Common menu bar links

Species at Risk

Blanding's Turtle

Emydoidea blandingii

What's so special about Nova Scotia's Blanding's turtles?

In Nova Scotia, the Blanding's turtle is one of our "southern relics" because the population is small, isolated and at the northeastern edge of its range. This reptile, and other southern relics such as water-pennywort, northern ribbon snake and southern flying squirrel, moved north during a warm period near the end of the last ice age. As the climate changed to what it is today, only the southwestern part of the province remained warm enough for these species to survive.

Hatchling turtles around a nest cavity
Hatchling turtles around a nest cavity
© Parks Canada / Peter Hope / 1991

Blanding's turtles can live to be more than 80 years. In Nova Scotia , these long-lived turtles do not reach sexual maturity until they are 18 to 24 years. They are the latest to mature within the species range. Other populations, living as close as Maine or southern Ontario and Quebec, mature as early as 14 to 20 years.

Blanding's turtles in Nova Scotia are genetically distinguishable from other Blanding's turtles in North America . This means they may make a large contribution to the genetic diversity of the species, because they have some unique behaviours and look slightly different from other Blanding's turtles.

Blanding's turtle on a rock
Blanding's turtle on a rock
© Parks Canada / D. Cairns / 1978

In fact, the Nova Scotia population is composed of three sub-populations (Kejimkujik, McGowan, New Elm), each genetically distinguishable from the other. The three sub-populations do not seem to mix. Behavioural differences have also been observed among these populations.

Espèces en péril

La tortue mouchetée

Emydoidea blandingii

En quoi la population de tortues mouchetées de la Nouvelle-Écosse est-elle particulière?

En Nouvelle-Écosse, la tortue mouchetée est un de nos « vestiges du sud », car la population est réduite, isolée et située à l'extrémité nord-est de son aire de répartition. Ce reptile, et d'autres vestiges d'espèces du sud, comme l'hydrocotyle à ombelle, la couleuvre rayée et le petit polatouche, s'est déplacé vers le nord pendant une période chaude vers la fin de la dernière période glaciaire. Lorsque le climat a évolué pour devenir ce qu'il est aujourd'hui, seul le sud-ouest de la province est resté assez chaud pour que ces espèces survivent.

Tortues venant d'éclore près de la cavité du nid
Tortues venant d'éclore près de la cavité du nid
© Parcs Canada / Peter Hope / 1991

La tortue mouchetée peut vivre plus de 80 ans. En Nouvelle-Écosse, cette tortue d'une grande longévité n'atteint la maturité sexuelle qu'entre 18 et 24 ans. Elle est la dernière à arriver à la maturité dans l'aire de l'espèce. D'autres populations qui vivent tout près, comme au Maine ou encore dans le sud de l'Ontario et du Québec sont matures plus jeunes, entre 14 et 20 ans.

La tortue mouchetée de la Nouvelle-Écosse se distingue génétiquement des autres tortues mouchetées en Amérique du Nord. C'est dire qu'elle peut faire une importante contribution à la diversité génétique de l'espèce. Elle a des comportements qui lui sont propres et son apparence est légèrement différente de celle des autres.

Tortue mouchetée sur un rocher
Tortue mouchetée sur un rocher
© Parcs Canada / D. Cairns / 1978

En réalité, la population néo-écossaise se compose de trois sous-populations (Kejimkujik, McGowan, New Elm) qui se distinguent génétiquement les unes des autres. Les trois sous-populations ne semblent pas se mélanger. Des différences de comportement ont aussi été observées entre ces populations.