mise en application appelé « Coastwatch/Abalone Watch », réunissant les employés de Parcs Canada, les gardiens des Pêcheries Haïda, la Gendarmerie Royale du Canada, les agents des pêches de Pêches et Océans Canada, les membres de la collectivité, les exploitants d'entreprises touristiques et les pêcheurs.

Le temps et une surveillance continue des populations révéleront le succès de ce partenariat unique axé sur la collectivité. Comme nous en savons si peu sur l’haliotide pie, toute information sur son mode de vie améliorera notre compréhension de l’espèce et, espérons-le, nos efforts pour rétablir sa population.