Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

Water-pennywort

Hydrocotyle umbellata

Quick Facts

Water-pennywort is a tropical plant! The small pocket of it that grows in southwest Nova Scotia is extremely far north for this plant. This special plant and its habitat are in danger.












What is so special about water-pennywort?

Water-pennywort is a tropical plant by origin! It is part of a unique group of species called the Atlantic Coastal Plain Flora. These plants are usually found much further south, from the Gulf of Mexico to New England.

Water-pennywort growing up out of the water.
© Parks Canada / James Steeves / 1980

There are 66 species of these wildflowers, herbs, and plants in southwestern Nova Scotia ; almost 50 of them grow within Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site. Twenty of these coastal plain plants are not found elsewhere in Canada . These plants are at the northern limit of their range, isolated from the closest populations to the south. Water-pennywort is the rarest of these special plants.

To the top

Why is water-pennywort in danger?

Species at Risk - Who Knew?

The leaves of the water-pennywort float on top of the water when the lake levels are high. When the water levels drop over the course of the summer, the leaves stand upright. Some people say that the leaves look like opened umbrellas; others say that their silhouettes look like lollipops.

There are only two small populations of water-pennywort in Canada , which is why it is at risk. Research has indicated that in Canada this plant does not produce seeds. This means that all reproduction is asexual, as the plant grows up from its creeping roots. This may limit its genetic diversity.

Water-pennywort is also very susceptible to climactic changes such as temperature and lake water levels. The populations in Nova Scotia are healthy and stable, and the stands in Kejimkujik have shown an increase in recent dry years. However, with so few populations, many factors still put the species in danger.

Outside of Kejimkujik, the habitat of water-pennywort is threatened. Like other Atlantic Coastal Plain Flora, the lakeshore habitats of water-pennywort are being damaged or eliminated by cottage development and the plants are being trampled by all-terrain vehicle use.

To the top

Water-pennywort growing on a lakeshore near a heavily used beach.
© Parks Canada / Rick Swain / 1980

Within the boundaries of Kejimkujik, the main threat to the water-pennywort is trampling. This plant is quite small, difficult to see, and grows right on the beach where there is potential for people to accidentally step on it as they swim, walk, or beach their canoes.

Espèces en péril

Hydrocotyle à ombelle

Hydrocotyle umbellata

En bref...

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle est une plante tropicale! La petite population qui pousse dans le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse se trouve très loin au nord de l'habitat normal de cette plante. Cette population est en danger.












Qu'est-ce que l'hydrocotyle à ombelle a de particulier?

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle est une plante tropicale d'origine! Elle fait partie d'un groupe unique d'espèces que l'on appelle la flore de la plaine côtière de l'Atlantique (lien en anglais seulemnet) . D'habitude, on trouve ces plantes beaucoup plus loin au sud, du golfe du Mexique jusqu'en Nouvelle-Angleterre.

Hydrocotyle à ombelle qui pousse hors de l’eau.
© Parcs Canada / James Steeves / 1980

On compte 66 espèces de ces fleurs sauvages, herbes et plantes dans le sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse; près de 50 d'entre elles poussent dans le parc national et lieu historique national Kejimkujik . Vingt de ces plantes de plaine côtière ne se trouvent nulle part ailleurs au Canada. Elles sont à la limite nord de leur aire de distribution, isolées des populations les plus proches plus au sud. L'hydrocotyle à ombelle est la plus rare de ces plantes spéciales.

Haut de la page

Pourquoi l'hydrocotyle à ombelle est-elle en danger?

Espèces en péril - Jetez-y un coup d'oeil

Les feuilles de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle flottent sur l'eau lorsque les niveaux d'eau sont élevés. Lorsque le niveau baisse au cours de l'été, les feuilles se dressent sur leurs tiges. Certains comparent les feuilles à des parapluies ouverts, tandis que d'autres trouvent qu'elles ressemblent à des sucettes.






Au Canada, il n'existe que deux populations de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle, et c'est pourquoi cette espèce est en péril. La recherche a permis de constater qu'au Canada, cette plante ne produit pas de semences. Sa reproduction est donc asexuée. La plante se reproduit grâce à la croissance de stolons, c'est-à-dire de racines rampantes. Cette caractéristique peut limiter sa diversité génétique.

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle est également très sensible aux changements climatiques comme la température et les niveaux d'eau des lacs. Les populations de la Nouvelle-Écosse sont en santé et stables. Favorisées par les récentes sécheresses, les populations de Kejimkujik ont même augmenté. Mais avec des populations aussi réduites, les facteurs qui mettent l'espèce en péril demeurent nombreux.

À l'extérieur de Kejimkujik, l'habitat de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle est menacé. Comme d'autres espèces de la flore de la plaine côtière de l'Atlantique, les habitats de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle situés sur les bords des lacs sont endommagés ou détruits par la construction de chalets. Les plantes sont aussi écrasées par la circulation des véhicules tout-terrains.


© Parcs Canada / Rick Swain / 1980

À l'intérieur des limites de Kejimkujik, la menace principale qui pèse sur l'hydrocotyle à ombelle est le piétinement. Petite et difficile à voir, elle pousse directement sur la plage, là où il est facile pour les gens de la piétiner accidentellement lorsqu'ils vont nager, lorsqu'ils se promènent ou tirent leurs canots hors de l'eau.