Species at Risk


Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus


Opuntia humifusa

What is Parks Canada doing to help save the Eastern Prickly Pear Cactus?


Some cacti with the flower buds preparing to bloom.
Studies are looking at which insects pollinate the cactus and analysing how its seeds are spread.
© Parks Canada / D. A. Wilkes / 06.62.03.05 (71), 1985

In Point Pelee National Park, the cactus is carefully monitored and managed. Two factors have been identified as vital to the conservation of this species: maintaining suitable habitat in the park and stopping people from transplanting individual plants.

Research and Monitoring

Most of the conservation strategies focus primarily on continued research and monitoring to determine the habitat requirements, population genetics, reproduction and dispersal of the eastern prickly pear cactus.

A variety of studies are being conducted to learn more about this endangered species. These studies include looking at which insects pollinate the cactus and analysing how its seeds are spread. This work will provide information that will enable Point Pelee National Park to protect the species and its habitats for future generations.

Point Pelee National Park is also consulting with experts to set vegetation management objectives that will ensure the proper management of the various habitats in the park, including the rare red cedar savannah where the eastern prickly pear cactus is found.

Recovery Actions

Point Pelee's hiking trails and park facilities are designed to protect the plants from trampling. Special boardwalks permit visitors to view species such as the eastern prickly pear cactus from a safe distance. At the same time, the park's educational messages regarding the species focus on discouraging removal and encouraging protection of the habitat it needs to survive.

Public Education

Exhibits, publications, presentations and interpretive programs encourage visitors to Point Pelee to help protect the eastern prickly pear cactus. By promoting the public's understanding, the park hopes to gain support for the recovery and protection of both the cactus itself and the habitat that is so vital to its survival. Outreach education through news articles, an intensive local in-school program and the park's Web site also help to promote the plight of the cactus both inside and outside the park boundaries.

Working with Partners

Point Pelee National Park is currently working with the Universities of Windsor and Guelph to conduct research on the cactus. Park staff are creating a Recovery Team for the species with researchers and the provincial government. The park is also developing and implementing a Carolinian Canada Species at Risk Education Strategy with other public education partners to protect species at risk and their habitats.

Espèces en péril

Oponce de l'Est


Opuntia humifusa

Que fait Parcs Canada pour aider à sauver l'oponce de l'Est?


Quelques cactus où le bouton floral est prêt à éclore
Les études recensent quels insectes assurent la pollinisation des cactus et analysent comment les graines se dispersent.
© Parcs Canada / D. A. Wilkes / 06.62.03.05 (71), 1985

Au parc national de la Pointe-Pelée, l'oponce est surveillé et géré avec soin. Deux facteurs sont essentiels à la sauvegarde de l'espèce : maintenir un habitat viable dans le parc et empêcher les gens de transplanter des pousses dans leur jardin.

Recherche et surveillance

La plupart des stratégies de conservation préconisent proposent un programme continu de recherche et de surveillance permettant de déterminer les besoins de l'oponce en matière d'habitat, la génétique de ses populations, son taux de reproduction et son mode de dispersion.

Diverses études s ont été menées pour en apprendre davantage sur cette espèce en voie de disparition. On s'efforce de recenser Ces études portent entre autres sur les insectes qui assurent la pollinisation de ces cactées et sur d l 'analyse r le du mode de dispersion des graines. Grâce à ces informations, le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée sera désormais mieux en mesure de protéger l'espèce et son habitat pour les générations à venir.

Le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée consulte aussi des spécialistes pour définir des objectifs de gestion de la végétation propre à qui assurer ont une gestion adéquate des divers habitats du parc, dont la rare savane de genévriers rouges où pousse l'oponce de l'Est.

Mesures de rétablissement

Les sentiers de randonnée et les installations du parc national de la Pointe-Pelée sont aménagés pour éviter que les plantes ne soient piétinées. Grâce à des passerelles spéciales, les visiteurs peuvent voir diverses espèces dont l'oponce de l'Est, sans s'en approcher. Parallèlement, les messages éducatifs du parc traitant de l'oponce de l'Est visent à décourager sa transplantation et indiquent comment protéger son habitat pour assurer sa survie.

Sensibilisation du public

Expositions, publications, présentations et programmes d'interprétation incitent les visiteurs du parc à protéger l'oponce de l'Est. En sensibilisant le public, le parc espère obtenir son appui pour le rétablissement et la protection de l'oponce et de l'habitat essentiel à sa survie. Des articles, un programme scolaire intensif sur place et le site Web Internet du parc aideront aussi à faire connaître la situation critique de l'espèce, tant à l'intérieur qu'à l'extérieur du parc.

Collaboration avec les partenaires

Le parc national de la Pointe-Pelée mène actuellement des recherches sur l'oponce en collaboration avec l'Université de Windsor et l'Université de Guelph. Le personnel met en place une équipe de rétablissement de l'espèce comptant des chercheurs et des fonctionnaires provinciaux. Avec des partenaires du secteur de l'éducation, Le parc élabore et met également en œuvre une stratégie de sensibilisation aux espèces en péril de l'écosystème carolinien du Canada, avec des partenaires du secteur de l'éducation, en vue de les protéger les espèces en péril elles et leurs habitats.