Species at Risk

Water-pennywort

Hydrocotyle umbellata

Quick Facts

Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site is actively involved in recovery actions, research, public education and partnerships to help protect and promote this rare plant and its habitat.












What is Parks Canada doing to help water-pennywort?

To protect the water-pennywort, Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site is actively involved in recovery actions, research, public education and partnerships.

Recovery Actions

A park warden ropes off water-pennywort habitat to protect it.
© Parks Canada / Colleen Anderson / 2002

All water-pennywort habitat within Kejimkujik receives the highest level of protection. Within these areas of special protection, no development or recreational activities may occur.

Where water-pennywort grows near beaches and campgrounds, its habitat is fenced off and signs are posted to inform visitors of the importance of these sensitive areas. Trails along the lakeshore are designed so that visitors can see the lakeshore habitats and plants without trampling them. The National Recovery and Conservation Action Plan of Hydrocotyle umbellata (water-pennywort) is currently being developed for this species that outlines long term objectives for future recovery actions.

To the top

Research

Research and monitoring within Kejimkujik allow for a better understanding of this plant's biology, and how Parks Canada can protect it. In cooperation with the Université de Moncton and the Centre of Geographic Sciences in Lawrencetown, Nova Scotia, a number of field studies are being conducted to determine the present and historic distribution of water-pennywort. These studies will also help us understand the genetic diversity and special habitat requirements of this plant as well as its response to environmental change. This information will be important for protecting water-pennywort and its habitat in the future.

To the top

Public Education

Parks Canada interpreters engage visitors by presenting guided programs in Kejimkujik about the natural history, habitat, and protection of the water-pennywort. The aim of these programs is to help people develop an appreciation and respect for the species.

A park interpreter gives a guided walk on water-pennywort.
© Parks Canada / Peter Hope / 1994

Kejimkujik also offers a variety of information to help people learn about water-pennywort, other coastal plain flora, and species at risk in southwest Nova Scotia . This includes interpretive signs, videos, Web sites, brochures, and more. Programs are also delivered to local schools to better their understanding of species at risk and rare plants.

To the top

Working with Partners

The Atlantic Coastal Plain Flora Recovery Team is completing a recovery and action plan for water-pennywort and is recommending actions to improve the conservation, recovery and management of this species. This plan will itemize and define protection strategies for water-pennywort both within and beyond the Park boundaries.

Parks Canada is a member of the recovery team, which consists of a variety of representatives, including:

  • the Nova Scotia Department of Natural Resources ;
  • the Nova Scotia Department of Environment and Labour;
  • the Nova Scotia Nature Trust;
  • the Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History;
  • Acadia University;
  • l'Université de Moncton;
  • St. Mary's University;
  • the Centre of Geographic Studies;
  • the Atlantic Canada Conservation Data Centre;
  • local museums;
  • private landowners, and
  • the interested public.

Espèces en péril

Hydrocotyle à ombelle

Hydrocotyle umbellata

En bref...

Dans le but de protéger l'hydrocotyle à ombelle, le parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik participe activement aux mesures de rétablissement, aux recherches et à l'éducation populaire.











Que fait Parcs Canada pour aider à préserver l'hydrocotyle à ombelle?

Dans le but de protéger l'hydrocotyle à ombelle, le parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik participe activement à des mesures de rétablissement , aux recherches , à l'éducation populaire et travaille avec des partenaires.

Mesures de rétablissement


© Parcs Canada / Colleen Anderson / 2002

L'habitat entier de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle à Kejimkujik bénéficie du niveau le plus élevé de protection. Dans les zones qui jouissent de cette protection spéciale, aucun aménagement et aucune activité récréative ne sont permis.

Près des plages et des terrains de camping, l'habitat de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle est clôturé et des panneaux informent les visiteurs de l'importance de ces zones fragiles. Les sentiers le long des rives du lac sont tracés de façon à permettre aux visiteurs d'observer les habitats et les plantes sans les piétiner. Le National Recovery and Conservation Action Plan of Hydrocotyle umbellata, un plan de conservation et de rétablissement conçu spécialement pour l'hydrocotyle à ombelle est actuellement en voie d'élaboration. Ce plan précisera les objectifs à long terme des mesures de rétablissement futures pour cette espèce.

Haut de la page

Recherche

Les recherches et les contrôles effectués dans le parc Kejimkujik aident à mieux comprendre la biologie de cette plante et permettront à Parcs Canada de mieux la protéger. Une série d'études sur le terrain sont en cours en collaboration avec l'Université de Moncton et le Centre of Geographic Sciences à Lawrencetown, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Ces études détermineront l'aire de distribution actuelle et historique de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle. Ces renseignements seront d'une grande importance pour la protection de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle et de son habitat pour l'avenir.

Haut de la page

Éducation populaire

Les interprètes de Parcs Canada informent les visiteurs en leur présentant des programmes guidés à l'intérieur du parc Kejimkujik au sujet de l'histoire naturelle, de l'habitat et de la protection de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle. Par l'intermédiaire de ces programmes, on espère développer chez les gens une appréciation et un respect pour cette espèce.

 
© Parcs Canada / Peter Hope / 1994

Kejimkujik offre également une variété d'informations pour aider les gens à se renseigner au sujet de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle dans le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Ces informations sont présentées sous la forme de panneaux d'interprétation, de vidéos, de sites Internet, de brochures, etc. Les programmes sont également présentés dans les écoles locales en vue de mieux faire connaître les espèces en péril et les plantes rares.

Haut de la page

Travail avec les partenaires

L'équipe de rétablissement de la flore de la plaine côtière de l'Atlantique est en train de compléter un plan de rétablissement et d'action pour l'hydrocotyle à ombelle. Ce plan recommandera des mesures visant à améliorer la conservation, le rétablissement et la gestion de cette espèce. Il précisera les stratégies de protection pour l'hydrocotyle à ombelle tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur des limites du parc.

Parcs Canada est membre de l'équipe de rétablissement qui réunit divers représentants de ministères du gouvernement, de l'industrie, des musées, des universités, des organisations non gouvernementales et d'autres intervenants. Voici les membres de l'équipe de rétablissement :

  • le ministère des Ressources naturelles de la Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • le ministère de l'Environnement et du Travail de la Nouvelle-Écosse;
  • le Nova Scotia Nature Trust;
  • le Nova Scotia Museum of Natural History;
  • Acadia University;
  • l'Université de Moncton;
  • St. Mary's University;
  • le Centre of Geographic Studies;
  • le Centre de données sur la conservation du Canada atlantique;
  • les musées locaux;
  • les propriétaires fonciers privés;
  • le public intéressé.