Species at Risk

Northern Abalone

Haliotis kamtschatkana

What is the status of the Northern Abalone?

The Northern Abalone was the first marine invertebrate to be designated at risk by COSEWIC. It was declared threatened in April 1999.

Why is the Northern Abalone in danger?

Gwaii Haanas National Park Reserve and Haida Heritage Site
Northern Abalone.
© Parks Canada / Tomas Tomascik

For thousands of years, Northern Abalone populations lived in ecological balance with their natural predators and with other herbivores. First Nations people, like the Haida, hand picked or speared the abalone for food, ceremonial uses, and trade purposes.

But in the 1960s, harvesters began to use scuba diving equipment to commercially harvest abalone, as it is considered a gourmet delicacy. This meant abalones could be collected in great numbers, and from considerable depths, throughout the full range of their habitat.

Adult abalones, which group together to spawn, are easy targets. The numbers of breeding abalones declined considerably as a result and not as many offspring were produced. Overall populations began to plunge.

Northern Abalones are slow to grow and reproduce. In fact, less than one percent of abalone offspring survive the many perils they face as they grow into breeding adults. This makes the abalone particularly vulnerable to over-harvesting.

Despite a total harvesting ban in 1990, Northern Abalone populations are still not recovering. One of the reasons behind this lack of success is poaching, motivated by high demand and elevated prices owing to abalone scarcity, as well as the difficulty of patrolling a vast coastline.

Other factors contributing to the Northern Abalone’s inability to recover may include pollution, predation, environmental changes, and their slow pace of reproduction.

Espèces en péril

L’haliotide pie

Haliotis kamtschatkana

Quel est le statut de l’haliotide Pie ?

L’haliotide pie fut le premier invertébré marin à figurer sur la liste des animaux en péril du COSEPAC. Elle a été déclarée espèce menacée en avril 1999.

Pourquoi l’haliotide pie est-elle en danger ?

Gros plan d’une haliotide pie sur fond marin
Haliotide pie.
© Parcs Canada / Tomas Tomascik

Pendant des milliers d’années, les populations d’haliotide pie ont vécu en équilibre écologique avec leurs prédateurs naturels et les autres herbivores. Les Premières nations, comme les Haïdas, pêchaient l’haliotide pie à la main ou à la lance à des fins alimentaires, rituelles et commerciales.

Mais dans les années 1960, on a commencé à utiliser de l’équipement de plongée autonome pour faire la récolte commerciale de l’haliotide comme mets délicat gastronomique. Cela signifiait que l’haliotide pouvait être pêchée en grand nombre, et à de grandes profondeurs, partout dans son habitat.

Les haliotides adultes, qui se réunissent pour frayer, sont des cibles faciles. En conséquence, le nombre d’haliotides reproductrices a baissé considérablement et la progéniture a été moins abondante. Les populations ont commencé à diminuer.

L’haliotide pie grandit et se reproduit lentement. En fait, moins d’un pour cent de la progéniture survit aux nombreux dangers auxquels l’ormeau (haliotide juvénile) fait face avant de devenir un adulte reproducteur. Cela rend l’haliotide particulièrement vulnérable à la récolte excessive.

Malgré l’interdiction totale de récolter l’haliotide, promulguée en 1990, les populations d’haliotides pie ne se rétablissent toujours pas. Une des causes est le braconnage, encouragé par la grande demande et les prix élevés en raison de la rareté de l’haliotide, et par le fait qu’il est difficile de patrouiller dans un littoral étendu.

D’autres facteurs jouent un rôle dans l’incapacité de se rétablir des populations d’haliotides pie, notamment la pollution, la prédation, les modifications de l’environnement et leur rythme de reproduction lent.