Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

Water-pennywort

Hydrocotyle umbellata

Quick Facts

Water-pennywort is a plant that grows along two lakeshores in Nova Scotia. It does not occur anywhere else in Canada and is listed as threatened by COSEWIC.












What is water-pennywort?

Water-pennywort growing in the water.
© Parks Canada / Rick Swain / 1980

Water-pennywort is a small perennial plant with round, scalloped-edged leaves. Growing primarily on sandy or gravely lakeshores, it has slender stems that creep along the ground and leaves that either float in the water or stand upright. The leaves are a rich green, except for their pale green centre, where the stems attach. It occasionally produces small clusters of white flowers on a single stalk, called an umbel, in mid to late summer.

Water-pennywort thrives in lakeshore habitats where few other plants can tolerate the force of the wind and the waves, the fluctuating water levels, and the gouging winter ice. In Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada, the plant grows in thick colonies in the shallow water of sandy or gravely beaches. Although easily overlooked, this special plant is a significant feature along the edge of Kejimkujik Lake.

To the top

Where is water-pennywort found?

Water-pennywort only occurs in two locations in all of Canada, and both of these are in southwestern Nova Scotia . One of the province's rarest plants , it grows on part of the shoreline of Wilson's Lake in Yarmouth County and is scattered along Kejimkujik Lake and George Lake within Kejimkujik National Park and National Historic Site of Canada. These two locations represent the northern limit of this plant's distribution.

Water-pennywort is common in the southern part of its range, occurring as far south as Mexico and Florida, and stretching up along the eastern seaboard of North America as far north as Massachusetts. The Canadian populations are extremely isolated and rare.

To the top

What is the status of water-pennywort?

Water-pennywort growing on the lakeshore.
© Parks Canada / James Steeves / 1980

Water-pennywort is listed as threatened by COSEWIC, and is protected under federal Law by the Species at Risk Act. Water-pennywort is also protected under provincial legislation, with the Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act , under which it is listed as endangered. These listings differ since the levels of government list species under their own set of criteria based on priorities within their jurisdictions.

Espèces en péril

Hydrocotyle à ombelle

Hydrocotyle umbellata

En bref...

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle est une plante qui pousse le long des rives de deux lacs en Nouvelle-Écosse. On ne la trouve nulle part ailleurs au Canada et elle est considérée comme menacée par le COSEPAC.











Qu'est-ce que l'hydrocotyle à ombelle?

Hydrocotyle à ombelle poussant dans l’eau.
© Parcs Canada / Rick Swain / 1980

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle est une petite plante vivace aux feuilles rondes et ondulées. Elle pousse surtout sur les rives de sable ou de gravier. Elle a des tiges minces qui rampent sur le sol et des feuilles qui flottent ou qui se dressent au-dessus de l'eau. Ses feuilles sont d'un vert intense, à l'exception du centre qui lui est vert pâle à la jonction de la tige. En août ou en septembre, cette plante produit parfois de petites grappes de fleurs blanches sur un pédoncule unique, appelé ombelle.

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle pousse dans des habitats riverains. Peu d'autres plantes peuvent vivre dans ces habitats caractérisés par la force du vent et des vagues, les fluctuations des niveaux de l'eau et les effets de la glace en hiver. Dans le parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik , cette plante croît en colonies denses dans l'eau peu profonde des plages de sable ou de gravier. Bien qu'elle passe facilement inaperçue, cette plante spéciale est une caractéristique importante des rives du lac Kejimkujik.

Haut de la page

Où trouve-t-on l'hydrocotyle à ombelle?

Au Canada, on retrouve l'hydrocotyle à ombelle uniquement à deux endroits du sud-ouest de la Nouvelle-Écosse. L'une des plantes les plus rares de la province, elle pousse sur une partie des rives du lac Wilson, dans le comté de Yarmouth. On trouve aussi l'hydrocotyle à ombelle dispersée le long du lac Kejimkujik et du lac George dans le parc national et lieu historique national du Canada Kejimkujik. Ces deux endroits représentent la limite nord de l'aire de distribution de cette plante.

Commune dans la partie sud de son aire de distribution, l'hydrocotyle à ombelle est présente jusqu'au Mexique et en Floride, ainsi que sur la côte est de l'Amérique du Nord, jusqu'au Massachusetts. Les populations canadiennes sont extrêmement isolées et rares.

Haut de la page

Quel est le statut de l'hydrocotyle à ombelle?

Hydrocotyle à ombelle sur la rive du lac.
© Parcs Canada / James Steeves / 1980

L'hydrocotyle à ombelle est considérée comme menacée par le COSEPAC, et elle est protégée au niveau fédéral par la Loi sur les espèces en péril . Cette plante est également protégée en vertu du Nova Scotia Endangered Species Act (lien en anglais seulement) de la Nouvelle-Écosse. Dans le cadre de cette législation provinciale, elle est considérée comme une espèce en voie de disparition.

Le statut de l'espèce diffère selon les différents ordres de gouvernement qui classent les espèces selon leur propre série de critères, basés sur les priorités dans leur domaine de compétence.