Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

Eastern Wolf

Canis lupus lycaon

What is the Eastern Wolf?

Species at Risk - Who Knew?

In the Mauricie region, the territory of an Eastern Wolf pack is roughly 500–700 km2 in size. That means La Mauricie National Park’s 536 km2 (which is almost 320 times the size of Montreal’s Olympic stadium) cannot possibly sustain two wolf packs. Only certain portions of the park are used by the wolf packs that currently include the park as part of their territories.

The Eastern Wolf is fairly small and fawn-coloured, with black on its back and sides, and red-brown behind its ears. In the Mauricie region, male Eastern Wolves stand about 80 cm at the shoulders and weigh around 45 kg, while females measure about 75 cm at the shoulders and weigh approximately 28 kg.

Wolves live in organized groups, or packs. Only the dominant male and female in the pack reproduce. In spring, after a two-month gestation period, the female gives birth to a litter of five or six pups. Sexual maturity occurs at 2–3 years of age and maximum lifespan is around ten years in the wild.

Where is the Eastern Wolf found?

Canada’s populations of Eastern Wolves, a sub-species of the Grey Wolf, are found primarily in southeastern Ontario and southwestern Quebec. This range includes La Mauricie National Park of Canada.

The Eastern Wolf needs large areas of forest- either deciduous, coniferous, or mixed- where it can find enough prey to survive. It preys on deer and moose, as well as beaver and other small game. It is a shy mammal, easily disturbed by human presence and activity.

Wolf tracks in La Mauricie National Park of Canada
Wolf Tracks in La Mauricie National Park of Canada.
© Parks Canada / J. Pleau / 05.51.10.07 (09) / 1998

Espèces en péril

Le loup de l'Est

Canis lupus lycaon

Qu’est-ce que le loup de l’Est?

Species at Risk - Le saviez-vous?

Dans la région de la Mauricie, le territoire d'une meute de loups de l’Est a une étendue de 500 à 700 km2. Cela signifie que le parc national de la Mauricie, dont la superficie est de 536 km2 (soit presque 320 fois la superficie du stade olympique de Montréal), ne peut assurer la survie de deux meutes de loups. Les meutes pour lesquelles le parc fait actuellement partie de leur territoire, n'utilisent que certaines parties du parc.

Le loup de l’Est est plutôt petit et porte un pelage fauve teinté de noir sur le dos et les côtés et de brun roux derrière les oreilles. Dans la région de la Mauricie, les mâles mesurent 80 cm à l’épaule et pèsent environ 45 kg, tandis que les femelles mesurent 75 cm et pèsent environ 28 kg.

Les loups vivent en groupes organisés appelés meutes. Seuls le mâle et la femelle dominants de la meute se reproduisent. Au printemps, après 2 mois de gestation, la louve donne naissance à une portée de 5 à 6 louveteaux. Ils deviennent adultes entre l’âge de 2 et 3 ans et peuvent vivre jusqu’à environ 10 ans en milieu naturel.

Où vit le loup de l’Est?

Les populations canadiennes du loup de l’Est, une sous-espèce du loup gris, vivent surtout dans le Sud-Est de l’Ontario et le Sud-Ouest du Québec. Cette aire de répartition inclut entre autres le parc national du Canada de la Mauricie.

Pour survivre, le loup de l’Est a besoin de grandes forêts de feuillus, de conifères, ou mixtes dans lesquelles se trouvent suffisamment de proies pour qu’il puisse se nourrir. Il chasse les cerfs et les orignaux, mais aussi les castors et le petit gibier. C’est un mammifère discret, aisément perturbé par la présence et les activités humaines.

Trace de Loup dans le Parc national de la Mauricie
Traces de loup de l’Est.
© Parcs Canada / J. Pleau / 05.51.10.07 (09) / 1998