Species at Risk

Eastern Ratsnake

Elaphe obsoleta

Eastern Ratsnake basking in the sun.
Eastern Ratsnake basking in the sun.
© Parks Canada

The Eastern Ratsnake is found in Ontario and is the largest snake in Canada. It is harmless to humans. Habitat loss due to agriculture and urbanization is the main reason for the species' decline. Parks Canada is working with partners to protect this species.

 





Snaphots

Melissa NAME: Melissa
POSITION: Species at Risk Assistant
LOCATION: St. Lawrence Islands National Park of Canada

I began working for Parks Canada in 2002 and I have dedicated a majority of my time to the Eastern Ratsnake, which COSEWIC has designated as threatened. I have always had a passion for the environment and conservation, so working with Parks Canada has integrated well with my lifestyle and values. I find that a large majority of people who work for Parks Canada do so because they have a sincere concern for conservation and this reflects in the workplace.

With new projects and funding, efforts to increase and protect the Eastern Ratsnake population are strengthening. St. Lawrence National Park has recently acquired new land, which also presents the opportunity to explore further options for species protection and public education. Partnerships with the Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources, the Queen’s University Biological Station and regional landowners have enhanced the success of Eastern Ratsnake projects within and adjacent to park boundaries.

To continually assist the Species at Risk program within Parks Canada and specifically St. Lawrence Islands National Park, I would like to see a consistent and dedicated effort made to involve regional residents and other stakeholders in park projects. Their enthusiasm, positive actions and support can dramatically alter the dire outlooks for many species at risk.

Espèces en péril

La couleuvre obscure de l’Est

Elaphe obsoleta

Couleuvre obscure de l’Est se chauffant au soleil.
Couleuvre obscure de l’Est se chauffant au soleil.
© Parcs Canada

La couleuvre obscure de l’Est est le plus long serpent au Canada. Ce reptile inoffensif pour les humains vit en Ontario. La principale cause de son déclin est la perte d’habitat au profit de l’agriculture et de l’urbanisation. Parcs Canada travaille avec ses partenaires pour protéger cette espèce.

 





 

Cliche

MelissaNOM : Melissa
POSTE : Adjointe, Espèces en péril
LIEU : Parc national du Canada des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent

Je suis entrée au service de Parcs Canada en 2002 et depuis quelques années, mon travail porte surtout sur la couleuvre obscure de l’Est, une espèce que le COSEPAC a désignée comme menacée. Mon travail s’harmonise bien avec mon style de vie et mes valeurs, car l’environnement et la conservation m’ont toujours passionnée. Je sens aussi cette passion chez la grande majorité de mes collègues.

De nouveaux projets et du financement frais ont permis d’intensifier les efforts de protection et de rétablissement de cette espèce. Le parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent a récemment étendu sa superficie, et cela aussi ouvre la voie à d’autres avenues de protection des espèces et de sensibilisation du public. De plus, les partenariats avec le ministère ontarien des Ressources naturelles, la station de biologie de la Queen’s University et des propriétaires fonciers de la région ont favorisé la réussite de projets ciblant la couleuvre obscure de l’Est à l’intérieur des limites du parc et aux alentours.

Je souhaite qu’un effort constant et concerté soit fait pour impliquer les résidents et les autres intervenants de la région dans les projets du parc, afin qu’ils apportent une aide soutenue au Programme des espèces en péril de Parcs Canada, et plus précisément au parc national des Îles-du-Saint-Laurent. Leur enthousiasme, leur appui et leurs actions positives peuvent faire la différence et sauver beaucoup d’espèces en péril.