Species at Risk

Massasauga Rattlesnake


Sistrurus catenatus catenatus

What's the status of the massasauga?

The massasauga was listed as threatened by the Committee on the Status of Endangered Wildlife in Canada (COSEWIC) in 1991 and this status was upheld in 2002. It is currently being added to Schedule 1 of the Species at Risk Act, which provides protection under federal law.

The massasauga is designated a "specially protected reptile" under the Ontario Fish and Wildlife Conservation Act. It is therefore illegal to kill or trap the snake or to keep it in captivity. Ontario law also prohibits the purchase or sale of these snakes without a permit. The Ontario Ministry of Natural Resources listed the massasauga as threatened in the province in 1998, based on recommendations made by the Committee on the Status of Species At Risk in Ontario.

What's so special about the massasauga?


Massasauga
The massasauga is the only venomous snake still found in Ontario and one of just three members of the pit viper family in all of Canada.
© Parks Canada / D.A. Wilkes / 06.64.10.10(06), 2004

The massasauga is Ontario's only remaining rattlesnake, and only remaining venomous snake. A handful of national parks in Ontario are among the last refuges in the world for this shy reptile.

The massasauga is one of just three members of the pit viper family in all of Canada. These vipers get their name from the heat-sensitive pits on either side of their heads. The pits allow the snake to detect minute changes in temperature, enabling it to locate warm-blooded prey, even in the dark! In fact, the massasauga can strike with incredible accuracy in total darkness.

Espèces en péril

Crotale massasauga


Sistrurus catenatus catenatus

Quel est le statut du massasauga?

Depuis 1991, le massasauga est considéré comme une espèce menacée par le Comité sur la situation des espèces en péril au Canada (COSEPAC) et ce statut a été maintenu en 2002. Son nom est actuellement ajouté à la liste de l'annexe 1 de des espèces en péril et le massasauga est protégé selon la Loi sur les espèces en péril, qui assure une protection en vertu de la législation fédérale.

Le massasauga est un « reptile spécialement protégé » en vertu de selon la Loi sur la protection du poisson et de la faune de l'Ontario. Il est donc illégal de tuer ou de piéger le serpent ou de le garder en captivité, ainsi que de l'acheter ou d'en faire le commerce sans un permis. Le ministère des Richesses naturelles de l'Ontario a déclaré le massasauga espèce menacée dans la province en 1998, sur la recommandation du Comité de détermination du statut des espèces en péril en Ontario.

En quoi le massasauga est-il si particulier?


Massasauga
Le massasauga est le seul serpent venimeux que l'on trouve encore en Ontario et l'un des trois membres seulement de la famille des crotalidés dans tout le Canada.
© Parcs Canada / D.A. Wilkes / 06.64.10.10(06), 2004

Le massasauga, qui est le seul serpent à sonnettes encore présent en Ontario, est aussi et le seul serpent venimeux que l'on trouve encore dans la province en Ontario. Les quelques parcs nationaux de l'Ontario qui le protègent sont les derniers refuges de ce serpent timide sur la planète.

Le massasauga est et l'un des trois seuls membres seulement de la famille des crotalidés dans tout le Canada. Ces vipères possèdent de chaque côté de leur tête des fossettes sensibles à la chaleur, qui leur permettent de déceler des changements infimes dans la température et de localiser leur proie au sang chaud, même dans le noir! Le massasauga peut mordre avec une précision incroyable dans l'obscurité totale. Les quelques parcs nationaux de l'Ontario qui le protègent sont les derniers refuges de ce serpent timide.