Species at Risk


Pitcher's Thistle


Cirsium pitcheri

What is Pitcher's Thistle's status?

Pitcher's thistle is an endangered species according to the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC). This means that unless something is done to stop the plant's current decline, Pitcher's thistle could soon disappear from the Earth. In the United States, Pitcher's Thistle is considered to be threatened.

What is so special about Pitcher's thistle?


Pitcher's thistle habitat at Carter Bay on Manitoulin Island.
Pitcher's thistle helps anchor dunes and provides food for a variety of animals.
© Parks Canada / Dr. John Morton

Pitcher's thistle is an important part of the extremely fragile dune ecosystems of the upper Great Lakes.

Perhaps its most obvious value to the ecosystem is as food. A variety of animals feed on the seeds and leaves of Pitcher's thistle. There is also a species of moth that requires Pitcher's thistle for its survival.

Less obvious is the role Pitcher's thistle plays in providing a habitat for other dune dwellers. The plant is anchored by a long root (called a taproot). The taproot helps to hold the plant in place, and to draw water from deep below. By tapping deeply into the sand, Pitcher's thistle helps anchor the dune, creating a stable habitat for other plants and animals.

Species at Risk - Who Knew?

Pitcher's thistle flowers only once, when it is 2 to 10 years old, and then dies.

Why is Pitcher's thistle in danger?

The Great Lakes dunes where Pitcher's thistle lives are among the most rare and most threatened ecosystems in Canada . The dunes, and many of the species that live on them, have undergone significant declines during the past century. These declines are largely the result of shoreline development and recreational activities on the dunes and the beaches near them.

Many Pitcher's thistles die during the first few years of their life. If the plant is lucky enough to make it through this period, it must still overcome a number of threats if it is to survive long enough to bloom. Shoreline development, all-terrain vehicles and simply being stepped on are the biggest threats to Pitcher's thistle.

Espèces en péril


Le chardon de Pitcher


Cirsium pitcheri

Quel est le statut du chardon de Pitcher?

Le chardon de Pitcher est une espèce en voie de disparition selon le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC). Ce qui signifie que si on ne prend aucune mesure pour freiner son déclin, le chardon de Pitcher pourrait bientôt disparaître de la surface de la Terre. Aux États-Unis, le chardon de Pitcher est considéré comme une espèce menacée.

En quoi le chardon de Pitcher est-il si particulier?


Habitat du chardon de Pitcher dans la baie Carter sur l'île Manitoulin
Le chardon de Pitcher aide à stabiliser les dunes et divers animaux s'en nourrissent.
© Parcs Canada / Dr. John Morton

Le chardon de Pitcher est un élément important des écosystèmes de dunes extrêmement fragiles du secteur supérieur des Grands Lacs.

Son rôle le plus important dans l'écosystème est peut-être celui d'aliment. Divers animaux se nourrissent des graines et des feuilles du chardon de Pitcher. Il y a même une espèce de phalène (papillon nocturne) dont la survie dépend du chardon de Pitcher.

Mais la plante joue également un rôle plus discret en servant d'habitat à d'autres habitants des dunes. La plante est retenue par une longue racine (appelée racine pivotante), qui la maintient en place et lui permet de puiser l'eau en profondeur. Profondément ancré dans le sable, le chardon de Pitcher aide à stabiliser la dune et crée un habitat stable pour d'autres plantes et d'autres animaux.

Espèces en péril - Jetez-y un coup d'oeil

Le chardon de Pitcher ne fleurit qu'une seule fois, entre l'âge de deux et dix ans, puis il meurt.

Pourquoi le chardon de Pitcher est-il en danger?

Les dunes des Grands Lacs, où vit le chardon de Pitcher, comptent parmi les écosystèmes les plus rares et les plus menacés au Canada. Les dunes, ainsi que de nombreuses espèces qui y vivent, ont subi d'importants déclins au cours du dernier siècle. Ceci est en grande partie causé par l'aménagement du littoral et par les activités de loisir qui prennent place dans les dunes et sur les plages à proximité.

Beaucoup de plants de chardons de Pitcher meurent pendant les premières années de leur vie. S'ils ont la chance de traverser cette période difficile, ils doivent encore affronter plusieurs menaces avant d'arriver à l'âge de la floraison. L'aménagement du littoral, les véhicules tout-terrains et le piétinement constituent les plus grandes menaces pour le chardon de Pitcher.