Common menu bar links

Species at Risk


Pitcher's Thistle


Cirsium pitcheri

What is Parks Canada doing to help Pitcher's thistle?

Parks Canada is working hard to improve our understanding of Pitcher's thistle and to educate people about the need to protect the plant and the dune ecosystem in which it thrives. Ongoing research, recovery action and public education are helping ensure the survival of this rare plant.

Research

An example of this kind of work can be seen at Pukaskwa National Park , where staff have been monitoring the Pitcher's thistle since 1981. Each year, every plant is identified and marked to indicate its stage in its life cycle.

Species at Risk - Who Knew?

The Species at Risk Act (SARA) requires that federally endangered species, such as Pitcher's Thistle, be protected through federal or provincial regulations. SARA also requires that the habitat necessary for the survival or recovery of endangered species be protected.

Recovery Action

Following a near washout of a beach containing Pitcher's thistle, a new colony was introduced to the park's Middle Beach in 1991. Parks Canada has joined the Pitcher's thistle recovery team, whose efforts include locating remaining populations, identifying habitat and preparing a plan for the recovery of the species.

Public Education

The park has initiated programs to educate private and public property owners about this unique species and its special habitat. Low fences protect the colonies and signs identify the area as a "fragile dune environment" containing endangered species. All of these precautions, as well as raised boardwalks in the dune areas of the park, help to keep visitors on the established trails and away from the thistles.

Visitors curious to see what a Pitcher's thistle looks like are given the opportunity at the park's visitor centre, where a display shows the plant in a natural setting at three stages of growth.

Espèces en péril


Le chardon de Pitcher


Cirsium pitcheri

Que fait Parcs Canada pour aider à sauver le chardon de Pitcher?

Parcs Canada travaille sans relâche pour enrichir nos connaissances sur le chardon de Pitcher et sensibiliser les gens à la nécessité de protéger la plante et l'écosystème de dunes dans lequel elle pousse. La poursuite des recherches, les mesures de rétablissement et l'éducation populaire aident à assurer la survie de cette plante rare.

Recherche

Mentionnons à titre d'exemple le travail du personnel du parc national Pukaskwa, qui surveille les plants de chardon de Pitcher depuis 1981. Tous les ans, chaque plante est identifiée et marquée de façon à indiquer à quel stade de son cycle biologique elle se trouve.

Espèces en péril - Jetez-y un coup d'oeil

D'après la Loi sur les espèces en péril (LEEP), les espèces considérées en voie de disparition, comme le chardon de Pitcher, doivent être protégées par des règlements fédéraux ou provinciaux. D'après cette même loi, on doit absolument protéger l'habitat nécessaire à la survie ou au rétablissement des espèces en voie de disparition.

Mesures de rétablissement

Après que la plage abritant le chardon de Pitcher a presque été emportée par les eaux, une nouvelle colonie a été introduite sur la plage Middle du parc en 1991. Parcs Canada s'est jointe à l'équipe de rétablissement du chardon du Pitcher, qui s'occupe entre autres, de repérer les populations qui subsistent, d'en délimiter l'habitat et d'établir un plan de rétablissement de l'espèce.

Éducation populaire

Le parc a entrepris des programmes en vue de renseigner les propriétaires de terres privées et publiques sur cette espèce remarquable et son habitat. Des clôtures basses protègent les colonies et des panneaux indiquent que le secteur est un environnement fragile de dunes renfermant une espèce en voie de disparition. Toutes ces précautions, de même que la construction de trottoirs surélevés dans les dunes du parc, aident à garder les visiteurs sur les sentiers balisés, loin des chardons.

Les visiteurs curieux de voir à quoi ressemble un chardon de Pitcher peuvent se présenter au centre d'accueil du parc, où une exposition présente les plantes dans leur milieu naturel à trois différents stades de croissance.